We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveler rating
293
166
34
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
166
34
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half moon bay yal ku lagoon buena vida bedroom condo coffee maker daily maid service dive shop la buena akumal dive three bedroom purified water small room convenience store minute walk sound of the waves full kitchen queen bed
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 517 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This last February was the 7th year my wife & I have stayed at VDM Hotel. If you do are not interested in having a kitchen, this is THE place to stay in the Akumal area! We love it. A clean, small room with a bathroom (including a window overlooking Half Moon Bay!) and a balcony/patio right on the beach. The staff has always been very helpful and pleasant. We watch stingrays and turtles from the balcony! (If staying on 2nd or 3rd floor) If you prefer stripped down, clean accommodations in the Akumal/North Akumal area, this is your spot!!!!!! Can't wait for next year. Home away from home.

Room tip: 2nd or 3rd floor are good for views of the bay!
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtr1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife, our eight year old son, 16 month old daughter and myself just spent a month at the Vista Del Mar and we couldn't recommend a better place. The beach is amazing with terrific snorkeling right from your backdoor. It is on the quieter side of Akumal which made it great for us with kids. The staff was great and very accommodating. It is also just a short beach walk from La Buena Vida resteraunt/bar. Also a great place for the family.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grizz814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

So why people complain about wifi, tv, or fancy accomodations when you are on vacation at the beach just baffles me. We rarely watch tv anyway, and why someone would watch tv or use their computer when they are in a beautiful setting is crazy. And when you are going in and out of your room with sandy feet and wet bathing suits and boogie boards, you don't need fancy accomodations.

We loved that this place had great views (we don't live near water so this is a real treat), a great location (if you love to snorkel or look at the water), a great little kitchen (to cook whatever you want, when you want), and a super clean room with maid service.

Room tip: ALL of the rooms have an ocean view!
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubamaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a very difficult location to rate. Some of it was EXCELLENT, however some of it needs to be improved. Would I stay here again...you bet!! Yet I felt I should report both the good and the bad. Hopefully the management will take notice and make some improvements?

The GOOD: the views are awesome; the overall cleaniness of our studio condo; the location;

The "BAD": the towels and linen, the broken appliances, the wi-fi, no english speaking staff.

You can not ask for a nicer more laid back place to spend a week here like we recently did. We rented a second floor studio condo which was big, clean and nicely decorated. (Yes there were a lot of ants in our unit, so keep your food covered). The deck is HUGE!!! The views are perfect!!! The floor to ceiling window in the shower was spectacular. We tipped the cleaning staff VERY WELL and were a little dissappointed they didn't do anything "extra" for us? In the four other Mexican hotels we stayed in during this holiday, their staff always did something extra special for us upon receiving a nice tip (flowers, chocolates, a card, towel animals, etc.)

The televison was small and only worked on a couple of channels? When making toast, one had to hold the lever down the enter time or the toaster won't work. The wi-fi would not (usually) work in our room. We had to take our iphones outside and sit next to the main office (like most other guests) to send messages back home. (All the above mentioned issues were very minor inconviences and almost not worth mentioning).

However the following two issues warrant some attention and I have attached photos to validate my concerns. When we turned back our bedding the first night, there were numerous dried blood spots on the sheets (see photo). We approached the staff on this, but the lack of english spoken created a problem with them understanding our concern. They eventually sent someone up to change our sheets. However, the new sheets still had a "quarter-sized" blood stain on it? (see photo). We ended up rearranging this sheet so this stain was located down by our feet instead of up by our heads. The other concern we want to mention, and one that I've seen posted here previously, were the thread-bare towels. These towels were years past their lifespan and were all torn and tattered. Again, we attached a photo of this. Of all the 4 resorts we stayed in during this Mexican holiday, this one was the most expensive, yet was the only one where we had any concerns?

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in a queen room in the Vista del Mar hotel. It was simple, but comfortable. The best part is the location. We opened our first floor sliding door right onto a small patio that was directly on the beach. It's a quick walk to the small town and right next to the Buena Vista which was a great restaurant/bar. The town of Akumal itself is a very small beach town. It is mostly visited by older couples and families so there is not much nightlife. The beach is beautiful.

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr0sec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews