We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice condo on quiet bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda de la Tortuga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda de la Tortuga
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Livermore, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very nice condo on quiet bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hacienda de la Tortuga for 10 days from 11/26-12/6/2012 and we were very happy with the condo. The Manager, Roberto, is very helpful. He was waiting outside for us when we arrived to greet us and give us the key. The condo was clean and it has a wonderful lanai that looks out on Half Moon Bay. The water is so clear below that you can see turtles and rays swimming by. Also, a group of baby turtles hatched right below our unit and were rescued by CEA and later released into the ocean and we got to watch all of that. The kitchen is very well appointed and I was able to cook breakfast and even a couple of lunch and dinners. The best restaurant in the area, La Lunita, is on the first floor so very convenient. Only problem is if you don't want to eat there you have to walk to La Buena Vida (fun and good food) which is maybe 2 blocks away or go into Akumal - about a mile walk. So, just be aware of that. One great thing is you can walk easily to Yal-Ku Lagoon from the condos. You don't want to miss this experience. It's a calm lagoon that only cost $10 USA and you can stay all day. The variety of fish is amazing and there are plenty of benches to take a break on and great statues everywhere to check out. You can't bring food in but there is a snack bar, lockers, bathrooms, outdoor shower and changing room. Also, if you walk or take a taxi to the next bay over, Akumal Bay, you can swim with turtles, rays and lots of cool fish on the reef. A great experience overall. My only negative comment would be on the bathroom. It was very clean and we loved the shower but unfortunately the sewer gas can be a problem. I would still highly recommend Hacienda de la Tortuga though.

Room Tip: Unit 12 and Unit 11 both have great views.The way the units are arranged you have total privacy on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachdreamin620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    20
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have stayed at the Hacienda every year for the last 6 years, and will continue to return. The condos are clean and well cared for. The rates are reasonable and the staff is more than accomodating! When you add in the view?! Fantastico!

The beach is quiet, pristine and steps from the condo. Half Moon Bay sparkles and is home to great snorkeling. We often see parrot fish, turtles & sting rays from our balcony.

I almost hate to write this review because I don't want to share this piece of paradise!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genie533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hacienda de la Tortuga its a Must!!!

I was amazed when we got there. We were looking for a quiet place to spend the night and we regretted not staying there the whole trip. The condo has a big living room with an amazing view of the blue ocean, one room with A/C a small kitchen (with everything you need for a romantic evening) and a small balcony to enjoy the beach. The guys working there were very Friendly and we will receive a discount next time we visit Hacienda de la Tortuga. The beach is clean and you can spot some amazing colored fishes.

We will definitely stay there in our next visit

Room Tip: There's No Elevator. If You Want The View From The Higher Floors You Will Have To Climb Some Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipolnarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hacienda de la Tortuga is located right in front of the Half Moon Bay which is one of the most beautiful spots that we visited in the Riviera Maya. The beach, although was a bit rocky, was perfect for snorkeling all day; I was amazed by all the colorful fishes we saw. The beach is very quiet, perfect for relaxing.

Roberto, the owner, was very helpful and he showed us personally our place. The apartment has all that you might need for a long stay.

I found everything perfect, I can wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ada G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

My friend and I bought a Groupon for a five night stay at the Hacienda. It was awesome. The people were super friendly, the location is great! Right on the beach and pretty private. We had our brunches included with our stay which was a huge bonus as the food was excellent! It's great if you want to escape, chill, snorkel, drink and eat! Try the hotel's Tamarind Margarita! :O
Everything is walkable/bikeable! The manager at the condo, Roberto, was also very helpful and gave us advice about places to go/eat etc. We had a one bedroom condo with a beach front view. Just awesome. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We have visited Akumal a number of times over the past 8 years, but wanted to try a small hotel/condo on the beach to give us the beach time that would complement our stays in the cities of Valladolid & Merida to the west. Hacienda de la Tortuga met all our needs, situated right on the beach of Half Moon Bay, Akumal. We were in a 2nd floor 1 bedroom condo (T5) with a spacious living area, King size bedroom, full bath with shower, kitchen with many small appliances (coffee maker, blender, etc.), with a balcony looking out on the water. HMBay provides a wonderful place for snorkeling. The palapas provided a shady place to read, enjoy a cervaza, watch the activity in the bay, or view fishing/diving/snorkeling boats go by.

Room Tip: View website pisture and submit questions. They have both 1 & 2 bedroom condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, alberta, canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed in unit T10 a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit in this 4 flr walk-up and loved it. Very well maintained it had all the amenites we could want - even aTV of which we never turned on! Daily cleaning service is included as were the water jugs - a great plus! Yal-ku Lagoon was a 5 minute bike ride away where we enjoyed great snorkeling. We were a little concerned about having a restaurant below us but it wasn't a problem at all; as a matter of fact it was great having it so close! Great food, service and margaritas kept us coming back for more! We did not rent a car but instead rented bikes at the Arch (see Marcelo at the pink store). If you are looking for a tour guide who knows the area and its history well and speaks great English then Avelino is your man (avelinoakumal@yahoo.com. All in all we had a fabulous time and would not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gabgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
16.2 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#16 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
15.9 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
15.3 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
17.2 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
15.7 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda de la Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de la Tortuga

Property: Hacienda de la Tortuga
Address: Carretera Cancun Tulum Km. # 105, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hacienda De La Tortuga Hotel Akumal
Hacienda De La Tortuga Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing