We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turtles know best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Right on the splendid beach at Akumal, the Hotel Caribe could not be closer to the ocean. Rooms are spacious and airy (a bit too airy in our case, as a faulty screen door was an open invitation the first night to bugs that we subsequently managed to exclude). In mid-September, the hotel was virtually empty - and so was the beach, which was good news - and services were reduced but the excellent Lol Ha restaurant attached to the hotel was open and the chef in fine form. Akumal is a small resort compared with the nearby monster at Playa del Carmen but much the better as a result; turtles swim in the clear water of the bay by day and waddle ashore onto the fine clean sand at night with no disco music to frighten them away. Altogether a very recommendable option for anyone wanting to avoid the frenzy further up the coast.

Room Tip: The corner rooms with two windows are worth the slightly higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wanderlustLucerne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 449 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

I have traveled all over world. I have so many experiences but Akumal is my favorite by far. The accommodations were amazing. Our condo was a one bedroom (upstairs) and the kitchen/living area downstairs. I cannot put into words the view....the beauty. We went out at night looking for turtles looking for their eggs.....I still cannot believe what we witnessed, over 250 eggs laid by a huge momma turtle, the security moved her flipper so we could watch, words cannot describe this experience. Villa Maher (sp?) was absolutely gorgeous..we will be back SOON, I cannot wait..I have no desire to go to any other destination. Why would I? I pass out their pamphlets to friends..this is a recommendation that I have no hesitation in making..Oh my goodness, get me back to paradise quickly!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
5  Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is NOT an all-inclusive nor is it a huge resort like you will find in Cancun or Playa del Carmen! There are no spring break crowds or parties going round the clock, and the beach bar closes before midnight.

On the other hand, it IS a quaint, comfortable, friendly, reasonably priced beach resort that is small enough that the staff will remember you every time you show up in a restaurant or shop. The location on Akumal Bay is truly beautiful, the water is crystal clear and the snorkeling and scuba are fantastic.

We stayed in a bungalow, which was comfortable, if not elegant. It had a firm bed, a small fridge, plenty of closet space and a good air conditioner. Our bungalow was on a small courtyard and the Lol Ha Snack Bar (actually more of a tiki bar) was across from our front door.

Both the Lol Ha Restaurant and Lol Ha Snack Bar had very good food and friendly staff, happy to help you learn Spanish, if you are so inclined. Any kind of tour can be arranged through the front office. The gift shop is also nice with a good selection by local artisans. Finally, the dive shop also did a good job of setting up our snorkeling and was completely set up for scuba, as would be expected.

I recommend signing up for one of the hotel's meal plans, which can make this resort almost an all-inclusive. For 90% of its total value, you can pre-purchase credit useable at the restaurant and snack bar. If you don't buy enough, you can purchase more credit at the front desk during your stay.

There are several other good restaurants (and shops) nearby that are not associated with the hotel, so you don't have to have every meal at the hotel.

While we do not generally return to places previously visited, since there are so many places to see, we will almost certainly go back to Hotel Akumal Caribe. It is the most relaxing vacation we've had in years!

Room Tip: The bungalows are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DocClabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our simple, clean, and comfortable bungalow with air conditioning. It was nicely appointed, including a mini-fridge, otherwise nothing spectacular about the room. We were within a one to five minute walk from the beautiful Akumal beach, restaurants, shops, and snorkeling.

Cost of the room seemed a bit overpriced, though I'm sure we were paying for being so close to the beach, which was very convenient. We did deal with some tiny ants indoors, but it wasn't a problem for us. Shower water pressure was low, but adequate. Bed was a bit stiff, but the foam mattress cover made it comfortable enough for us. My wife didn't care for the mildew-like odor in room--didn't bother me, though.

We would go back, but instead request a bungalow which fronted upon one of the garden quads. Snorkeling in Akumal Bay was terrific!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have stayed at hotel seven times since the early 90s. It is always very relaxing and you marvel that there are still locations like this along the "Mexican Rivera". The hotel is small -- 30 or 40 rooms. The hotel rooms are 50 yards or so from the beach. You can spend your entire vacation in sandals and feel comfortable. And, there is plenty to see as you snorkel in the bay. The hotel is located about an hour south of the Cancun airport, about 20 minutes north of Tulum and about 40 minutes north and east of Coba, another archaeological site in the area. We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurants and beach bar, which were both good, but not gourmet. There are some alternative places to eat, which are relatively close by -- some within walking distance.

The real charm of the place occurs in the early morning, late afternoon, and evening. As a hotel guest on one of the nicest natural beaches in Mexico, you almost have the place to yourself. There will be 5 or 6 tables of people at the restaurant, the beach is deserted, and it is very quiet. We hope to go back to the hotel next year. We always get a rental car. The road from the Cancun Airport to Akumal is a 4-lane divided highway with a few stop lights. If you dive or snorkel, the cenotes are very interesting and can be refreshing especially on a warm day.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor if you want immediate access to the beach and easy access to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We brought a group of more than 40 people here for our wedding week and it was perfect! We worked with both the reservations team and the owner to plan the details of our group's accommodation and a Welcome Dinner for 43 people, as well as explore options for our wedding. They were all so easy to work with- timely, helpful, transparent and very reasonable.

Throughout our stay, the staff were exceptional. Between the hotel staff and the restaurant staff, our group was in such trustworthy, capable hands. When you take such a large group abroad, it is important to feel safe, welcome and cared for. The concierge, George, was so on top of things. He and the other desk staff organized our welcome bags and had them waiting in the guests rooms when they checked in, and let guests know we had cold beers ready for them in their fridges. George and the Assistant manager of Lolha, Sam, also helped with music when our guests organized a surprise flash mob for us.

The hotel itself is just a gem in the Mayan Riviera. We had only been to Akumal once before for lunch. When we arrived, I was so happy it was even more beautiful than I remembered. The hotel setting has a very natural, secluded, tropical paradise feel. Our bungalow was very clean, charming and spacious for the price. Our other group member's bungalows and hotel rooms were equally as nice. Those staying in the hotel, especially in the ground floor rooms, loved being able to just walk right off their back patios, out to the pool or the beach.

Many in our group were the energetic, party type. When I first realized the town closes down at 9pm, I panicked a bit. It really turned out not to be a big deal though. We took shuttles into Playa del Carmen one night, we had our welcome dinner another night and then there was the wedding night. Other nights people walked to La Buena Vida, which is open until 11. The hotel was also really relaxed about our group making its own parties, done respectfully. (At least we never heard any complaints) It was also nice that the there is a store, rooms have fridges and it is totally okay to have your own drinks and snacks on the beach. You are not forced to get everything from the bar, which can add up.

It was really just so comfortable, beautiful and relaxing, just perfect for this bride and groom.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were heading to Akumal for a wedding of two very dear friends. We traveled quite long and far to get to Akumal and I did not know what to expect. I am a big, all inclusive resort kind of girl, so initially I was a little disappointed. I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised by the secluded nature of the beach, quality of the service and food. We stayed in the hotel, on the 2nd floor with a room overlooking the pool. We spent most days under some palm trees in the shade (man it is hot) and sipping drinks at Lol Ha. Our trip was too short to take advantage of the kitchenettes in the room - but there is a full service supermarket on site if you choose to cook some meals in your room. All of the food at the restaurants was very reasonably priced. We ate dinner at the Cave - just walking distance from the hotel and La Buena Vida, a cute outdoor spot, directly on the sand/beach, with treehouses you can climb up into to watch the sun or the stars. All in all, we had an amazing trip - I would definitely recommend it if your looking for something more off the beaten path, away from the touristy bustle of Cancun/Tulum.

Room Tip: Definitely aim for a room on a lower floor - several have balconies with stairs that lead directly t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 22 in Akumal
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.8 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
1.6 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 22 in Akumal
2,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akumal Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akumal Caribe

Address: Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#13 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $159 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akumal Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Akumal Caribe is a peaceful family-friendly resort located on the main bay in Akumal, Mexico. It is steeped with history and provides personal service, relaxation, delicious food, great views and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Akumal Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Akumal
Akumal Caribe Hotel
Hotel Akumal Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing