We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing experience!”

Hekab Be Biblioteca de Akumal
Ranked #17 of 27 things to do in Akumal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hekab Be Biblioteca is a community library that operates solely on donations. We receive no government funding and do not charge for our services. In addition to a fully functioning library system, we have an afterschool program for local children ages 3-12 that provides activities/classes in English, music, art, yoga, environmental education, sports, and more!
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Over the last 7 years I have had the pleasure of helping to raise $ with my fellow Loco Gringos for this library and the children who use it. I would highly recommend you stop by for a visit to see what they are all about and make a donation if you can. You can also visit them on their website to see if there are any school supplies they could use before your trip and give those as a donation.

The children will melt your heart guaranteed!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyGirl1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    10
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Heart warming way to improve your holiday feel good factor”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

From an access point of view this is so easy to find. Just come off the highway (collectivos will drop you off) and walk towards Akumal Beach where you can swim with turtles after your visit. You will walk past the library on your way in - it's to the right and fantastically vibrant! Most people travelling in this area will be staying in luxurious hotels, being waited on hand and foot - it's a far cry from some of the homes (and let's remind ourselves, those homes of the same staff who are looking after your every whim!) you see on the transfer from the airport, or just generally while out and about. If every traveller gave just a dollar to independant charities like this one it is unimaginable what they could achieve. If you can drop by they are so welcoming. We have brought 3 lots of donations over the years - firstly some good quality second hand craft toys (stencils etc) that my daughter had grown out of, secondly we didn't send Christmas cards one year and used the money from the cards and stamps to buy stationary and this year my 11 year old decided to do a school fundraiser through selling little chocolate pots and raised £53 and we bought items off the wishlist which the library publish (great idea!) I love the fact this is one charity which you can make a definite impact and where unpublished profits aren't creamed off first. You don't need to make huge gestures but if you can drop something small in like stationary or small gifts they can store for rewards for the children then you can guarantee they'll be pleased and you'll feel great. They provide out of school care for children, and creative and linguistic development for children and now adults, in order to better themselves and their prospects. If you're worried about communication difficulties, don't be - the manager is Ann, a lovely, lovely American lady.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HBBEDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The little library that could”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was our second trip to this lovely little library. Completely run off of volunteer, and donations (no formal funding) this truly is a heartwarming experience. They run lots of programs for kids - including teaching English...they are keeping these kids off the streets providing a safe environment for them to learn and grow.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon80Leduc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special place in the Jungle. Not only a Library but a Learning Center for the local Children and travelers.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Hekab Be Biblioteca has a special place in my heart. This is a Library and Learning Center. Which runs off donations and Volunteers. This place is inn Akumal a beautiful small Beach Town with torqouise water you will never forget!. They have great books, English, Mayan, reading, math, art, music classes and many more activies for the kids. What there doing for the community is fantastic!. I Was lucky to run into this place. When vacationin in the Riviera Maya. I was able to fill up a suit case with school supplies in August 2013 with the help of some friends. They where so greatful and welcoming. This made my trip more meaningful. If you can help out in anyway do so. So they can continue changing and making other peoples lives and future a brighter one....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yvettescorvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Bring a full suitcase of school supplies”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Loved visiting here and meeting some staff and volunteer.enjoyed a morning of helping price some clothes for a fundraiser sale coming up.
Please take the time to load up a suitcase with school supplies and things for the kids.This is such a wonderful place,for kids to come and learn,share and have fun.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thesnowbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hekab Be Biblioteca de Akumal also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Hekab Be Biblioteca de Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing