We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Que Onda

Que Onda
Ranked #7 of 38 Restaurants in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were only in Half Moon Bay for 4 days and ate here 4 times! We discovered the restaurant by accident as we walked to Yal Kul Lagoon one morning; there isn't a big sign advertising it. Their breakfasts were tasty and reasonably priced as were the two dinners we had there. Their sphaghetti bolognese was delicious. It was really nice to dine under the palm trees in the balmy evening air and the service was great. We were sad to leave.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennBCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    56
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orvieto, Italy
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wow, Fun little place with way fresh food”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We arrived @ 9pm to this fun little place. The food is Italian, so being in Mexico I did not get my hopes up. What we found and saw were a couple of serious cooks in the open kitchen, hand rolling our pastas to order and cooking them to perfection. I was so surprised by the spot on balance of the sauces and true Italian flavours. This little place is worth the visit if ever your travels take you to Akumal Mexico

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“That little place you hope to find!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We came across this quaint restaurant while walking the loop by Yal-ku laguna. If you're looking for old style mexican food, this is the place. We had breakfast and the huevos rancheros were excellent! The coffee the best we had all week. Yes, you have to go looking for it, no big signs or advertising. Look for the big yucca plant!! Best value in Akumal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Akumal”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Fantastic homemade pasta and delicious crepes and flan in a wonderfully relaxing outdoor garden setting next to an artist's retreat. All the ingredients are fresh and cooked to perfection. Definitely my favourite of all the restaurants in Akumal although it may be a little hard to find at night as it is in an out of the way location near the Yalku lagoon in North Akumal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PullnBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Que Onda also viewed

 

Been to Que Onda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing