We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Bahia Principe WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We went to Grand Bahia Principe Akumal and this is the second time that we have stayed at one of their resorts. The first one was in La Romana and was great so we had no problem going to Akumal. Again Grand Bahia Principe lived up to my expatiations as one of the best resorts to go to the staff at both make you feel like you belong . They go out of their way to make your stay great. The resort is beautiful and well kept ,rooms are clean, pools are great and the food excellent . The al a cart restaurant's were great, make sure to book early as they fill up fast. When your there make sure you find Carlos at the swim up bar one of the nicest guys you want to meet, never stops smiling as with all the staff.
I would also like to mention the Tulum excursion we went on to go snorkeling in the underground river system (amazing) ,zip lining, repelling , jeep ride and then to the Ruins at Tulum

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Barry:

Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent visit to the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal.

It is a pleasure to know that you are satisfied with all the services and the attention from our staff, and the quality of our facilities. Our work team is committed to provide wonderful experiences to our guests. Be sure we will share with all of them your kind words but overall with Carlos, who will be so happy to receive them.

Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival and we will do our very best to accommodate your requests.

Our best regards from the Mexican Caribbean!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,734 - 3,740 of 9,859 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

We just wanted a quick getaway. We stayed four nights and it was beautiful. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The food was great and our room was beautiful as well. We had a fantastic room close to the beach and the lobby. I would strongly recommend staying at this resort.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kokosworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest:

Thanks a lot for your amazing comment regarding your recent stay Gran Bahia Principe Akumal.

We are honored to know that you appreciated the efforts of our staff and the great services of our hotel and it will be a pleasure to share your kind comments with all the departments.

Please, do not forget to contact us again before your next arrival, you will have better experience that this last time.

Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!


Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I will start with a bit of the negative because there were only two things that were less than acceptable. First was the Privilege Club "special selection" gimmick that we knew better than to go to but did anyway to see what the service and facilities were like. We were assured that it was not a time share, but in the end, the one and a half hour presentation that dragged on to almost four hours, was just a different name for the same time share or prepaying of your holidays for the next thirty years.
Second downer was an accident that caused my wife a broken kneecap. During a pounding rain, she slipped on the smooth slate that had a few inches of water on it.
Overall, the resort was great but we were cheated out of half a day by the sales pitch and two days by the accident. We were led to believe that the hotel might encourage a return visit by offering us a discount or perhaps a coupon ,but never heard anything more.
Overall, a great place to stay with great food and service.
NOTE: This review was mistakenly entered under Coba but should be Akumal.

Room Tip: Close to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GKG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member:

Thank you for giving us the honor to host you in Grand Bahia Principe Resorts!

First of all it is good to know that you had a very safe travel returning home and thank for taking the time to write about your recent visit to our hotel.

We offer sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have endured during your vacation with the Privilege Club team, this approach is meant to inform guests of the membership offered through the Privilege Club at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts. I can assure you your comments have been shared with the responsible department and will be taken into consideration in order to improve the strategy, services and human resources.

The safety of our guests is a priority for our work team, that is why proper measures are taken immediately to guarantee this, as in the case of your wife's situation, we hope she is having a good recovery. Your comments will be forwarded to our General Managers in order to let them know your perceptions.

We are looking forward to welcome you in the future, to give us the honor to serve you once again in our hotel.

Our best regards!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week at Bahia Principe Akumal and wish we could have stayed longer. Like most travelers, we wanted our time away to be the best it could be. There were no disappointments with Akumal and it actually exceeded our expectations in many respects. Everything is so well maintained and absolutely as clean as can be. After doing a lot of research, we settled on Akumal because of its size. Being able to make use of the offerings at all three complexes (Akumal, Tulum and Coba) was a real plus and kept us from feeling that we were stuck in a rut. Even though it is a huge resort, the personal attention we received from many of the staff members was a pleasant surprise. There is so much I could comment about, but I will stick to the questions that I had prior to the trip in hopes that the information will be of value to other travelers.

Dining - how can anyone complain about the variety? Choices include Mexican, Italian, sushi, sandwiches, cheeses, salads, lots of fresh fruit, wonderful baked goods and so much more. They have a great variety of juices and yes, they are the real thing. (One of the comments I read said they were sugary fruit drinks. Not true.) A snack bar with casual outside dining and a great variety of fast food is offered for those who don't want to change from their swimsuits.

Beach - It's enormous and stretches the full length of the property! Yes, there are parts with a rocky shelf and coral that has been tossed up by the waves, but the main beaches are sandy. Although we took our water shoes along, we didn't use them.

Snorkeling - It's true that you can snorkel along the beach and see a variety of fish. One day I saw at least 10 different type of fish. At times, a school of fish would swim by and I felt I was in an aquarium.

Beach chairs - Of course, they are popular. However, with literally hundreds to choose from I can't believe that it's impossible to find some to use for the day.

Trolleys/trams - Because the property is so large, the transportation system is wonderful and is used by just about everyone. I saw many young couples take their baby stroller on board. They run about every 5 - 10 minutes and the drivers let riders know what direction they are headed.

Rooms - Ours was in a perfect location (4800) near the pool, buffet dining room, and the beach. It provided everything we needed including lots of fresh towels; bath gel, soap, shampoo and other amenities; hair dryer; iron and ironing board; a large umbrella for rain; a comfortable king size bed with silky, soft sheets; a safe; bathrobes and slippers; TV with many channels; small table and two chairs; and a porch that provided a view of the ocean. Although we had air conditioning, the only time it was used was when the maids came to work. Personally, we dislike air conditioning and went to Mexico to soak up some heat. By leaving the sliding door to the porch open at night (there was a screen), the overhead fan and wonderful ocean breezes made for great sleeping. The small refrigerator in the room was kept stocked with various types of soda, beer, a bag of chips and a candy bar.

Casino - Coba offers a newly opened, small casino with a variety of slots and some gaming tables. We rarely go gambling and when we do, I never win. However, our first night there I put $20 in the slot machine and won $150! My husband was just as lucky and came away with $200!

Golf - The 9 and 18 hole courses are located across the highway (you get there by tram) in the Sian Ka'an area. Our gambling winnings paid for us to enjoy 9 holes, par 3. Water hazards and sand traps made it a challenging course for us. Golfing is from 6 a.m. - 2 p.m. Our total cost was $180 which included a cart , two sets of rental clubs ($50) and 10 balls ($10.) The carts included GPS and a cooler with bottles of water.

Activities - The nightly shows, while not professional, are an enjoyable way to wind down after a day in the sun. We enjoyed the acrobatic show the most. One night they brought gaming tables to Akumal and we got $3,000 in play money. It was a chance for us to learn Texas Holdem. Bingo and other games are offered poolside throughout the day although I always seemed to miss the things I was interested in. I went on 3 bike rides for which there is no charge - one to Sian Ka'an, one around the hotel grounds, and one that went to the ecological preserve near the golf course. Bikes are only allowed out for the tours and reservations need to be made. The trip to the ecological preserve was interesting but is not for the faint of heart - it was very hot and 2 1/2 hours long. The beach party that included fire dancers was very entertaining.

Gym - a well equipped gym is near the central lobby. It is air conditioned and towels are provided. It is open from early morning to about 7 p.m.

Special dining - We had no problem making reservations for the specialty restaurants. We enjoyed the Mexican food at Tequila and the Italian food at Dolce Vita. Not being big meat eaters, Tortuga was not our favorite. The emphasis is on grilled beef, chicken, turkey, pork, etc. The meat is sliced off a skewer by the waiter at the table. They will keep bringing meat until you turn over your green card to the red side which is an indicator that you've had enough. Arlequin was also a very enjoyable dining experience because all food was served at the table. I enjoyed the appetizer, soup, goat milk cheese salad, and an entree of shrimp. (Sample menus are available at the guest services area.)

Playa Akumal and the tortoises - While we never made it there, we were told it was only a 5 minute ride by colectivo or taxi north of the resort.

Language - We appreciated the fact that the resort attracts people from all over the world - Germans, French, Russians, Canadians, etc. It makes for a great mix of people. While the staff in guest relations and the front desk speak English, I appreciated being able to practice Spanish with many of the wait staff and others.

Hacienda - Before going, I was puzzled as to what the hacienda was since it was mentioned in many of the reviews. The hacienda is on the hotel property near the front entrance. It includes many shops, indoors and outdoors, that sell typical Mexican items. I was fortunate to find 3 brightly painted boxes for a total cost of $10. At night, the Hacienda offers entertainment including the Mexican Fiesta. I believe the cost is $16/person.

Room Tip: We were in the 4800 block which is centrally located to the beach, restaurant and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Beatriz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Beatriz:

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal Resort and taking the time to write your positive impressions. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

It is great to know that you really had such as fantastic time with us and we really filled your expectations. We are proud to see that we reached our mail goal and we were able to create a wonderful experience for you.

Also we want to thank your kind words about our food, rooms, transportation and the personal attention of our staff, we will pass your comments to all of them to continue motivating us to give the best service possible.

We are sure that your detailed review will help for our futures clients, we thank you for sharing your impressions with all of them on Trip Advisor.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the near future, and I am sure you are going to enjoy every visit to our hotel.


Looking forward to have you here again and sending you my kindest regards.



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Mayan Riviera
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My sister got married here and it was amazing, she was married in the gazebo which was private and perfect, the only thing about the hotel when we arrived the rooms smelt mouldy but this was normal and after a day it disappeared.
Food and drink just amazing, lots of different areas to watch entertainment and lots of resteraunts to dine in.
Beach was a little rocky in the water but it was nothing and i certainly never wore shoes.
It is a beautiful hotel and i will be returning again.
If anyone is getting married, take photos on the beach yourself on the day as the hotel charge a bomb for the photos and try to not let you take beach photos.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Carola:

Thank you for have visited the Gran Bahia Principe Resort for your sister's special celebration.

We would like to express our gratitude for the time taken to specify those things you loved in our hotel such as food, restaurants and activites. On the other hand we thank you also for the observations you made regarding your room and other services, your feedback has been forwarded to the departments involved to improve those areas.

We will be waiting for your next visit, so please do not hesitate to contact us for any assistance you may need regarding your furture visit.


Kind regards from your home at the Mexican Caribbean!



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Riviera Maya
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

the resort was super clean and every single one of the employees was very friendly and went out of their way to make our vacation amazing. If you are looking for nightlife though, the resort is in a remote area and we had to take a taxi or bus to Playa del Carmen (30 minutes) to find activity in the evening. If you aren't looking to leave the resort though, the Bahia Principe is perfect!!

Room Tip: figure out if you'll want to be at the beach or the pools and try to pick a room according to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sliderbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member:

Thank you very much for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal as your destination for your previous vacation, we appreciate that you took the time to write your positive impressions.

Comments like yours are a special source of motivation to maintain our services with high standards. The main goal of our entire staff is to pamper every guest, reaching and go beyond their expectations. Thank you for these marvelous words.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you in the near future, so please do not hesitate to contact us before your arrival date, it will be a pleasure to assist you with anything you may need.

Our best regards from the Riviera Maya,



Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, enjoy playing golf at our hotels on the Mayan Riviera.
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal in February. This was our second visit and we were thrilled to be in sunny Mexico in the middle of the "winter the wouldn't end'. We requested building 47 or 48 and ended up with a partial water view in building 48, a nice touch as there are very few water views in Akumal. Our room was very nice, cleaned every day by Patricia and she was the master of towel art. Loved the rain shower.
Building 48 is close to the beach and the lobby so walking wasn't an issue.
We arrived on a Tuesday and had private transfer from the airport so there was no line at check-in which was very smooth. Arrived at about 2:30 and our room was ready. Did take a while for our bags to catch up but, this is Mexico, no worrys.
This being our second trip we have learned how to work the buffet. If you stick to the freshly made things and pick carefully through the rest there is plenty of good food and enough variety . We were there for 10 days and it never got boring. We booked our a la carte restaurants as soon as we arrived and this worked out well. Pescador was good, Arlequin was the best. We were disappointed that they have started to use buffets at some of the a la carte restaurants for appetizers and deserts. Only Arlequins was immune. The offerings were a cut above what was at the regular buffet but it somehow made the experience less special.
The grounds are beautiful. The beach is great, lots of palapas. There did seem to be an issue if you got there after 11:00 or so. But it was prime season.
The staff work really hard and all are very friendly. A special shout out to Armin, our waiter in the buffet, who took such good care of us every day.
While tipping is not expected, a couple of dollars in appreciation for good service goes a long way, and the staff works hard to make your vacation enjoyable.
We only left the complex once, to go to the town of Akumal. We wanted to check out the snorkeling. We were going to take the collective but the cab driver made us a deal we couldn't refuse. The town was small and overrun with tourists. The bay where the snorkeling was so good was so crowded that we decided to skip it. Did find a nice restaurant in town, Turtle Bay Cafe, and had a nice lunch. That alone was worth the trip.
Word of warning, stay away from the Privilege Club.Very hard sell.
All and all we really enjoy this resort and will be back again. Lovely setting. Friendly staff. Great value.

Room Tip: Buildings 47 and 48 have partial water view. Building 49 also near beach and lobby. Second floor see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tropicalozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest:

First of all we would like to thank you for giving us the chance to be part again of your recent holidays at Grand Bahia Principe Akumal.

Your loyalty is very appreciated, we are proud to see that you loved the location of your room and the hard work our colleague Patricia makes every day to maintain the immaculate rooms and for the attention you received from Armin, thank you for recognizing their work and the effort of our entire staff does to create a wonderful atmosphere to all our clients.

It is wonderful to know that your enjoyed our public areas such as grounds and beach. In the other hand your observations about our services in the restaurants will be forwarded to the F & B Management in order to let them know your perception about this area.

We hope to welcome you once again and please do not hesitate to contact us again for your next visit, we are looking forward to welcome you back.


Best Regards!




Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in the Mayan Riviera
Mario Enrique Moreno
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
23.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
166.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
166.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#69 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,477 reviews
18.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico | Cancun Km 250, Playa Aventuras, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#8 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $213 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an no additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (no additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing