We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday, lovely hotel, food and drink. Entertainment fantastic as well.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel was brilliant, we had a fabulous time. Food and drink was excellent. Beaches good and the service here was second to none...all in all a fabulous holiday and would defiantly want to go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shazi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Ms. Guest:

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal. We are glad to know that your vacation was a wonderful experience.

We always make sure that our customers receive the best service and it is an honor to know that you enjoyed our attention.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future for another great experience.

Best Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (9,763)
There are newer reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,341 - 4,347 of 9,770 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week at this resort and it was fantastic! So much so we plan to return (and also try one of there hotels in Jamaica and Dominican in the future).

The staff cannot do enough for you and every attention to detail has been thought of - even to the point someone is employed to scrub the bins outside with soapy water everyday!. The room we stayed in was lovely with a very comfy bed, hairdryer, jacuzzi bath, TV (no English channels), mini bar (filled daily), balcony. The food also excellent you can eat in the buffet, 24 hour snack bars or pre-book any of the restaurants such as Italian, Brazilian, Japanese etc. You can swim with dolphins in the resort and also the beach is also part of the resort.

A fantastic place highly recommended and faultless in our opinion.

PS: if you are looking for a good trip we recommend the tour swimming with turtles and snorkeling in the caves and 2nd largest reef in the world - mind blowing! We booked prior to going on holiday with Edventure tours (look them up on Trip Advisor). They are a family run business and are excellent - we were with just 5 other people so got a very personal experience (no coach loads of people!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hollie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thanks a lot for your amaizing comments regarding your recent stay Gran Bahia Principe Akumal.

We are honored to know that you appreciate the efforts of our staff and the great services of our hotel and it will be a pleasure to share your kind comments with all the departaments.

Please, do not forget to contact us again before your next arrival, you will have better experience that this last time.

Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

we had an awesome vacation, stayed in Akumal, but enjoyed the facilities/ restaurants / beaches/ buffets at all. Tullum Buffet was really good! would stay at Akumal again. we want to organize a Group of Couples to go back there next year. we also spent 129.00 each to tour the Tullum ruins and snorkel in the village of Akumal thru Cancun Adventures at the lobby of akumal, this was a great excursion, snorkelling was awesome, sea turtles, reef, stingray....great beach area there. also reccommend the restaurant / bar there in village of Akumal the tour company took us there for lunch called "The Bueneveda"- look it up on google- great pictures, beautiful bay, lots of fish/ turtles etc .

Room Tip: 3 story units, you pick the floor, but try to get near the Lobby or the Beach so you don't have...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marshallroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest:

First of all thank you for choosing Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

We thank you for taking the time to share us your positive comments which we will take in the highest consideration as the best award to our efforts

It will be a pleasure to receive you again the next year, so please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit and of course we will have ready a especial welcome

Receive our warmest regards from your house in The Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Akumal ( 25/04 - 09/05) and didn't want to leave!
Transfer time from Cancun airport was around 1.5 hours, great air conditioned coach though.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a ice cold Margarita - very welcome after a 11 hour flight from the UK!
I had requested a room close to the beach on the 2nd or 3rd floor, prior to our departure and was really pleased to find this has been secured by Vanesa for us when we arrived. (Thank you Vanesa!)
We stayed in villa 48, overlooking the sea, not even a minutes walk to the pool,beach,lobby,bars - was perfect.
Beach
We spent every day on the beach, the water is so clear and lots of fish swimming around some of them were huge! Although the beach was very sandy there were a few bits of coral lying around and I did see people cut their feet but you just need to be carefull and watch where you are walking. There was always someone walking around collecting empty cups and rubbish, very clean.
Room
A little dated, could do with a lick of paint but very clean and mini bar re stocked everyday, bed was huge, a little hard but we had a mattress topper which was perfect for us.
Food
The main buffet restaurant was great with plenty of choice, occasionally had trouble finding a clean table at breakfast but most if the time it was fine. Lots of healthy options too.
We ate at 4 A La Carte restaurants, Tequila and Mikado were our favourite, Dolce Vita was also very nice with great service. Our least favourite was the Brazilian La Gran Tortuga, all you can eat meat however we found the meat a little tough and not a lot of choice of side dishes - service was great though.
Pools
We didn't use the pools only because they was a nice breeze down on the beach but they looked very nice and very clean.
Bars/Entertainment
We spent most nights at the Hollywood show bar, fantastic range of drinks and cocktails and the service was excellent, special thanks to Issais and Fernado! They always made sure we had drinks.
Entertainment was good, I really enjoyed the Michael Jackson tribute performed by Lev Garcia, he and the backing dancers were awesome!
Most of the bars shut down at 11 but you can get a shuttle bus over to the Hacienda where there is a sports bar and disco open till late.

It was very very hot when we were here, high 80s most days and we got badly burnt on the 1st day, by not applying a high factor, you need 50+ initially, with the breeze you don't realise you are burning its very quick!

We will definitely return to this resort next year and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emilou84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest:

We are much honored to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, an incredible holidays are part of our brand and is the compromise that we have with our guests.

We will inform about about your mentions to the staff involved, becuase comments of this type are the best motivation for us. Do not forget to contact us before your next holidays, just like you did it this last time.

Warm Regards from your home at the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Disclaimer: I'm severely jet lagged so forgive my spelling, punctuation and probably content.

Briefly:

I have no trouble recommending the hotel/resort and think all but the most fussy can look forward to an enjoyable stay at the GBP Akumal. I would definately go again and think it would suit families and groups of friends as well as couples.

In detail:

Prior to arrival:

Communication via email was simple and enabled us to book our a la carte sittings and cheekily ask for any upgrades on offer.

Transfer:

Cancun airport to the hotel is about 1hour 45mins but I wouldn't let this put you off.

Check in:

We were welcomed by lobby staff who immediately dealt with our luggage and led us to the check in desk. We didn't have to queue very long and were given a complimentary cocktail whilst a few papers were shuffled. We were offered a free upgrade to Sian Kahn (Golf Resort) but decided to refuse as we wanted to be closer to the beach.

Room:

We stayed in block 74 which is about as far as you can get from the lobby but the golf buggy bus service gets you there in a couple of minutes (5 mins on foot). The room was clean and spacious and the mini bar had soft drinks and beers.

Food:

The buffet at all of the resorts had plenty of choice and the food is cooked to a high standard. Likewise the a la carte restaurants had plenty of options and made a nice change. Some people complained about having to wear trousers and although I don't see the sense I also don't see the problem either. The 24hour food options are sufficient (burgers, chips, salads, ice cream, etc). For me - Best buffet, Coba. Best a la carte, Don Pablo. Best 24hour food, Tulum.

Drinks:

Plenty of choice for the spirits drinkers and the local beer is... adequate. Point of note, we watched a bar tender make us some drinks then chuck them away and do them again as he wasn't happy with the quality which was a nice touch. Which brings me on to my next point...

Staff:

The staff are fantastic. They all seem to have endless energy and are constantly busy. I really don't know how they remain so cheerful given the mammoth task of tending to the many needs of us tourists. Particular thanks to 'Manuel' in Akumal Buffet at breakfast times and 'Alermo' in Coba evening buffet.

(Like most people in Mexico the staff aren't paid very much and really do appreciate tips)

Leisure/swimming:

The gym is big enough if you're early enough. The pools aren't very deep (4-5foot) but are plenty big enough for swimming and ideal for families with kids. We found the main pool with swim up bar could get a bit busy with 'Justin Beiber and friends' so we tended to lean towards the other pool(s). The staff always have something on the go whether its volleyball, water polo, zumba, salsa lessons, yoga, aquafit so you really can always find something to do. Look out for the usual idiots reserving beds with towels.

Beach:

I personally like being able to swim well out to sea and quite simply this isn't the place for it. The swimming areas are sectioned off in order to keep people off the reef which frustrated me a little. However if you just want to wade around 3 - 5 foot deep and have a surf free swim or snorkel with the many different types of fish the areas are plenty big enough. The watersports hut is located between the akumal and tulum beaches and there is plenty to do from borrowing a Hobby Cat to hiring a Jet Ski. Snorkels are free however if you have them take your own as some days the beaches are red flagged due to weather meaning they will not issue snorkels, kayaks etc.

Nightlife:

Wrong person to ask. We went to the evening shows ran by the staff, a lot of which had worked all day prior. We found these watchable, at times entertaining but sometimes cringeworthy. We also went to the mexican theme night on thursdays at the Hacienda which was great but other than that we were in the early night brigade.

Excursions:

Consider using local taxi/collectivo service rather than the default setting of paying your travel company to sort it. We spent the day in Tulum visiting the beaches and ruins for $750pesos for both of us. No time table, No other tourists and the flexibility to do what we wanted.

and on that note I'm off to bed.

Room Tip: Our room was in Akumal - Villa 74 - Well away from loud areas - Beach no more than 5 minutes walk aw...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Palmbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

It is a delight to know that you enjoyed our facilities, the food and the incredible attention from our staff. As the comments of our guests are very important to motivate our team, we have passed your review to the departments involved

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in your New Mexican home, so please do not forget to contact us 3 weeks before your next arrival, it will be our pleasure to help you!

Best Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is massive, in fact, it is a holiday complex that include 3 hotels, Akumal, Coba & Tulum
so be advised that after any reviews you may think they are in different locations. you can use all the facilities in all of them. there is even a small shopping centre in the complex called Hacienda.
If you and your kids looking to find friends to have fun with during holiday, it would be a bit difficult due to the size of the complex. This is easier in smaller hotels because you see the same familiar faces everyday. Also be aware of the offer to have a tour of the hotels as this is more for selling premier membership which is timeshare with a different name. That took one whole morning of our stay and we left with headache as they were trying so hard to sell us something we would never use. It may be attractive to some people though, so if you are going to return to the Bahia hotels over and over again in the next twenty-thirty years, go for it but we try to see as many places as we can so would normally don't return to the same location.
Now the good things: beautiful place, room was good size & clean. Beach wasn't exceptional but very good. Pool was huge and clean with plenty of sunbeds, however in high season, you should wake up @ 7am and get a sunbed. Evening entertainment not bad although we didn't see all of them as our kids were too tired and we didn't want to leave them alone in the room at night.
If you want to go to restaurants on your preferred time, book them at your arrival as they get booked quickly however the buffet was not bad at all. staff and people very friendly but sometimes reception staff weren't quite as helpful as you whished them to be.
Good excursions on offer, try to go to at least two. Jungle expedition was good with swimming in fresh water caves. Xcaret was average but the evening show was very good. If you want snorkelling, do specifically book for that as you don't see many fishes in caves and underground rivers.
Weather was absolutely fantastic. Would recommend both the hotel and Cancun.
Oh! one final note: free lobby WiFi is a joke. speed at 0.1 Mbps. This is up to 100 times slower than average UK broadband speed so you can just barely check your emails.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Benny2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal.

We are glad to read that you had an excellent experience with us; Our team works very hard to please our entire guest;Thank you very much for recognize their work.

If you decide to come back to the Riviera Maya, we hope to host you again, so please feel free to contact us before your next arrival.

Best Regards from Mexico!


Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I've been to 12ish resorts in the greater Cancun area, and this one was the most average. While it is slightly less Americanized than say, the Now Jade, it is probably not the best spot to spend your money. Unless you're getting an amazing deal on this place, I would suggest spending maybe $200 extra a person and staying at one of the Karisma properties - current favorite is Azul Sensatori.

Problem 1:
It's far from the airport. Not that it's a huge deal, it's just a pain to drive an hour and a half after flying in to get to the resort. There are some better all around options within 20 minutes of the airport.

Problem 2:
The resort/city/complex is too big. We were there with a group of 50 people, all staying in Club Golden, and unless we set up a meeting time and place, it was rare to see anyone else. If you're going for a wedding, I again would suggest Azul Sensatori or Now Jade(even though this place is a little bit of a wedding mill)

Problem 3:
Everything is the same, and it's all generic. The food won't impress you anywhere. The buffet had better pastas than the Italian a la carte restaurant, and the buffet had sushi just as good as the Japanese restaurant.

Problem 4:
Reservations at restaurants. I don't enjoy planning my entire week of dinners before arriving. After arrival the best time we could get was 9:30pm, while most options were 10:30pm - which seems a little late for dinner, unless you're coming from the west coast, or Hawaii. I enjoy the Now properties because of the no reservations policy. You show up, if it's busy, you go somewhere else. If you want to eat there, they give you a (reasonable) time to return at - go hang out at the lobby bar for 20 minutes and come back.
Maybe Bahia just needs more restaurants.

Problem 5:
Terrible wifi. The slowest I've found anywhere in the world - and this includes a budget hotel in Haiti. You can get 'Premium' wifi in your room anywhere on the resort, or for free in the lobby areas...none of it is good. $15 USD for premium was too slow to load gmail on a laptop - but it seemed to work fine on my iPhone. The lobby internet seems even slower, but it would do basic email. If you have any sort of real life work to keep up with, you will fail. The Karisma places have great wifi everywhere, and it's free if you stay in the premium section. So if it's important, stay elsewhere.

Problem 6:
Service. I realize everything is on Mex time, but it's kind of a pain when they only staff 1 bartender at bars that are busy all day. Being number 10 in a pool bar queue is a real downer. Not that I have anywhere else to be, but a 7 - 15 minute wait is just annoying.
(note: service at the buffet is fantastic)

Problem 7:
They charge you $3 per room key card if you don't return them at checkout. This $3 charge was the final nail in the coffin for this place. It's just an over the top display on how much they don't care about you, they just want your miniature sums of money.

Problem 8:
The beds are kind of hard. While not totally uncomfortable, they're certainly not the most comfortable.

Good things:
They have some of the best ocean water around. It's busy, but it's clear and warm. Lots to see if you like to snorkel.

Pools are excellent.

The taco place at the Hacienda (in front of the Corona Snack Bar, while not all inclusive, will be the best $10 meal you have here)

The disco has nice lights, but suffers from the service problem previously described.

If you do Club Golden, find a way to request building 66. It's the only true ocean view building on the resort. The ones around it are ok as well.

Note:
Probably go to Coco Bongo. It's not everything the advertisements tell you it is (mostly it's not better than most Vegas shows/clubs -- but it is much cheaper) and it's worth seeing.

Room Tip: Building 66.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TaylorJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal.

We really appreciate your review shared. All our staff is very committed to provide an excellent service and to transform the holidays of our guest into memorable moments, All your observations have been passed to the departments involved in order improving our service, thank you very much for your notes.

Please if you decide to come back to the Riviera Maya, we hope to have a second opportunity and host you again, so please feel free to contact us before your next arrival.

Best Regards from Mexico!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
23.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
166.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
166.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Ocean Riviera Paradise
Ocean Riviera Paradise
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
2,378 reviews
18.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250. Mexico | Cancun Km 250, Playa Aventuras, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#7 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $215 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an no additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (no additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing