We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel. As before our room was spacious and clean. It was very close to the beach. The food served in the restaurant was lovely and the breakfast menu is superb. The staff are friendly and helpful. The main draw of this hotel is the location. It is right on Akumal beach, which is so beautiful and kept very clean and tidy. And the turtles!!! We snorkelled at least twice each day and saw many turtles every time. We thought that the hotel offered good value for money. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our bungalow room was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cathy187046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    161
    47
    9
    4
See reviews for
146
181
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair, Missouri
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

yep....I am hooked on HAC.....love the place, the service, the staff are over the top...now HAC may not be for everyone.....and that is good....I want to keep it for myself....

You can get away from the flash and crowds you find at the all inclusives....HAC is quiet....awesome beach.....great places to eat and meeting the folks down south has always been a treat....

Room Tip: Either in the hotel or the bungalows, you can't go wrong....if you are looking for fancy....you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shapeshifter47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
The minute I saw the heading of your review I smiled! Home Away from Home! That's the feeling we want to give our guests and I am over the top delighted that you felt this way during your stay! It's not about the glitz or the glamour here. It's about getting the experience of a beach vacation that instills relaxation and appreciation of nature, while getting great service and attention to make you feel at home! I am glad we made the mark!

Thank you so much for your great comments

Sincerely
Laura B Wolfe
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was a long time of dreaming and looking at the pictures of this property before it finally happened last December. It was everything and more what was expected. This is one place you will never want to leave. It is owned by the Hotel Akumal Caribe just down the road. The place is immaculate well taken care of by Gloria the maid (also theowners maid who live in the home next door) The kitchen is well stocked with everything to prepare any type of meal. There's a bar for happy hour preperations and a wonderful veranda. The master Suite has closets fit for a Queen (or king) a make up area and bathroom. The smaller bedroom has 2 twin beds and a bathroom. It's in a great location with a killer view unfortunatly you cant swim directly in front of the house but it's a short jaunt to the sandy beach area. We rented bikes and we also had a rental car for exploring. There's quite a few eating options within walking distance. Pancho's, Turtle bay Bakery and Lol Ha on the hotel grounds. The weather changes constantly throughout the day it was awesome to have such a wonderful view to watch the changes. There's plenty of things to do close by or just do nothing it is very serene.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pattislater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

All is perfect, the beach, the snorkeling right there with the turtles and in the coral reef, the grounds, the restaurants, the impeccable service everywhere including the two restaurants, etc.

Our bungalow was not very private, so we had to close the curtains all the time. Also, it lacked lighting close to the sofa to read at night. Otherwise, we found it very comfortable and impeccably clean, in a simple furniture ambience, which for us was fine.

The construction noise next door issue: yes, if you are sensitive, it is irritating at times. We stayed April 3 to 15 and on certain days it was worse and did "get to us", but all in all, we were still very happy with our stay. How come? It's still a great place to be if you like snorkeling.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auplaisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines, iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We've stayed here several times over the years--we tried the inclusive at other resorts in Akumal, but prefer the smaller, low-key atmosphere here. It has everything you could want including the beautiful beach right in front of your bungalow. It's easy to just relax and enjoy the wonderful views and snorkel, but also easy to rent a car for a few days and discover the cenotes and other attractions down toward Tulum. Restaurants nearby including Lol-Ha onsite and a grocery down the road. What more could you want?

Room Tip: We prefer the cozy bungalows to the hotel-type building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingbeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hotel Akumal Caribe is a wonderful choice for the traveler who doesn't need the plush luxury of an all inclusive resort. My husband and I have stayed there several times and always have a relaxing time. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, the service friendly, and the restaurants very good. But the big attraction is being on Akumal Bay, with the ocean and numerous sea turtles just steps away. Days can easily be spent snorkeling in the usually quiet bay or resting on comfortable lounges under shady palapas. The reef is just minutes of kicking away; it is convenient to be able to see the reef fish without having to book a tour. Yalku Lagoon is also available at just a kilometer away. On a not too hot day this is easily walked, or one can take a taxi. Many cenotes and ruins are easily accessible from Akumal with a rental car. I would agree with some reviewers that beds are a little hard; we got foam pads and were comfortable, but if a soft bed is important, another resort might be preferred. Also, the construction noise is irksome at times. But all in all, a great place to stay for a certain kind of traveler.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank karenduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlinville, Illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The bungalow/hotel rooms here are fine for a comfortable stay in Akumal. The draw is really the beach and swimming with the turtles, so you won't mind that the room has no TV. The AC works well and keeps the room cool. The bathroom is nice, clean and beds were comfortable. We appreciated the coffee maker in the room and the safe for passports and valuables. The breakfast which was included was at Lol Ha and was plenty of fruit and pan dulce or toast along with coffee and juice each morning. Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bglenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.8 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.4 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
2.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akumal Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akumal Caribe

Property: Hotel Akumal Caribe
Address: Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akumal Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beach in front of Hotel Akumal Caribe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Akumal Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Akumal
Akumal Caribe Hotel
Hotel Akumal Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing