We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort, clean, reasonably priced, safe, friendly, worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Del Sol Beachfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing resort, clean, reasonably priced, safe, friendly, worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

This is the second time me and my husband have stayed at Vista Del Mar. This time we took my parents. This resort is very clean, friendly and safe. It is definitely worth staying in a condo, so you get the kitchenette. We book our travel through locogringo and they are great. There has never been any problem with payments or overcharges. This is a very safe hotel and great people! Condo is right on the beach and has clean sand. I would recommend this resort to anybody. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, along with fishing, diving, snorkeling etc.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtscubadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    145
    27
    17
    3
See reviews for
115
216
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2010

Stayed in the hotel, first floor. Clean, small rooms with a refrigerator. Located right on the beach. When I say on the beach, I mean walking from our room to the water took about 30 steps. Really fun to listen to the ocean all night.
Snorkeling in Half Moon Bay was fun and easy. Not a ton of fish, but saw some turtles.

Short walk to Akumal (about a mile), or rent a bike for $6 a day. Far from fancy, these are nice budget accommodations with a great view.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bortdozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

I have stayed in the hotel rooms and every type of condo they have and I have to say the three bedroom condo is the best deal ever! It is like home away from home and if you have kids it is perfect because you have everything t.v., air conditioning, cooking utensils, toaster, blender, microwave, everything! A perfect place for groups. You can rent a couple of condos near eachother and you have a perfect recipe for a good time. The views are spectacular and on a calm day you can even see all the marine life without leaving your balcony! There is a bathroom for each room, a master bedroom with a huge jacuzzi tub, a living and dining room making the whole place super spacious. The beds are very comfortable and you are guaranteed to enjoy the quietness of Akumal! The staff is incredible and they work really hard so you enjoy your stay. I would reccommend this place to anyone looking for pure comfort for a great price on their vacation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

If night life, music, and a swim-up pool bar are necessary for you to have a good time, this isn't the spot for you. However, if you like waves washing the shore steps from your bedroom window, enjoy gazing at stars where there is little light pollution, think waiting for manta rays to circle and an ocassional sea turtle to surface just yards from shore is a worthwhile afternoon activity, and you aren't afraid to try local restaurants, this is the place for you.

Our 2 room suite on the third floor of the hotel building, although sparely and simply furnished, was spotless and the housekeeping service kept it that way every day. The view out the front windows was magnificent. The kitchenette was adequately furnished with pots, pans and appliances - incuding a blender for margaritas. Need to provide your own coffee, but filters are provided along with bottled water.

The front desk staff was very helpful and very responsive to any request. Even hunted us down outside our room one night to give us a message from friends. Beach towels free. Bicycles for rent on site very cheap. Small store on site, convenient, fair prices. Could always get a lounge on the beach.

Good restaurants / bars / low key entertainment / small local farmers market (Wed & Sat) / grocery store / internet cafe - all a short walk or short bike ride away. Reasonalbe driving distance to other area attractions such as Tulum, Sian Ka'an, Coba, Playa, etc.. We walked out and snorkeled directly in front of the hotel on days the wind was calm - and at Yal Kul Lagoon (small fee) or Akamul Bay when the wind was up. Some good fish as well as rays and turtles, right in front of the hotel. Unfortunately, the reef itself is pretty dead.

Only down sides - the bed was hard as a rock. No elevators for handicapped. And while there is a pool, it's really a walk-in lap pool for teaching Scuba courses, not really a swimming pool in the classic sense. But you can't beat the sea-side location or the view from the Vista Del Mar!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Michiganders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2010

We stayed with another couple in Condo #3 (two bedrooms, two baths) for four nights. They had selected the place based on glowing recommendations from travel books as well as Trip Advisor. While the view is fantastic, the location terrific, and the amenities were adequate, the apartment felt tired, old-fashioned and sterile. The back bedroom for example, has a loud wierd whistling sound when the front window to the beach is open. The second bathroom, while clean, had an unpleasant smell, and the towels were grey. Not sure how the price ($225 per night) compares to other locations in Akumal, but next time I'd pick a place that feels newer and fresher than Vista del Mar.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

Great value. Our room was very small, but we had everything we needed - and we loved the balcony with the view of the ocean! Great sea-side restaurant onsite. It is a bit of a walk to get to Akumal beach (the hotel is directly on Half Moon Bay) - but it's a pretty walk (just hot)...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasteriasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2010

We missed our reserved dates due to snow in DC. They not only gave us full credit for for new dates, but upgraded our room. It was clean and comfortable with a spectacular view. The service was friendly and the location is perfect. We'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank griffindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#16 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
1.1 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Sol Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Sol Beachfront Hotel

Property: Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Address: Lot 41A Seccion G | Calle Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#11 Family Hotel in Akumal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Del Sol Beachfront hotel rooms are in a tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, free wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Del Sol Beachfront condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. We also have one, two and three bedroom condos available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Del Sol Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing