We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of five stayed here for ten days over the December holidays. We were on the top floor with three bedrooms and three bathrooms, a large living/dining/kitchen area, and a huge deck where we ate our dinner and relaxed. The location was terrific -- we were far enough away from the main tourist area that it was quiet, and we were close to the YaKul Lagoon which we all loved. We swam and snorkeled in the bay a couple of times and walked on the beach most days. Visitors should bring some sort of "water shoe" to get past the sharp coral and rocks at the water's edge. We rented bikes and used them for transportation for the entire time. We hardly used our rental car. The staff were very responsive and helpful. There were several problems with the unit when we arrived but staff were there within 30 minutes and fixed everything. When we asked for water or anything else it arrived within ten minutes. We will definitely stay here again and certainly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: We liked the view from the top floor but there are a lot of stairs to get there! Good exercise, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFOvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 492 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

So nice to have this beachfront room for our last leg of our Mexico adventure. Vista Del Mar is not right in town. It's much quieter than that, but it's still just a short walk. The staff didn't speak much english nor did they give us much information when we checked in. As far as what you can get in Mexico for $90 per night, I found this place a little over-priced, but still well worth it. The lower floors open right out to a little patio literally touching the sand. The room is small and modest, but has everything you need including plenty of drinking water refreshed daily. Akumal is a slow, quiet little 'town', so don't expect party party. Wonderful. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms, but the lower level seemed like the way to go. Easy access to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lacyeloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Spent 8 nights in condo 303. 3rd floor view over Akumal Norte bay is worth the trip: sunrise, pelicans and terns diving for schools of sardines within 10 yards of shore, hardly any people. Sound of waves almost too loud! Beach smallish strip of sand with rocks at waterline and out. Service was friendly and prompt. Kitchenette has new stove and generous fridge along with coffee maker toaster and blender and table settings for 4. Room and bedroom small with newish rustic furniture. Ceiling fans and mini split ACs in both rooms. Short walk to tiny convenience store and three places to eat in Norte. Pleasant 15 min walk south to Akumal Bay with its wide beach, turtles and hordes of tour snorkelers. Overall very good stay, great value.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malonemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is great - and even comes with daily maid service (i'm talking doing dishes and everything!). Akumal is really nice, but I found it helpful to have a car to get around to other places. Check out Akumal Pueblo on the other side of the highway, where thay have a tortilleria, a better grocery store than in Akumal, and on some days a good fruit stand.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harry_in_Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As a family of 6 this was a super spot for four nights. The staff were all so helpful and any problem encountered was quickly resolved. we loved condo C!! Walking distance to town where you can snorkel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontanaTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was very disappointed with this condo (#2). very poorly maintained. There was ants everywhere and fixtures were falling off the wall. There was a terrible smell when we arrived that did disappear. I don't understand how the glowing reviews of this place. We really like Half Moon Bay but there are much better places to stay. We have stayed in Iguana and Bahia and they were wonderful and cost much less than Vista Del Mar. It is true the view was nice but there are many many condos on this beach which would be worth going to instead of Vista Del Mar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amyAtlantaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and 1yr old stayed in the Vista del Mar a couple of nights December 19-21. First of all, I have to say that the condo was much nicer than the pictures depicted. We had a two bedroom unit on the first floor and it was huge. I felt very at home in this condo and it had everything we could possibly need. The beach was right off the patio and I saw a few people walk by on the beach occasionally, but that was it. It was otherwise very quiet in this location and I felt like we had the beach to ourselves. After staying in Cancun a few nights...this was a very welcome change from the loud, noisy hotels in the hotel zone and it also beats being on a crowded beach with loud music constantly playing. It was extremely relaxing and tranquil. I wish we could have spent the entire week here....we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Des949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#14 of 23 in Akumal
461 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
351 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#21 of 23 in Akumal
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
3.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
2.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Sol Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Sol Beachfront Hotel

Address: Seccion G Lot 41A | Calle Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#9 Family Hotel in Akumal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $74 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel rooms are in a tranquil setting on an out of the way beach. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, free wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Del Sol Beachfront condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. We also have one, two and three bedroom condos available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Del Sol Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing