We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great snorkeling! I return here again and again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Akumal Caribe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling! I return here again and again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Akumal Caribe is my staple stay in Akumal. A few years ago my now husband and I found it by chance after we had been frightened way from Playa del Carmen . Which was once was a quiet fishing town and now is , well let's say not !

We stumbled on to Lol-Ha the restaurant next to Akumal Caribe while searching for excursions while staying in a near by resort. We heard that Akumal in Mayan meant the place if the turtles and so it is . We have returned year after year since , we even got married at the Cannon house.

It is quiet and friendly beach community. Full off international transplants whom now call this place home. It has gotten a bit more touristy over the years , but still a nice community to stay in .
We recently stayed in Condo #1 on the neighboring bay. It is quiet with only the hum of the waves . We split out trip between the main hotel and the condo due to some construction going on on Akumal's main bay . Staying at the condo still gives you access to all hotel amenities on the main beach ; pool , beach chairs etc... I would recommend renting a golf cart to get back and forth between the two bays.

You can rent golf carts in the lobby of the main hotel from Marcello . However if you want to insure reservation of one you must do so before arrival : www. Akumalguide.com . They also provide airport transfers .

If you are looking for great fun in a quiet small town this is place to go!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best because they have two balconies , but all rooms have a great view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank skyeink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am delighted that you enjoy coming to our property! We always appreciate comments and hope you return soon! Turtle season makes coming in the summer even more a pleasure.


Regards

Laura B Wolfe
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    148
    44
    9
    4
See reviews for
133
168
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. As before our room was spacious and clean. It was very close to the beach. The food served in the restaurant was lovely and the breakfast menu is superb. The staff are friendly and helpful. The main draw of this hotel is the location. It is right on Akumal beach, which is so beautiful and kept very clean and tidy. And the turtles!!! We snorkelled at least twice each day and saw many turtles every time. We thought that the hotel offered good value for money. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our bungalow room was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

yep....I am hooked on HAC.....love the place, the service, the staff are over the top...now HAC may not be for everyone.....and that is good....I want to keep it for myself....

You can get away from the flash and crowds you find at the all inclusives....HAC is quiet....awesome beach.....great places to eat and meeting the folks down south has always been a treat....

Room Tip: Either in the hotel or the bungalows, you can't go wrong....if you are looking for fancy....you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shapeshifter47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
The minute I saw the heading of your review I smiled! Home Away from Home! That's the feeling we want to give our guests and I am over the top delighted that you felt this way during your stay! It's not about the glitz or the glamour here. It's about getting the experience of a beach vacation that instills relaxation and appreciation of nature, while getting great service and attention to make you feel at home! I am glad we made the mark!

Thank you so much for your great comments

Sincerely
Laura B Wolfe
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was a long time of dreaming and looking at the pictures of this property before it finally happened last December. It was everything and more what was expected. This is one place you will never want to leave. It is owned by the Hotel Akumal Caribe just down the road. The place is immaculate well taken care of by Gloria the maid (also theowners maid who live in the home next door) The kitchen is well stocked with everything to prepare any type of meal. There's a bar for happy hour preperations and a wonderful veranda. The master Suite has closets fit for a Queen (or king) a make up area and bathroom. The smaller bedroom has 2 twin beds and a bathroom. It's in a great location with a killer view unfortunatly you cant swim directly in front of the house but it's a short jaunt to the sandy beach area. We rented bikes and we also had a rental car for exploring. There's quite a few eating options within walking distance. Pancho's, Turtle bay Bakery and Lol Ha on the hotel grounds. The weather changes constantly throughout the day it was awesome to have such a wonderful view to watch the changes. There's plenty of things to do close by or just do nothing it is very serene.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pattislater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

All is perfect, the beach, the snorkeling right there with the turtles and in the coral reef, the grounds, the restaurants, the impeccable service everywhere including the two restaurants, etc.

Our bungalow was not very private, so we had to close the curtains all the time. Also, it lacked lighting close to the sofa to read at night. Otherwise, we found it very comfortable and impeccably clean, in a simple furniture ambience, which for us was fine.

The construction noise next door issue: yes, if you are sensitive, it is irritating at times. We stayed April 3 to 15 and on certain days it was worse and did "get to us", but all in all, we were still very happy with our stay. How come? It's still a great place to be if you like snorkeling.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auplaisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

We've stayed here several times over the years--we tried the inclusive at other resorts in Akumal, but prefer the smaller, low-key atmosphere here. It has everything you could want including the beautiful beach right in front of your bungalow. It's easy to just relax and enjoy the wonderful views and snorkel, but also easy to rent a car for a few days and discover the cenotes and other attractions down toward Tulum. Restaurants nearby including Lol-Ha onsite and a grocery down the road. What more could you want?

Room Tip: We prefer the cozy bungalows to the hotel-type building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingbeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hotel Akumal Caribe is a wonderful choice for the traveler who doesn't need the plush luxury of an all inclusive resort. My husband and I have stayed there several times and always have a relaxing time. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, the service friendly, and the restaurants very good. But the big attraction is being on Akumal Bay, with the ocean and numerous sea turtles just steps away. Days can easily be spent snorkeling in the usually quiet bay or resting on comfortable lounges under shady palapas. The reef is just minutes of kicking away; it is convenient to be able to see the reef fish without having to book a tour. Yalku Lagoon is also available at just a kilometer away. On a not too hot day this is easily walked, or one can take a taxi. Many cenotes and ruins are easily accessible from Akumal with a rental car. I would agree with some reviewers that beds are a little hard; we got foam pads and were comfortable, but if a soft bed is important, another resort might be preferred. Also, the construction noise is irksome at times. But all in all, a great place to stay for a certain kind of traveler.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karenduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#13 of 22 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.8 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
1.0 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#19 of 22 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akumal Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akumal Caribe

Property: Hotel Akumal Caribe
Address: Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akumal Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beach in front of Hotel Akumal Caribe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Akumal Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Akumal
Akumal Caribe Hotel
Hotel Akumal Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing