We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveler rating
291
165
33
19
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
165
33
19
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf moon bayyal ku lagoonbuena vidabedroom condocoffee makerdaily maid servicedive shopla buenathree bedroompurified watersmall refrigeratorminute walksound of the wavesfull kitchenqueen bedfishakumal beach
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 513 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in Vista Del Mar, the place is ideally located a few feet/meters from the beach and as well the restaurants. You can swim with the tortoises and we saw several tourist coming from Playa del Carmen to see those. Every day we were enjoying the nice view and the sound of the waves. Closeby there are Yal Ku Lagoon great spot do do snorkling. The restaurants close by (walking distance) are as well very good and you will find typical mexican food and nice cocktails. The staff has been always helpfull and besides it was really appreciated that we had our appartment clean up everyday. We definitively recommend this place. Besides during 9 days we were not able to do all the activities we planed (Ruyns, cities, beaches, cenotes ....)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alain b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for ten days over the December holidays. We were on the top floor with three bedrooms and three bathrooms, a large living/dining/kitchen area, and a huge deck where we ate our dinner and relaxed. The location was terrific -- we were far enough away from the main tourist area that it was quiet, and we were close to the YaKul Lagoon which we all loved. We swam and snorkeled in the bay a couple of times and walked on the beach most days. Visitors should bring some sort of "water shoe" to get past the sharp coral and rocks at the water's edge. We rented bikes and used them for transportation for the entire time. We hardly used our rental car. The staff were very responsive and helpful. There were several problems with the unit when we arrived but staff were there within 30 minutes and fixed everything. When we asked for water or anything else it arrived within ten minutes. We will definitely stay here again and certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We liked the view from the top floor but there are a lot of stairs to get there! Good exercise, we thought!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

So nice to have this beachfront room for our last leg of our Mexico adventure. Vista Del Mar is not right in town. It's much quieter than that, but it's still just a short walk. The staff didn't speak much english nor did they give us much information when we checked in. As far as what you can get in Mexico for $90 per night, I found this place a little over-priced, but still well worth it. The lower floors open right out to a little patio literally touching the sand. The room is small and modest, but has everything you need including plenty of drinking water refreshed daily. Akumal is a slow, quiet little 'town', so don't expect party party. Wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms, but the lower level seemed like the way to go. Easy access to the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lacyeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent 8 nights in condo 303. 3rd floor view over Akumal Norte bay is worth the trip: sunrise, pelicans and terns diving for schools of sardines within 10 yards of shore, hardly any people. Sound of waves almost too loud! Beach smallish strip of sand with rocks at waterline and out. Service was friendly and prompt. Kitchenette has new stove and generous fridge along with coffee maker toaster and blender and table settings for 4. Room and bedroom small with newish rustic furniture. Ceiling fans and mini split ACs in both rooms. Short walk to tiny convenience store and three places to eat in Norte. Pleasant 15 min walk south to Akumal Bay with its wide beach, turtles and hordes of tour snorkelers. Overall very good stay, great value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malonemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is great - and even comes with daily maid service (i'm talking doing dishes and everything!). Akumal is really nice, but I found it helpful to have a car to get around to other places. Check out Akumal Pueblo on the other side of the highway, where thay have a tortilleria, a better grocery store than in Akumal, and on some days a good fruit stand.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry_in_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews