We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$105
View deal
Priceline$112
eDreams$105
Traveluro$111
Destinia.com$127
ZenHotels.com$136
Agoda.com$112
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
285
179
62
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
285
179
62
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop continental breakfast lol ha hotel guests hotel room coffee maker lounge chairs on half moon bay snorkel tour swim with turtles beach towels king bed coral reef ocean front lolha balconies loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 542 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2014

yep....I am hooked on HAC.....love the place, the service, the staff are over the top...now HAC may not be for everyone.....and that is good....I want to keep it for myself....

You can get away from the flash and crowds you find at the all inclusives....HAC is quiet....awesome beach.....great places to eat and meeting the folks down south has always been a treat....

Room tip: Either in the hotel or the bungalows, you can't go wrong....if you are looking for fancy....you are out of luck....if you are looking for comfort...a time to relax....great places to eat and friendly folks then HAC is for you....
Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shapeshifter47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akumal2u, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

The minute I saw the heading of your review I smiled! Home Away from Home! That's the feeling we want to give our guests and I am over the top delighted that you felt this way during your stay! It's not about the glitz or the glamour here. It's about getting the experience of a beach vacation that instills relaxation and appreciation of nature, while getting great service and attention to make you feel at home! I am glad we made the mark!

Thank you so much for your great comments

Sincerely
Laura B Wolfe
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was a long time of dreaming and looking at the pictures of this property before it finally happened last December. It was everything and more what was expected. This is one place you will never want to leave. It is owned by the Hotel Akumal Caribe just down the road. The place is immaculate well taken care of by Gloria the maid (also theowners maid who live in the home next door) The kitchen is well stocked with everything to prepare any type of meal. There's a bar for happy hour preperations and a wonderful veranda. The master Suite has closets fit for a Queen (or king) a make up area and bathroom. The smaller bedroom has 2 twin beds and a bathroom. It's in a great location with a killer view unfortunatly you cant swim directly in front of the house but it's a short jaunt to the sandy beach area. We rented bikes and we also had a rental car for exploring. There's quite a few eating options within walking distance. Pancho's, Turtle bay Bakery and Lol Ha on the hotel grounds. The weather changes constantly throughout the day it was awesome to have such a wonderful view to watch the changes. There's plenty of things to do close by or just do nothing it is very serene.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pattislater
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

All is perfect, the beach, the snorkeling right there with the turtles and in the coral reef, the grounds, the restaurants, the impeccable service everywhere including the two restaurants, etc.

Our bungalow was not very private, so we had to close the curtains all the time. Also, it lacked lighting close to the sofa to read at night. Otherwise, we found it very comfortable and impeccably clean, in a simple furniture ambience, which for us was fine.

The construction noise next door issue: yes, if you are sensitive, it is irritating at times. We stayed April 3 to 15 and on certain days it was worse and did "get to us", but all in all, we were still very happy with our stay. How come? It's still a great place to be if you like snorkeling.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Auplaisir
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We've stayed here several times over the years--we tried the inclusive at other resorts in Akumal, but prefer the smaller, low-key atmosphere here. It has everything you could want including the beautiful beach right in front of your bungalow. It's easy to just relax and enjoy the wonderful views and snorkel, but also easy to rent a car for a few days and discover the cenotes and other attractions down toward Tulum. Restaurants nearby including Lol-Ha onsite and a grocery down the road. What more could you want?

Room tip: We prefer the cozy bungalows to the hotel-type building!
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelingbeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Hotel Akumal Caribe is a wonderful choice for the traveler who doesn't need the plush luxury of an all inclusive resort. My husband and I have stayed there several times and always have a relaxing time. The rooms are spotless and comfortable, the service friendly, and the restaurants very good. But the big attraction is being on Akumal Bay, with the ocean and numerous sea turtles just steps away. Days can easily be spent snorkeling in the usually quiet bay or resting on comfortable lounges under shady palapas. The reef is just minutes of kicking away; it is convenient to be able to see the reef fish without having to book a tour. Yalku Lagoon is also available at just a kilometer away. On a not too hot day this is easily walked, or one can take a taxi. Many cenotes and ruins are easily accessible from Akumal with a rental car. I would agree with some reviewers that beds are a little hard; we got foam pads and were comfortable, but if a soft bed is important, another resort might be preferred. Also, the construction noise is irksome at times. But all in all, a great place to stay for a certain kind of traveler.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank karenduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews