We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at GBPA Golden from January 25-February 3. This was our third trip to this wonderful resort and I'm sure it won't be the last. All of the people in the Golden Club Lobby were great. We had an issue with our air conditioner the first day, I reported it then went to breakfast, it was repaired by the time we got back. The resort is starting to show its age but overall it is still a great place to vacation and the friendly staff more than makes up for any cosmetic shortcomings. We like to do a lot of snorkeling and it was very windy most of the time we were there, but we found that a short collectivo ride to Akumal Beach or Yal Ku Lagoon was just fine. As always we met and talked to people from many other areas as well as Quebec (the Jersey Shores of Canada) as we were told. As always, the food was very good at the buffet. I can not say the same for El Pescador and the Japanese restaurant. Don Pablo was the best al a carte. We had a top floor room in building 65 with a great view. Well worth the Golden Club upgrade. Can't wait for next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fix143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your preference in visiting the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal and taking the time to write impressions. Thank you for your recommendations for our future guests and for keeping the loyalty to our chain.

Your comments are very encouraging as we our main goal is the meet your entire satisfaction with our services and our atmosphere.

We look forward to receive you and your family again at our resort and do not hesitate to contact us with any requests you may have.

Our warmest Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,811
    2,331
    736
    307
    203
See reviews for
2,768
4,078
73
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,986)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were glad to find our first very positive impressions of GBP accurate....we enjoyed our first visit so much we arranged a second vacation to the same resort in the same year .We went to Coba initially .then returned to Akumel to be closer to the beach.

From our quick and efficient check in and check out with Thomas (from Lyon, )training at GBP , to our maid service(Gerardo ) whose daily changes in decor and attention to detail was much appreciated we found all the staff warm, helpful , approachable and patient with our halting attempts to speak Spanish.

We were remembered by Maria Juana (Peccha)at the Coba buffet and greeted as if we were family .When the staff are so busy and hard working these little personal touches help to make sure we will return.She is so attentive, remembered we like cappuccinos at breakfast and strarted our morning with a sparkle.

There has been some great changes at the tennis courts and lessons with Juan were hard work and fun. Hopefully with more court space, and the prospect of night tennis the hotel will facilitate setting up games , mixed doubles etc.

Our thanks to the Management for our welcome basket in our room.again it is the little touches that make such a large resort seem personal.

We took advantage of many of the activities and shows this time and it would be helpful if the schedules at all three sites ( Tulum. Akumel and Coba )were posted someplace at each site or on the close circuit TV.

The excursion booking folks were most helpful and we took the day trip to Chichen Itza and Vallodalid.We thought it was very good value and well organized.

it is a long trip from Cancun but our transfers were much better this time. No matter how much time it takes the destination is well worth the long bus ride.

We can't wait until the next time .

Room Tip: 5223 was an easy walk to Akumel lobby, pool , beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

First of all thank you very much for staying at the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya and taking the time to write your impressions.

It is very nice to read that you appreciated and enjoy the food, drinks and the excellent attention from our team, we feel also glad to read that you have left the hotel feeling totally satisfied

Once again and in the name of all Bahia Principe we thank a lot this feedback of your stay with us. We look forward to receive you and your family again at our resort and do not hesitate to contact us with any requests you may have.

Our warmest Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at The Bahia Principe Akumal from Feb. 22-March 1st. 2013.
My husband and I invited my husband's sister and her husband who have never traveled to join us on a trip to the Mayan Riviera. When they said yes, we decided to take them to the Bahia Principe Akumal where our daughter was married in 2009. We were blown away then with the excellent service etc. so thought it would be a good place for my husband's sister and her husband to start...
We weren't disappointed and neither were they! The resort has grown since we were there last but that didn't alter the wonderful service we received. We stayed in the Royal Golden section which is closest to the beach in villa 69. The room was exceptionally clean and kept that way by Elena who looked after us for our stay. It was also very quiet, a little bit away from the action.
There are plenty of deck chairs to be had whether on the beach or at a pool. The beach is lovely, clean and goes on forever. Since we visited last the beach has been extended and new palapas and a beach bar added.
The food at the buffets was great, lots of choices and something different every day. The A la carte restaurants are wonderful even though we only had time to partake in one, El Tortuga which is the Brazilian restaurant. The food was great and the service as well.
The grounds are exceptional, beautiful trees, flowers and shrubs everywhere and impeccably kept by what must be hundreds of groundskeepers. Wow! The pathways were even power washed almost every day!
You can walk everywhere if you choose or hop on a tram at one of the bus stops and go anywhere you like on any of the resorts, there are 4 in total.
We have stayed at Bahia Principe's in 3 countries now and, will continue to stay at a Bahia wherever possible!
Because our family members had such a wonderful first time experience here, they are already planning their next trip!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the beach, a beautiful ocean view and quiet villas 65-68 are perfect an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ehriannabannana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest:

All the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write about your experience during your stay in our hotel and also for your loyalty to our hotels.

We appreciate the fact of highlight the services and the personal attention from our staff, reviews like yours, are the motivation to keep in the good job.

We are looking forward to your next visit, so please do not hesitate to contact us before your next arrival, our repetitives are the most valuable that we can have.

Receive our best regards from the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnyville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I and a bunch of our friends went to akumal for a wedding and we had a great time! It was our first time in Mexico so we weren't sure what to expect. The staff was awesome and so friendly, the food was fantastic at the buffet. We spent a lot of our time at the pool which was clean and the bar and bathrooms were close which was handy. Our room was pretty close to the lobby and pool and snack bar which was nice. The trains that went to coba and tulum were quick and fun to be on. Hacienda had lots of neat shops as well which was cool and the disco was a good time!. The only issue we really had was the smell of our room, it was on the bottom floor of the villa and it smelled very mildewy and we had a few ants in the bathroom. We did notice a few red ones our last day which was a bit freaky but they never bothered us. I would request a room on the second floor next time. Overall great resort and I would recommend it to anyone :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apesp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Grand Bahia Principe Akumal as your hotel destination, we really appreciate the nice review that you wrote about your vacations with us.

It is grateful to read that you enjoyed the great attention from our personal; we will send your nice words to them. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, so please feel free of contact us for your next visit

Warm Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, Lancs Uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were there from the 2nd February to the 16th February 2013. The hotel was excellent, in well laid out grounds which were well kept and clean. We found the staff at all times to be friendly, courteous, helpful and efficient. There was a huge variety of food which was very good and a wide choice of restaurants to indulge different choices of menus. The beach and pools area were fabulous and well served with bars. My wife tried the TAO fitness centre and was very impressed.

Cannot recommend the hotel enough, we has a superb holiday, thanks Akumal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest.

Grand Bahia Principe Akumal team would like to thank you for staying with us

To know that you enjoyed the services from our hotel and the excellent attention from our personal, really makes our efforts well worth.

Make sure your post will be passed to our team, they will feel proud to know about your entire satisfaction. We hope to be your host again at the Riviera Maya!

Our Kind Regards from the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

WOW---After going all over Mexico, BVI and USVI once or twice a year for the last 15 years, we have found the resort that is worth repeating. Good food, above average buffet, great Specialty Restaurants. Pools were very clean, never got cloudy in the afternoon and the beaches are very clean, lots of seating with and without shade. The bars were organized and efficient, did not need to wait in line very often and then no more than say 5 minutes. The rooms were very clean and the beds were ok, some new ones would not hurt however. Our personal Concierge was Perscila Nieto, she took charge and made our stay Fantastic. Priscila was very low key, but would followup on even the small things, how great is that? The only thing was negative was NOT the Bahia's problem, but that of Apple Vacations. The Apple rep never kept a schedule, never arrived on time and some days we could not even locate him, We will use Apple again and hope we do not get this rep again. Do not be hesitant to choose that Grand Bahia Akumal!!

Room Tip: Building 49---Garden view and very close to lobby, beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

We appreciate your preference in visiting the Grand Bahia Principe Riviera Maya Akumal and taking the time for recomend us by this website page. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We were happy to know that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, Every day the comments like yours motivate us to continue working hard. It will be a pleasure to pass you lovely comments, especially with Priscila.

Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to be able to welcome you back in your second home in the Mexican Caribbean.

King regards from sunny Mexico




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had a wonderful week staying at the Grand Bahia Principe - Akumal. We stayed in the Royal Golden section and it was worth the extra. Rooms are very clean. Grounds are beautiful and well maintained. Service was exceptional. Good variety of food. The only downside was at times, the waiters in the main buffet weren't very attentive leaving you returning to dirty plates at your table. But that is really the only criticism. The pools are very nice. The trolley to take you to other parts of the resort pass often. We had no problem getting chairs at the the Royal Golden beach or either of the pools and we aren't early risers.

I had read reviews about the beach being rocky. Yes, the beach at the Royal Golden section has some coral and is a little uncomfortable to walk on but it's not terrible. Bring water shoes of you are concerned.

We are looking forward to our next stay in this resort!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiterunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

All the Grand Bahia Principe Akumal would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write about your experience at our hotel.

Your notes are very much appreciated, thank you for sharing them with us. It is important for all of us to know you had such a great experience at Grand Bahia Principe resorts and also all the suggestions that you may have

Please, Do not hesitate in contacting us when if you decide to come back, we will do our best to accommodate all your needs.

Our best regards from the Mexican Caribbean!



Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort and Spa
5.2 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
8.8 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Playa Aventuras, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Akumal
#5 Family Hotel in Akumal
#6 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 758
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 3 swimming pools 4 jacuzzis 2 children's swimming pools Solarium with sun umbrellas and sun loungers BAHIA SPA (additional charges apply) Sports centre: a gym, 5 tennis courts, bicycles Motor sports (additional charges apply) Aquatic activity and diving centre Entertainment amphitheatre Wi-Fi access in the lobby (free) and with an no additional charge in the rooms Buffet restaurant opposite the sea 3 a la carte restaurants 9 bars Cocktail Lounge Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, cenotes and Mayan jungle Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and a night club Rooms 758 spacious Junior Suite Superior rooms. Equipped with: Two full-size beds or one king-size bed A living area with sofa A fully fitted bathroom: shower, washbasin, dryer and magnifying mirror Hydro massage tub Bathrobe and slippers (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Pool towel (to be enjoyed throughout your stay) Balcony or terrace Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct-dial telephone (additional charges applicable to external calls) Radio alarm clock Flat-screen TV Mini-bar with mini alcoholic beverages (included) Coffee set Safe (included) Ironing set 24 hour room service Butler service (upon request) Evening turn-down service Pillow menu Wi-Fi (no additional charge) Children Bahia Scouts Children can enjoy facilities designed especially for them: Children's swimming pool Mini Club (children aged 4 to 12) Mini Disco in the evenings Bahia Scouts Water Park Teen's club (children aged 11 to 16) Other services An internal mini-train service providing access to all the facilities: 24-hour medical service (additional charges apply) Pharmacy (additional charges apply) Personalised menu options for celiacs and diabetics Specialised wedding, anniversary and event planning service Casin ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BP USA TRAVEL INC, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principle
Bahia Principe Mexico
Gran Bahia Principe Hotel Akumal
Mexico Bahia Principe
Bahia Principe Tulum
Grand Bahia Principe Akumal
Bahia Principe Riviera Maya
Bahia Mexico Principe
Akumal Gran Bahia Principe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing