We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Perfect Honeymoon.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
“The Perfect Honeymoon.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have just returned from our honeymoon and stayed at the Colonial Resort within the Grand Palladium of Riveria Maya. The resort itself is very large but extremley beautiful, what first hits you is the rainforest surroundings and wildlife, with resident crocs, coaties, racoon, coypool's, lizards and flamingoes, its wonderful! We unfortunately wasnt given our upgrade due to no avaliabilty but the standard rooms are spacious, extremley clean and perfect for a good night sleep. Although at first you feel your never get to know your way around you do within a couple of days and find that your situated close enough to many pools and the beach is only a short walk away, there are trains / taxi service laid on that run every 10 mins or so which is very handy!! The facilties are very good, there are many pools to choose from, ranging from a couple adult only quieter pools, salt pool to the main pool where entertainment & water activties are avaliable daily and worthwhile getting involved. The pools are beautiful and very clean with towels being provided everyday by handing in your towel card. Must is the spa the facilties are all included i.e sauna/steam/pool etc but you have to pay for treatments, the infinity pool is amazing and is a great touch. Buffet food is ok, i would say this is probably the only thing that is'nt 5 star but alot of choices. The al la carte restaurant's are definatly more better quality of food, our favourite's were ribs & more, rodizio & el dorado, if your a big eater your love rodizio where the food doesnt stop until you say! The staff are wonderful, they are so happy, helpful and friendly and cant do enough for you. The hotel itself is beautiful, extremley clean and has wondering surroundings, it really is a little bit of paradise.The beach is stunning, you literally walk away from the pools and your on the sand, you dont have to walk to far for the clear warm sea with alot of fish, we would definatly recommend the free snorkelling from the resort, which gives you about 40mins to appreciate the reef in all its glory. The entertainment is good, the dancer's are fantastic and worth watching the rock show! The all inclusive aspect is also very good, our first time all inclusive, there are no restrictions on food, drink or how many times you can visit the al la carte restaurants. One piece of advise do not accept an offer to visit the royal yuctan suite from the palladium travel club as this is only to sell you timeshares but some of those staff dont like no for an answer!! If you are to explore outside of the hotel you can easily jump on a collectivo which are extremley cheap & safe. Tullum ruins is worth a look, playa da carmen is maybe not, very touristy and 5th avenue is full of hagglers trying to get you to eat in their cafe... one thing is a must if you go to mexico is to swim with dolphins, its the most wonderful experience you must do once. We would recommend delphinus but worth booking prior to travelling. Be cautious when arriving at cancun airport as men will offer to take your luggage to help you to the coach and you think they are part of the tour companies, but they are not and they will then stand and wait for a tip! Also dont be afraid to haggle you could get some bargains. You may also experience a little dodgy belly for a week or so but i think its just standard in certain countries. The weather was the only suprise for us as we expected sunshine everyday, we had a week of overcast and showers but its still extremley hot and as i learnt can still burn! we had the most amazing time at this hotel and could not recommend it enough, the resort is breathtaking and you wont get bored of the beauty surrounding you and the staff are the friendleist people ive ever met. We would love to return one day, its been the greatest honeymoon we could have wished for.

Room Tip: higher floors to stop animals coming into your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brads_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear brads_s,

I would like to thank you for your good comments and I am very glad to know that you have had a nice honeymoon in Grand Palladium.

With best regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,646
    1,198
    420
    196
    139
See reviews for
1,534
1,825
26
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We actually had no choice with this as a holiday destination as it was our friends venue for their wedding and they had invited us to attend and be witnesses.
I must admit to some trepidation about going to a country we have never visited before (Mexico), to a hotel I had no input with the decision and this holiday was only bookable via Thomson holidays, again something I'd not done for many years.....
I needn't have worried.
Yes it was a long flight. Upgrading to Premium Economy was money well spent.
Yes It was a bit chaotic at Cancun Airport, trying to keep a party of 12 including 2 children under 3yrs old all together.
Yes it seemed a long drive from the airport to the hotel, the freezing cold bottle of Corona purchased on the coach helped though.

BUT IT WAS ALL WORTH IT!!

We arrived at the hotel, check in was wonderfully efficient and we were driven to our villa block with suitcases and shown to our room.

We had upgraded to a Junior Suite via the Thomson Website and had been moved from the Kantenah to The Colonial (supposedly an upgrade too). Our room was 1901. It was spacious, 2 double beds, living room area and balcony. Our only disappointment was the view as there was no view, just a tropical mangrove forest right at the end of the balcony.The fridge was fully loaded with 6 bottles of pop and 4 beers.....for your information, if any of the drinks are not ones you ususally have they are quite willing to swap them!!
It was only after wandering round the complex and studying the complex map, that it became apparent most rooms of most of the villa blocks, which are 3 storeys and have 8 rooms per floor, have no view. Most of the villas are surrounded by tropical mangrove forest.

The complex is really 5 hotels in one massive complex. Kantenah, Colonial, White Sands, Riviera and the Royal Villas. The Royal Villas are the exclusive part of the hotel and noone has access to it, except those staying there. The White Sands & Riviera are the hotels that have more villas with potential views, be it of the lake and pool complex or some of the Riviera actually have sea views on the 3rd floor. Any guest is allowed to go anywhere within the complex, only the Royal Villas were out of bounds. To help this there are 'trains' running between the lobbies throughout the day and night. Also Golf buggies regularly criss cross the complex and you are able to catch them at specific stops throughout the complex.

The food in the complex was amazing. Each hotel has its own buffet style breakfast restaurant and we always ate at the Colonial one although you are free to go and eat at any of them. The choice of food for breakfast was staggering.
There are 2 beach bars that serve drink and food.
There are 2 pool side restaurants that serve lunch and snacks throughout the day.
There are plenty of a la carte restaurants in the complex, assosciated with each of the hotel lobbies. We ate at the Japanese(Kantenah), Chinese(White Sands), Brazilian(White Sands), Italian(White Sands), Mexican(Colonial), Steak House(Colonial), Ribs & More(White Sands), Mediterranean(Kantenah). We honestly could not fault the food in any of them. Service was on the whole prompt and courteous, we learnt to tip each evening. Avoid the busy times 7pm to 830pm as lengthy waits might be necessary although waiting in the beautiful lobbies drinking free cocktails is hardly a chore!! Our favourite was the Italian as we ended up there 4 evenings.
I am a person who always gets holiday tummy and this is the first time ever when I haven't, confirmation of the care and attention of the catering staff.

The weather for 12 of the 14 days was fabulous, if very, very hot.
Our favourite place was the Saltwater pool on the headland as it always had a healthy breeze. The Beach also had the breeze to stop you from overheating and always seemed to have seats available.
Both main pool complexes Colonial/Kantenah & White Sands/Riviera were huge. Again loads of seating available. My only criticism was they suffered from the lack of fresh breeze availble on the beach and therefore felt stiflingly hot. Some people, my wife included, feels that is sometimes a good thing!!
There are also 2 seperate adult only pools in each complex. The pools are small, the chairs are more plush and there is no breeze available whatsover. These often got filled up by people wanting freedom from noisy kids, but we often heard more noise coming from the adults only pool areas than we did the main pool areas.

Our friends got married on the Friday after we arrived in the Monday. Vanessa the Wedding Planner was fabulous. Everything went to plan. The weather was fabulous, but as the venue was on the beach, the fresh breeze prevented everyone from overheating too much!! We then had the Wedding Breakfast in the Italian, on the veranda, it was picture perfect.

Considering this 14 day holiday, including the flight upgrade and the room upgrade cost the two of us a shade more than it normally costs us to spend 9 days in the Royal Savoy in Sharm. It represents excellent value as you get an amazing holiday, amazing holiday hotel complex, amazing beach, amazing weather.

I must also point out one of the strong points of this complex and the hotel groups philosophy. They are very big on 'environment'.
They have attempted to integrated an enormous hotel complex and yet retain a positive impact on the local environment and the local fauna. It was wonderful to see the vast array of animals resident in the huge number of tropical mangrove areas around each villa complex. I think Fiesta Hotel Groups should be proud of what they have achieved.

We can't wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Some White Sands rooms have views of Lobby Building, pool and lake. Some 3dr floor rooms of some Ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear BisphamRoad,

Thank you so much for your comments and I am very glad to know that you have enjoyed your vacation and the wedding.

Please, if you decide to visit us in the future, don't hesitate to contac with us.

Sincerelly,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great complex with tons of things to do. From miniature golf to snorkeling to massages to volleyball and yes, there was ample drinks. They were not watered down quite the opposite. Everyone from Manuel our trolley conductor to Guillermo our drink maker and Jose our waiter at Ribs & More exceeded our expectations. The attention to detail was remarkable. My GF & I stayed for 7 days (we just got back 5.27.12) This is a big resort so make sure you have comfortable flops or sneakers but its very easy to navigate. I want to thank the staff for the fruit basket we received and the cleanliest to our Junior Suite. We stayed in Villa 9 - 1931 3rd Floor as it overlooked the Ocean. Great room and view. The rooms come with a stocked refrigerator (cervezas, water and soda) done daily which was very nice. There is 8 buffets and 6 a la carte restaurants. We enjoyed El Dorado (Steakhouse), Ribs & More (our favorite - try the lamb chops as my gf said they were the best she has ever had and I enjoyed the Mahi Mahi thanks again Jose) Sumptuori was the best Hibachi show I have ever seen. Great work Guillermo and it was fantastic food. We enjoyed the buffet at the Colonial (I believe it was La Hacidena). We ate breakfast which was filling and ate their for dinner on Mexican night (I Highly recommend) and Italian which was very good as well. Overall, this is a place for romance, kickback or a group setting. The have a church on location for weddings or on the beach. There was a gym which I didn't get to use but next time as well as sports complex. You can't go wrong with this hotel or company.

Room Tip: Choose the Colonial side either Villa 9, 20 or 21 to be near the beach. Bring tons of sun screen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank psunic2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear psunic2011,

I appreciate your good comments and I am glad to know that you have had a great time in Grand Palladium.

Cordially,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was our first trip to Mexico and our first all inclusive. First lets start by saying it was truly amazing! The Hotels are based around a huge jungle complex and consist of five, four of which you have full use off.
The grounds and the hotels are all spotless, the pools, of which there are many, are kept in perfect condition, cleaned every morning and evening. The place itself is huge so be prepared to get lost a few times :)
We stayed in the Colonial and it was a great location. We requested a higher room and was given one when we got there. A train service takes you all round the hotels at regular times if the heat is to much for you to walk. There are a couple of smaller pools and some very large ones, all of which are never really that busy. The smaller ones are adults only. We both loved the salt water pool for a little snorkeling.

Food : What can we say, it was fantastic! The buffets, of which there are many, all have a great variety of food so anyone complaining about the standard must be mad! The chefs do an amazing job of feeding so many people at once and the quality and standard was more than we could have asked for. Sometimes the service was a bit hit and miss and you could be forgot if you wanted some coffee, but overall very good indeed.

Ala-carts : We tried two of them, the Italian and steak one. The service was good in both, however we did find the food in the Italian was a bit bland compared to even the buffet. The steak restaurant however was very good indeed. They do push the wine-list on you rather too much but just keep saying no and order a glass instead.

Weather and beach : weather was, well very hot! perfect if you want to burn :) we loved it, the beach isnt big but kept well and had a nice gentle wind to keep you cool. We spent most of our time there getting drinks from the beach bar. The staff at that bar were very good and the service was quick. The only place we felt the service from the staff lacked, was ironically at the front desk. This is the place you need your most polite and well-spoken staff and to be honest, sometimes it lacked that.
Staff everywhere else however were very nice, hard-working people who always had time to say hello.

Spar : AMAZING !! we both loved it, so clean, very pretty, quiet, well kept, nice staff, oh and we both had a fantastic couples massage :)

Overall we could go on and on about this place and repeat what most have said. We would def go back but we had decided to try the Palladium in the Dominican republic instead. Purely to try and different country. They will have to work very hard however to better the service we had in Mexico, so thank you very much to all the staff for doing such a great job.

P.S We would highly recommend you book the dolphinaris trip! It was for sure one of the best things we have ever done :) Book it on the internet and it will cost you half the price of your rep and they collect you and bring you back anyway.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room if you want a view above the jungle, and helps avoid the bugs :) Colonial was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank darren1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear darren1992,

Thank you for your time and your good comments. I will share this with the rest of the team.

Best regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was my my fourth time staying at this beautiful resort. As always, it was quite a fantastic holiday. We love the scenery, the staff and POP crew (Awesome, fun people & great games!) , the lovely rooms,the shows, and of course the beautiful beaches & the pool. (Please see other reviews for these good bits- all true!).

That said, I have a few recommendations that would make this the best resort ever. Please keep in mind that this is only nitpicking as we really had a fantastic time. Obviously, we still plan to return. But there are a few things that really could be improved upon and then no hotel could compete with you!

1) The food. - The quality of the buffets was decent & some selections were very tasty. However all of the sit-down restaurants were extremely dissapointing. This was strange, because one would expect the very opposite, as the sit down restaurants surely serve less people in one day...(but I do not know how things work behind the scenes.)

All of the staff was EXCELLENT, and very kind and accommodating - you could see they were working so hard to please the guests. Unfortunately at times we found ourselves laughing out loud at the entrees. For example, there is a pork and pasta dish at the "Mediterranean" restaurant - it turned out to be a thin piece of fried mystery meat topped with unidentifiable lunchmeat and cheese. It reminded me of the free hot lunches served in high school cafeterias. And the marinara sauce in the sit-down restaurants everywhere tasted exactly like Campbell's tomato soup (not the pasta stations at the buffet- these sauces were great).

The baklava was a stale phyllo shell filled with peanuts (yes, peanuts). We really could not believe it. The side dishes in all the restaurants were pitiful- one lonely overcooked brocolli head and a chunk of a baked potato is not a side dish. (FYI, steamed broccoli should be firm and a pretty, bright green, not soggy and pale.)

Ironically, the Mexican restaurant was the worst of all! We were positively shocked that a Mexican restaurant---in Mexico--could possibly be so poor. The burritos and fajitas were just awful.

The El Dorado steak house was okay- again, a restaurant that might go out of business as a stand-alone. But in comparison to the others, the steaks were edible, and the salad bar was good.

My point is, the benchmark for good resort food should not be "edible." I would recommend hiring a supervising chef for each restaurant who can come up with authentic, delicious, economical recipes that can be quickly prepared to serve many people. I did not like living on fruit, salad, french fries and pasta for a week.

2) Transportation - this system has got to be improved. The other times we visited we were both very healthy, so walking in the heat was not a problem and we never noticed how sporadic the trams are. But this time I could not walk far due to a health issue. At one point, it took close to an hour to get from the Riviera (one end of the property) to the Colonial (other end). The tram wait is bad at night during dinnertime and after the shows - though the drivers are very sweet and accommodating. :)

I really think all vehicles - trains and small trams - should be operating at the busy times to keep people moving. For example, each night we would see a show at the Colonial, but then we'd miss the beginning of the show at the Riviera because the trams were so busy and we could not make it in time. During the day, the average wait was a good 15-20 minutes for each tram - why so long? It's not like we are going across a city.

3) Shows - The shows are awesome and we just loved all of the dancers. I have never seen people work so hard and have such pride in their craft. And we love the new shows that have been added - truly Broadway quality.

But the bad part...many guests complained that there was entirely too much lip synching / recorded music in many of the shows. The bad lip synching greatly detracts from the excellent performaces of the dancers.

Perhaps you could add few real singers to your performance ensemble. Then the shows would be just fantastic!! If not (I know that is an expense), perhaps the "concept" of the shows could be built around dancing & acting (like the great Pirates of the Caribbean show) instead of song?

Anyway, those are just my recommendations. Please extend our thanks to your fabulous staff for their excellent hospitality and kindness. Regardless, we will be back one day.

Room Tip: Colonial rooms are closest to the activities, pool and beach. Get a Mayan suite if you can - totall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phillyrepairguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear phillyrepairguy,

I will take note of your recomendations and I will share it with our team. All comments are very important for us because it's help for improve our work.

With best regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

After a wonderful stay at Grand Palladium Bavaro in Punta Cana a few years back, we were once again excited to stay in a Palladium Resort for our first trip to Mexico. We were not disappointed! I traveled to Grand Palladium from May 17-24 with my adult son and adult daughter. I emailed the resort ahead to request rooms in the Kantenah section, rooms next to each other, since my son had his own room, and an upper floor. When we arrived, we had been upgraded to Junior Suites in the Colonial section, which we ended up being thrilled with. Thank you Grand Palladium for the upgrade!! We were in Villa 9, rooms next to each other, on an upper floor, just as requested. Our villa was just a short walk to the beach. The location was perfect for us!
Brief observations:
-Beach is beautiful! Rocky parts as mentioned by others, but there are sections that aren't. We always found chairs and a palapa. Lots of shade from palm trees as well.
-Pools areas are enormous, We are beach people, but spent one afternoon at one of the pools, and enjoyed it very much. Seemed like tons of chairs there too. Although we didn't spend the day at the saltwater pool, we enjoyed walking up there a few times and just sitting for a bit. Very different experience from the regular beach, and just beautiful.
-Food was very good to just OK. Breakfast buffet is good, lunch buffet was OK, and only did the buffet once for dinner because we arrived back very late from an excursion. We did the ala cartes for all our other dinners. We eat on the early side, so we never had a wait to get in. As everyone's tastes are different, I won't list our favorites and not so favorites. Service in all of the ala cartes was good, a little hit or miss in the buffets. You will not go hungry at this resort.
-Grounds are just beautiful. Perfectly maintained. As in Punta Cana, there are workers everywhere tending to the grounds and resort. I am so impressed by how hard these people work. There is so much to see and do on the grounds if you want.
-Rooms were a little on the "older" side, but we still loved our room for the little time we were in it. We always came back to a clean room, with cute towel art.
-Spa is lovely and peaceful. We didn't spend too much time there, but I was very impressed with what I saw. My daughter hit the gym first thing each morning to work out, and said it was good, but would like to mention that it is very warm in there, and that the sun shines in right on those working out early, which made it difficult to see. Perhaps some shades to pull down in the early hours for those working out?
We loved our first trip to Mexico, and Grand Palladium did not disappoint us at all! The staff was wonderful, friendly and helpful. We booked with Apple Tours, and were not impressed with the Apple reps at the resort, but that is not the resorts fault. If we are ever able to travel to Mexico again, we would stay here again without hesitation. Thank you again Grand Palladium for our upgrade and great location of our villa. We appreciate it very much!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beachlover022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear Beachlover022,

I appreciate you comments and I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your room and the hotel. Thank you for your confidence in Palladium.

Best regards,

Banesa M° Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Our first trip to Mexico. Looks like we picked a good one.
The hotel very generously upgraded us to a Mayan Suite as it was our anniversary - complete with bottle of champagne - Wow!! and Thanks!.
The resort is just awsome; made up of 4 hotels surrounded and lnked by tropical gardens with walkways within the natural junglescape.
The weather was a bit of a shock, not just the temperature, but the humidity. This is a tropical jungle after all and we had to use the respite of the rooms aircon many a time as many of the public areas are open rather than enclosed and airconditioned - this is a feature of the hotel and if you can stand the humidity, it is beautiful.
The entertainment team is outstanding and the shows are first class.
Buffet dining can be a little noisy, but the choice of 8 or more restaurants for evening dining is great. Brazilian, Italian, Japanese, Chinese, etc. The best one for us was the Mexican and special mention to Victor - the best waiter of the hotel and he deserves to be well rewarded.
Its always possible to find a few things that niggle, such as the aircon could have been better, the shower water could have been hotter, etc - but you have to look at al the things this resort does to keep guests happy; and it does this in spades.
Note: this hotel is on the Riviera Maya, away from the hotel zone of Cancun, but its all the better for it - Paradise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank been-and-got-t-shirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonialKantenah, Gerente at Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Dear been-and-got-t-shirt,

Thank you for share with us your comments and It's a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your anniversary in Palladium.

Sincerelly,

Banesa Burque
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
6.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Royal Suites Yucatan by Palladium
6.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Address: Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km, 256-100 | Municipio Solidaridad, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Akumal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa is located on a spectacular, private Caribbean beach-front complex that boasts of 800 meters of white, fine sand and turquoise blue waters. Guests of the Grand Palladium Colonial are invited to use the facilities provided by the adjoining Grand Palladium White Sand Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Riviera Resort & Spa, with the exception of the Royal Suite facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Colonial Hotel
Hotel Grand Palladium Colonial
Grand Palladium Mexico
Palladium Colonial Resort
Grand Palladium Spa
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing