We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveler rating
291
165
33
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
165
33
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf moon bayyal ku lagoonbuena vidabedroom condocoffee makerdaily maid servicedive shopla buenathree bedroompurified watersmall refrigeratorminute walksound of the wavesfull kitchenqueen bedfishakumal beach
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 513 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed at the Vista del Mar 6 or 7 times since 2004, once in a condo and the remainder in one of the 1br hotel rooms. They are right on the beach on Half Moon Bay; the beach is low use, mainly by hotel residents. The rooms are designed nicely with a balcony and you have great view of the beach (and a breeze). They have water and a coffee maker and fridge. They are quite small - they are great for a couple for 3 to 5 days; for longer stays you will want something larger. The condos are nicely designed and good for more people or a longer stay. It is a short walk or ride to Akumal Bay or to Yal Ku and a number of places to eat are nearby. It is a great place for mellow get away and we will continue

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayMan222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We found Vista Del Mar while driving over to Yal-Ku for snorkeling. We made an inquiry and thought the rates attractive for a two bedroom beachfront unit. Stayed 4 nights and found the location ideal. The beach is maintained every morning so there is no glass, trash or clumps of large sea grass washed up and littering the area. The kitchen is well equipped with a full sized refrigerator, gas range top and oven, fresh bottled water supplied and every required utensil for full housekeeping. The unit was groundfloor and right out the door is the blue ocean and plenty of beach furniture for guest use. Our only challenge was having hot water for showers. But we would come back and stay here again! The closest restaurant is the Buena Vida just down the beach maybe 100 yards.

Room Tip: We stayed in Unit 5 and would ask for that room again but suspect that all of the 2 bedroom units would be well maintained and beach front!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rawhide2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed on the 2nd floor of the Vista Del Mar Condo building. It was great to be right next to the beach. That time of year the beach in front of the condo is sometimes too rough for snorkeling, but there are calm waters at the Lagoon, which is a 15 minute walk away. Our 3 bedroom condo was spacious and comfortable. There was plenty of room for 6 adults. The kitchen was fully equipped, and it was easy to cook all our meals there.
Snorkeling gear was available for rent at the dive shop nearby, and we found our size even at a very busy time of year. We would certainly recommend Vista Del Mar to our friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seattlehikerbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in Vista Del Mar, the place is ideally located a few feet/meters from the beach and as well the restaurants. You can swim with the tortoises and we saw several tourist coming from Playa del Carmen to see those. Every day we were enjoying the nice view and the sound of the waves. Closeby there are Yal Ku Lagoon great spot do do snorkling. The restaurants close by (walking distance) are as well very good and you will find typical mexican food and nice cocktails. The staff has been always helpfull and besides it was really appreciated that we had our appartment clean up everyday. We definitively recommend this place. Besides during 9 days we were not able to do all the activities we planed (Ruyns, cities, beaches, cenotes ....)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alain b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for ten days over the December holidays. We were on the top floor with three bedrooms and three bathrooms, a large living/dining/kitchen area, and a huge deck where we ate our dinner and relaxed. The location was terrific -- we were far enough away from the main tourist area that it was quiet, and we were close to the YaKul Lagoon which we all loved. We swam and snorkeled in the bay a couple of times and walked on the beach most days. Visitors should bring some sort of "water shoe" to get past the sharp coral and rocks at the water's edge. We rented bikes and used them for transportation for the entire time. We hardly used our rental car. The staff were very responsive and helpful. There were several problems with the unit when we arrived but staff were there within 30 minutes and fixed everything. When we asked for water or anything else it arrived within ten minutes. We will definitely stay here again and certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We liked the view from the top floor but there are a lot of stairs to get there! Good exercise, we thought!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews