We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$312
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$193
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$285
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$357
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$308
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$340
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,711)
Filter reviews
5,711 results
Traveler rating
3,410
1,428
499
212
162
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,410
1,428
499
212
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsribsthe white sandsadult poolthe salt water poola la carte restaurantsfishel doradosports barmayan suitemain pooltravel clubpunta emiliajunior suitewhite partysegway tourriviera lobbymare nostrum
Filter
Updating list...
2,413 - 2,418 of 5,711 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Once down it was a lovely resort for our family, but I caution anyone traveling with young children (mine were 5years and 22 months) that in addition to flight there is an hour and a half long bus ride to get there from Cancun Airport. On paper this doesn't sound too bad, but after a long flight with hungry kids this was huge (both there and back).
The resort is relatively stroller friendly and even some parts of the beach are packed hard enough to push the stroller down. We stayed on the third floor of our building and just kept our stroller parked on the bottom floor.
You will need to bring your kids life jackets as they do not have any to lend. Beach shoes were also a must as there are ribbons of rocky portions to cross in the ocean. The beach is spectacular and goes on and on. My daughter and I went walking along it every morning and made many special memories. There are places you can buy sandcastle building toys or bring some down. You will probably want to spend a lot of time on the beach. There is an excellent mix of both shaded spots and sun.
The children loved the pool (it is pretty spectacular)! Life jackets again are pretty important, if you want to explore this large and exciting space. The pool is pretty deep, there is no way to get to the swim up bar without one if your kids are young.
My daughters didn't really take to kids club or babies club but many others seemed to really be enjoying themselves while there. The club lets kids practice and perform in shows daily; the show isn't until 8 nightly and for us that was a little late. It was hard not settling in early every night with a toddler. The heat wipes them out.
Instead of kids club, we booked a babysitter through the hotel; she was fabulous!!! If you go, and need time away from your little ones, ask for Maureen. We ended up going out twice because the kids wanted to see her again so badly. She was so sweet and rearranged her work schedule just to be with them. It was relatively expensive 10$ a child per hour but we needed a little time away! She took them to supper for us and on walks around the resort. They even went on a boat ride together!
The food there is alright, there is certainly no shortage of choice, but after a while it all starts to taste the same. The kids enjoyed it tough.
This is a great family friendly resort but if you want to go away for week I urge you to consider somewhere with less travel time. This is the perfect resort for a family who is staying two weeks or who's flight is no more than four hours from Cancun. If your kids are older however this may not be such an issue.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you Dawn B.

We appreciate your time and your comments.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just back from 2 brilliant weeks in this lovely hotel - we were room 1114 in colonial which was a great location as next to lobby and restaurants. Didn't have any problems getting sunbeds even although the hotel was full - we went down about 8am and always got where we wanted to sit. The beach was beautiful and everywhere was spotlessly clean. It was my mums birthday while we were there and we had a barbeque on the beach and the staff all came down singing happy birthday with a beautiful cake - needless to say she cried!! so memorable for us all. The staff were the nicest people we have ever met - always smiling and polite - a credit to the hotel. Our only complaint we could have was the hassle trying to get into the ala carte restaurants - who really wants to wait 2 hours for a meal but we did complain to the food manager Mr Martens - and he sorted us out so well - you can't do any better. One last thing we had a brilliant night at Coco Bongos organised by Alejandro and we met a lovely couple called Mikey and Michelle who were on their honeymoon - we went along to Riviera lobby to wave them off but were late and they had already left - if you are reading this or anyone knows who they are please get in touch- we'd love to meet up again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandylaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear sandylaura,

It's a pleasure for me and for the rest of the team to know that you have had a great time with us.

With best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I loved this hotel and will alway recommend this hotel. I have a fab stay here. The place is very clean and there is a huge variety of food in the buffet which was delicious. I highly recommend the Italian la carte. The staff are very friendly with great customer service. The beach was lovely but like some have said, some parts have rocks and some parts don't. If you love to snorkel, this is a good beach to snorkel at at rocks attract the fishes. There is a 24 hour snack bar on the beach and there is pottery painting on the beach to. There is a train that takes you to other parts of the hotel lobbies because this is like 3 hotels in one. I liked to walk between them. The s a lovely sea pool, it's a must go see. The room did smell musty at first but I would that as we are in a Jungle. Overall, I will visit this hotel again it's amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sugarlips77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Sugarlips77,

Thank you for your good comments.

Best regards from the Riviera Maya.

Banesa Burque
Resident Manage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We have vacationed in this area for more than 15 years and stayed at about 15 resorts…we were there over the xmas holidays with our boys 13 and 14. This resort offers a very relaxing and jungle atmosphere. Jorge was very nice greeting us at the initial reception. We stayed in section 8

Cons;
Food could be better but not bad at all.
Too much pork on the menu’s and buffets
Rooms were ok but need some sprucing up
Tv was old CRT but hardly watched Tv
WiFi in the rooms is extra. Free in the lobby
Xmas and New Years Buffets and Entertainment could have been better

Pros;
All staff were excellent
Lots of shade on the beach
Did not have to fight to find loungers unless arriving after 10 am on nice days, due to high season.
Very easy to get fresh towels, never ran out
Teen’s club
Dinner restaurants were on average very good
(We ate early to avoid waiting for a table)
We tipped at dinner mostly due to the good service.
Bar service was fast (we only drink once per day just before dinner)
Room was cleaned early and nice towel creations daily for the kids
Bathroom shower, excellent
Safe was a good size to fit laptop plus.
Lots of animals on site…birds, crocs, flamingos etc.
Lobby’s nice. Lots of seating.
Beach was beautiful, a bit crowded due to high season I presume, could go for long walks
Nice beach snack bars, icecream etc.
Ocean was great, but don’t forget your water shoes.
Small reefs out front but not as badly destroyed as other resorts (due to distance out I think)
Beautiful tennis courts, basketball, volleyball on the beach,
Swimming pools were huge and very clean, not over chlorinated
Can step outside resort and take a short ride to Playa Del Carmen on the collective
Big resort so nice walks, great exercise…or can take trolleys…wait is not that bad.
Mini bar in room, beer and water and soft drinks if needed.
We had no issues with our rooms air, water, anything.

Overall you won’t be disappointed by staying at this resort.
Enjoy and thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: all rooms looked nice we prefer 2nd floor
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Rob Kr,

I would like to give you thank you for share with us and other readers your comments.

I appreciate your complete review.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We took about 55 of our coworkers to this resort for a company trip in May 2012. I'll try to summarize our impressions.

The Good:
1- The beach is excellent. It is wide and the white sand is beautiful. The soft sand continues underwater and none of our people were bothered by rocks/ broken coral/ etc. Beautiful fish of all sizes come to you when you are knee deep in the water. The water is warm, pleasant, and very clear.
2- The size of the resort and the ability to move around and dine in the adjacent grand palladium resorts made for a wide variety and prevented boredom. Some (myself included at times) may prefer a smaller, more intimate resort. However, since we were there with so many other coworkers, we felt that the variety offerred by the size of the resort allowed everyone to experience the resort in their own different way.
3- The steak restaurant was my favorite and I felt the quality of cuts was fantastic for an all inclusive.
4- Our room was a "Mayan Suite", which was really nothing to write home about. However, it was very close and convenient to the beach.
5- The staff were attentive and generally very cordial.

The bad:
1- We arrived around 3pm but many of our coworkers were not given their rooms for over 5 hours.
2- There were mechanical issues with too many of the rooms. These issues would not be fixed unless one was present in the room. In other words, they asked you to remain in the room until maintenance arrived but they couldn't tell you what time this would be. A few people had to wait HOURS in their hot, humid rooms waiting for the air conditioning to be fixed!
3- It was at times difficult to impossible to get a reservation at many of the "specialty" restaurants.
4- The food at the main buffet restaurant was very mediocre and not memorable. The food ranged from a few nice items to many mediocre items to a few downright disgusting creations. In general, there were few local authentic choices (which were invariably the better items).
5- The resort is about one and a half hour away from the airport.
6- The beds were not of great quality.

Overall and within the limitations of this category of establishments I found this resort to be a pleasant and a fair value.

Happy travels and we hope you found this helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aramic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Aramic,

I would like to give you our apologies for the incidents that you have had during your vacation. I will take note and I will analize this with the rest of the team.
Regarding the rooms, the check-in is at 3 pm and I don't know why you said that your coworkers were not given their rooms for over 5 hours. Please, if I can have more information, I could give you a correct answer.

About our restaurants, we have different menus all days in the breakfast, lunch and dinner. We always have personal in the restaurants and in the complex for help our guests.

If we have the information in the moment, we can give a solution quickly to any incident that our guest have.

Our apologies again and if we can help you with anything in the future, don't hesitate to contact with us.

Best regards,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews