We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time Out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TAO Wellness Center

TAO Wellness Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An onsite holistic Wellness Center, part of the TAO Residential Community. The center features a movement room with daily yoga, meditation, tai chi, qi gong, zumba and pilates classes; a swimming pool and lap pool with saline water; locker rooms with steam baths; a healthy snack bar; a socially conscious boutique; a vibrant gym; world-class lecture hall for up to 150 people; lounge; terraces and the an energy treatment program featuring an uncommon selection of life balancing and rejuvenation treatments, including the region’s most amazing traditional healing arts program, which centers on the Temazcal Ceremony.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Time Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I found out about this through rep because wanted to do a fitness class not on the beach or in pool. Tao wellness centre gives you the chance to get away from it all. The Yoga classes runs each morning week days. Caught travel trolley from Ackumal lobby to get there. Yoga Classes were at 8am. 9am classes followed such as pilates, body combat etc. There is also a gym and pools. Very much in keeping with its surroundings.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AmandaPaul47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    45
    10
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Zen paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We only toured the wellness centre but will definitely take advantage of the gym and pool next visit. The gym is not very big but all the machines and weight area have a spectacular view of the jungle. There's an ancient Mayan ceremony held in the Temazcal each Friday which I hope to take part in next visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air on vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Went to several yoga classes at 8am - a real refreshing break from the usual holidaymaking naughtiness!
Staying at the Gran Bahia Principe Coba the wellness centre is included but watch out for transport to get you to class on time (the drivers will tell take the next one several times in a row unless you insist to go now and be on time)
Only wish there were more classes as it was a struggle to be up before 8am lol!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank missmuffetadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Yoga in the jungle studio was one of the most memorable parts of my holiday and I would like to thank Amy in particularly for her classes. The wellness centre does seem disorganised and they do not stick to the published timetable but it gave me memories that will last a lifetime. If you are staying in the GBP Sian Ka'an do go and find it...

Helpful?
2 Thank nutwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Communication Problem.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I wanted to attend the Yoga sessions everyday at 8.00 am. But there is not transport available between Tulum and Tao Centre. Ont he first day I had to wait for at least 20 mins before I made some noise with the Bell Boy and then they arranged for a bus to come but I got to my class 10 mins late. Next day I woke up early on holiday (!) to ensure I am not late and again after making a bit of noise I got there 10 mins early only to find out that there was not teacher available for the meditation class!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 887Traveller887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TAO Wellness Center also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to TAO Wellness Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing