We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic, if you don't need all-inclusive!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Akumal Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic, if you don't need all-inclusive!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is NOT an all-inclusive nor is it a huge resort like you will find in Cancun or Playa del Carmen! There are no spring break crowds or parties going round the clock, and the beach bar closes before midnight.

On the other hand, it IS a quaint, comfortable, friendly, reasonably priced beach resort that is small enough that the staff will remember you every time you show up in a restaurant or shop. The location on Akumal Bay is truly beautiful, the water is crystal clear and the snorkeling and scuba are fantastic.

We stayed in a bungalow, which was comfortable, if not elegant. It had a firm bed, a small fridge, plenty of closet space and a good air conditioner. Our bungalow was on a small courtyard and the Lol Ha Snack Bar (actually more of a tiki bar) was across from our front door.

Both the Lol Ha Restaurant and Lol Ha Snack Bar had very good food and friendly staff, happy to help you learn Spanish, if you are so inclined. Any kind of tour can be arranged through the front office. The gift shop is also nice with a good selection by local artisans. Finally, the dive shop also did a good job of setting up our snorkeling and was completely set up for scuba, as would be expected.

I recommend signing up for one of the hotel's meal plans, which can make this resort almost an all-inclusive. For 90% of its total value, you can pre-purchase credit useable at the restaurant and snack bar. If you don't buy enough, you can purchase more credit at the front desk during your stay.

There are several other good restaurants (and shops) nearby that are not associated with the hotel, so you don't have to have every meal at the hotel.

While we do not generally return to places previously visited, since there are so many places to see, we will almost certainly go back to Hotel Akumal Caribe. It is the most relaxing vacation we've had in years!

Room Tip: The bungalows are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DocClabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    157
    46
    9
    4
See reviews for
140
177
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our simple, clean, and comfortable bungalow with air conditioning. It was nicely appointed, including a mini-fridge, otherwise nothing spectacular about the room. We were within a one to five minute walk from the beautiful Akumal beach, restaurants, shops, and snorkeling.

Cost of the room seemed a bit overpriced, though I'm sure we were paying for being so close to the beach, which was very convenient. We did deal with some tiny ants indoors, but it wasn't a problem for us. Shower water pressure was low, but adequate. Bed was a bit stiff, but the foam mattress cover made it comfortable enough for us. My wife didn't care for the mildew-like odor in room--didn't bother me, though.

We would go back, but instead request a bungalow which fronted upon one of the garden quads. Snorkeling in Akumal Bay was terrific!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have stayed at hotel seven times since the early 90s. It is always very relaxing and you marvel that there are still locations like this along the "Mexican Rivera". The hotel is small -- 30 or 40 rooms. The hotel rooms are 50 yards or so from the beach. You can spend your entire vacation in sandals and feel comfortable. And, there is plenty to see as you snorkel in the bay. The hotel is located about an hour south of the Cancun airport, about 20 minutes north of Tulum and about 40 minutes north and east of Coba, another archaeological site in the area. We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurants and beach bar, which were both good, but not gourmet. There are some alternative places to eat, which are relatively close by -- some within walking distance.

The real charm of the place occurs in the early morning, late afternoon, and evening. As a hotel guest on one of the nicest natural beaches in Mexico, you almost have the place to yourself. There will be 5 or 6 tables of people at the restaurant, the beach is deserted, and it is very quiet. We hope to go back to the hotel next year. We always get a rental car. The road from the Cancun Airport to Akumal is a 4-lane divided highway with a few stop lights. If you dive or snorkel, the cenotes are very interesting and can be refreshing especially on a warm day.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor if you want immediate access to the beach and easy access to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank renonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We brought a group of more than 40 people here for our wedding week and it was perfect! We worked with both the reservations team and the owner to plan the details of our group's accommodation and a Welcome Dinner for 43 people, as well as explore options for our wedding. They were all so easy to work with- timely, helpful, transparent and very reasonable.

Throughout our stay, the staff were exceptional. Between the hotel staff and the restaurant staff, our group was in such trustworthy, capable hands. When you take such a large group abroad, it is important to feel safe, welcome and cared for. The concierge, George, was so on top of things. He and the other desk staff organized our welcome bags and had them waiting in the guests rooms when they checked in, and let guests know we had cold beers ready for them in their fridges. George and the Assistant manager of Lolha, Sam, also helped with music when our guests organized a surprise flash mob for us.

The hotel itself is just a gem in the Mayan Riviera. We had only been to Akumal once before for lunch. When we arrived, I was so happy it was even more beautiful than I remembered. The hotel setting has a very natural, secluded, tropical paradise feel. Our bungalow was very clean, charming and spacious for the price. Our other group member's bungalows and hotel rooms were equally as nice. Those staying in the hotel, especially in the ground floor rooms, loved being able to just walk right off their back patios, out to the pool or the beach.

Many in our group were the energetic, party type. When I first realized the town closes down at 9pm, I panicked a bit. It really turned out not to be a big deal though. We took shuttles into Playa del Carmen one night, we had our welcome dinner another night and then there was the wedding night. Other nights people walked to La Buena Vida, which is open until 11. The hotel was also really relaxed about our group making its own parties, done respectfully. (At least we never heard any complaints) It was also nice that the there is a store, rooms have fridges and it is totally okay to have your own drinks and snacks on the beach. You are not forced to get everything from the bar, which can add up.

It was really just so comfortable, beautiful and relaxing, just perfect for this bride and groom.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank themalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We were heading to Akumal for a wedding of two very dear friends. We traveled quite long and far to get to Akumal and I did not know what to expect. I am a big, all inclusive resort kind of girl, so initially I was a little disappointed. I couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised by the secluded nature of the beach, quality of the service and food. We stayed in the hotel, on the 2nd floor with a room overlooking the pool. We spent most days under some palm trees in the shade (man it is hot) and sipping drinks at Lol Ha. Our trip was too short to take advantage of the kitchenettes in the room - but there is a full service supermarket on site if you choose to cook some meals in your room. All of the food at the restaurants was very reasonably priced. We ate dinner at the Cave - just walking distance from the hotel and La Buena Vida, a cute outdoor spot, directly on the sand/beach, with treehouses you can climb up into to watch the sun or the stars. All in all, we had an amazing trip - I would definitely recommend it if your looking for something more off the beaten path, away from the touristy bustle of Cancun/Tulum.

Room Tip: Definitely aim for a room on a lower floor - several have balconies with stairs that lead directly t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanish Fork, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

While we enjoyed the bungalows the first time we stayed there, they weren't fancy and were reasonably priced. They are still not fancy and still near the beach, but their price is now gone up by 50%. They used to include a nice breakfast, but even though the price has skyrocketed, they've gotten cheap and put in a mediocre Continental Breakfast. I won't stay there again myself or with out groups.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Akumal Caribe, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
I have been wondering how I can best explain why we have raised our prices. It's a complicated matter for us as hoteliers since the 70's. The last few years have been very tough for everyone and we discounted our rates by 20% , added free American Breakfast, and Free Wi Fi. This was great for those that did take advantage and booked a trip, but our occupancy remained down by more than 30%. For the last two years, we tried to make it work with these lower prices but we were forced to raise them again and at least not take away the Free Wi Fi and at least provide the Continental Breakfast. If we don't make enough money, we can't renovate, and if we can't get more people down even with lower prices, we still can't renovate! We are working on a new plan to upgrade the property though, and I hope that with these changes, you will come back to visit us!
Best wishes
Laura B Wolfe
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

The Villas Maya Bungalows are a part of the Hotel Akumal Caribe and are perfect for a relaxed vacation. They are set back from the beach in quadrangles. They are clean and comfortable with air conditioners and ceiling fans and ample light for reading at night. There are bungalows with kitchenettes, but most units have only a small refrigerator and a coffee pot. There is a large water bottle setting on top of the fridge, so there is ample water for drinking, tooth brushing, etc. The check-in is handled through the Hotel, and the staff is friendly and efficient. They provide beach towels at check-in, which can be exchanged every other day, if needed. The room charge included a continental breakfast (juice, fruit plate, toast or muffin, coffee or tea) at the Lol Ha Restaurant. This was the second time we've stayed at the Villas Maya Bungalows, and we would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DixieLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.9 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
2.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akumal Bay Beach & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akumal Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akumal Caribe

Property: Hotel Akumal Caribe
Address: Hwy 307, Km 104, Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Akumal 77500, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akumal Caribe 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beach in front of Hotel Akumal Caribe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Akumal Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hotel Akumal
Akumal Caribe Hotel
Hotel Akumal Caribe Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing