We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ants and poor maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Ants and poor maintenance”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was very disappointed with this condo (#2). very poorly maintained. There was ants everywhere and fixtures were falling off the wall. There was a terrible smell when we arrived that did disappear. I don't understand how the glowing reviews of this place. We really like Half Moon Bay but there are much better places to stay. We have stayed in Iguana and Bahia and they were wonderful and cost much less than Vista Del Mar. It is true the view was nice but there are many many condos on this beach which would be worth going to instead of Vista Del Mar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyAtlantaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    148
    27
    17
    5
See reviews for
122
222
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and 1yr old stayed in the Vista del Mar a couple of nights December 19-21. First of all, I have to say that the condo was much nicer than the pictures depicted. We had a two bedroom unit on the first floor and it was huge. I felt very at home in this condo and it had everything we could possibly need. The beach was right off the patio and I saw a few people walk by on the beach occasionally, but that was it. It was otherwise very quiet in this location and I felt like we had the beach to ourselves. After staying in Cancun a few nights...this was a very welcome change from the loud, noisy hotels in the hotel zone and it also beats being on a crowded beach with loud music constantly playing. It was extremely relaxing and tranquil. I wish we could have spent the entire week here....we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in room 104 for 3 nights last week. From our patio, we were steps from the water. The snorkeling was great. There is a tiny Mini Super attached to the property if you need snacks or beer. They were very expensive. I'd recommend a stop in Playa Del Carmen before you head south to Akumal for such purchases. There was a nice little already cold refrigerator and a fast coffee pot in the room. We took our own coffee down in the luggage.

Room Tip: If you want to walk out to the beach book a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HughInDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

These condos were awesome, definitely will stay here again! The view rocks, the service was great and the location is perfect. The food at the La Buena Vida is superb too. They have bikes and kayaks to rent and a beautiful beach that they keep very clean!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theneherfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just back from our second stay at the Vista Del Mar condos. I love it here and will definately return. Fantastic location right on a lovely and quiet beach about a mile from the main beach It's becoming a bit busy on the main beach now with lots of groups coming in from other resorts to snorkel with the turtles so it's good to be outside. You can lie in bed and listen to the sound of the waves and wake up to the wonderful sight of the sea filling your large windows. Spacious condo with a large balcony and it is situated about a hundred yards from the famous La Buena Vida bar and restaurant where you can enjoy the atmosphere and good cocktails. The condos are very spacious and have everything you need and a very comfortable bed. This is a laid back place and not for you if you need 5 star all inclusive luxury but the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Akumal is a great resort miles away from Cancun style Mexico. To me it has the atmosphere of a Greek village and remains completely unspoilt with no high rises. The only downside is that everything (except La Buena Vida) closes at 9pm so you have to ensure you go out early for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluehippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights here, but we could have spent more. Rooms are small but comfortable and have everything you need- even a fridge and TV. All the rooms open right out to the beach, which is amazing! It's a quiet area but there are bikes for rent and you can find plenty to eat in town. We went snorkeling right off the beach in front and saw lots of great reef, fish, and (of course) turtles! Great place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mieldelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I have been to Vista del Mar several times and have enjoyed it every time. The condo is well equipped, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. The beach on Half Moon Bay is a great place to snorkel, and La Buena Vida, the on-premise restaurant/bar, is right on the beach with great views and excellent food and service. Convenience stores and other restaurants are within walking distance, or you can rent a bike from Vista del Mar very inexpensively. We've been to Cancun, and Akumal is much more peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmreines57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
432 reviews
1.6 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#21 of 23 in Akumal
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
1.1 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
3.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Del Sol Beachfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Del Sol Beachfront Hotel

Property: Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Address: Lot 41A Seccion G | Calle Half Moon Bay, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Akumal
#11 Family Hotel in Akumal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Del Sol Beachfront hotel rooms are in a tranquil setting on a beautiful beach. Each room includes daily maid service, air conditioning, free wireless internet, purified drinking water, TV, coffee maker, an in-room safe, and free parking. All Del Sol Beachfront condominiums and hotel rooms are on the absolute beachfront with uninterrupted views of the ocean. We also have one, two and three bedroom condos available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Del Sol Beachfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista Del Mar Akumal
Vista Del Mar Hotel Akumal
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing