We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Oasis Tulum(Akumal)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (10,503)
Filter reviews
10,503 results
Traveler rating
6,479
2,587
834
356
247
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,479
2,587
834
356
247
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssnack bardolce vitainfinity poola la carte restaurantsfishdon pablofrutos del marakumal buffetother resortsbutler serviceakumal sectiontulum ruinsmain lobbyshow tableactivities pooladults only sectioncancun airport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,300 - 5,305 of 10,503 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed there Oct 28 to Nov 1st. I was very impressed with the entire complex, the Coba, Tulum and Akumal.
Room was very nice, not musty smelling. Nice little balcony. Bathroom was also very nice.Really nice walk in shower !
I had requested lower lever with 2 beds, and was accomodated. Our room was in bldg 50, which for us seniors was perfect, close to the buffet and beach.
Did not spend any time at the pool, we go to Mexico for the beach, and what a beach it is !!!!, wide, beautiful sand, lots of palapas plenty of chairs, and bars right there!
Feeding the fish was great, plenty of those. Way at the end of the beach, around the corner full of coral after a 15 minute hike the is a desolate strech of beach, with an abandoned building, is is well worth the walk, it is beatiful !
The Akumal is very well maintained, very nice landscaping, it is very spread out, you can go to the Coba and Tulum by taking the trolley at the lobby.
All 3 buffets were very good, being a vegetarian I have trouble with food, but found lots and lots to eat. Did not eat at the restaurants, so cannot comment.
I was very impressed by the friendliness and efficiency of all the staff. All work very hard and it shows, rooms are very well cleaned every day with little towel animals on the beds, bathrooms are sqeeky clean. Staff at the buffets are very efficient, no waiting for drinks.Nightly shows are a lot of fun.
I love Mexico and the All Inclusives, it gives you good value for the money,their fun to go to, you meet some great people from all over the world. I do not understand the travelers that complain about everything, and are never happy!
I love the Grand Bahia, had a great short trip and can't wait to get back.
Thanks to all for the service, efficiency, courtesy,the front desk, bell boys, public relation desk, food staff, entertainers, maids,trolley drivers and the list goes on ..........................
Till next year.................

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calyso13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Sir or Madame:

First of all we want to thank you for have spent your last holidays at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

Your review have left us more than honored and it will be a pleasure to share it with all the departments because there is no better inspiration than the wonderful words from our guests.

I want to express my sincere appreciation for the valuable mail you have sent. We hope to receive you soon at your house in The Mexican Caribbean!

Receive our best regards regards,




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wowie! What a vacation paradise! We were looking for a beautiful vacation spot - to relax, enjoy, rejuvenate. And wow! What we found at Gran Bahia exceeded all we were looking for! It was above all our expectations and we are so happy. Definitely want to return and stay longer! We did not take any excursions because we did not want to miss a day at our paradise resort. Next time we will add more days so we can enjoy the Mayan ruins. The weather was perfect! The beaches perfect! Ocean so clear and beautiful! The pools so refreshing and amazing with all the greenery and trees/flowers! The pool bar......a good thing! The food was delicious - buffet, snack bar and the a la carte. Our room and villa was so nice and private and a perfect location to everything. All the staff we interacted with were so nice and helpful - and happy! We loved it! This was our first trip to Mexico but it will not be our last. Thank you to the Gran Bahia people who gave us such a wonderful vacation!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kaye-Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest:

First of all we want to thank you for have spent your last holidays at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

We are much honored of reading that you are so enchanted with all our services and the efforts of our entire staff. Comments like yours are the best way to find the inspiration to keep us in the good job and improve our services to make your future visits even more unforgettable.

I want to express my sincere appreciation for the valuable mail you have sent. We hope to receive you soon at your house in The Mexican Caribbean!

Receive my warmest regards.




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in Akumal and had a sea view in the Golden area (block 65). The resort is huge - there are plenty of restaurant choices, both in the individual specialist restaurants and the choices available in the buffet. The pools are lovely and, yes, you do tend to have to stake your claim early in the morning but a couple of times we moved towels off of peoples beds when it got to 1pm and they still hadn't turned up to use them: that's ridiculously selfish behaviour and we didn't want to sit on the floor so were quite happy to do that. Usually there's plenty of space though.

The staff are lovely and very attentive - don't forget to tip!

Drinks were great too, anything was available any time but the snack bar 24 hour availability only came back at the end of our stay: we were told that this was removed from service due to a pack of Canadians who'd stayed a week before we got there who abused it and were drunk, smashing stuff up at 4am while drinking continually - this is the exception rather than the norm as we saw none of that during our stay.

The beach is very clean and well looked after and very pleasant to walk along / lay on.

Overall we had a wonderful time, met some nice people and had a great, relaxing holiday!

Complaints? The only things that spoiled our stay a small bit were actually some of the people there! There was a large group from the UK who continually moaned to everyone that there was nothing to eat and the food was rubbish - some people travel abroad and moan when it's not just like home when they get there, if you're like that why don't you holiday at home?? Secondly - if you have children, please ask them to behave. There were usually 10-12 youngsters in the Akumal main pool on any given day - almost always from the UK again sadly - who screamed their heads off constantly while their parents looked on in happy oblivion. Parents - please understand that there are other people around the pool who want to sit and relax and not listen to your children yelling all day.

Advice: (1) If you're flying Thomson, bring some water on the flight with you as, apart from the meal and a snack later on in the flight, you don't get anything if you don't pay for it! Also, bring a drink for the coach journey as, after everyone else has been dropped off, it takes about 2 to 2.5 hours to reach the resort from the airport.
(2) There's plenty of food available so don't fill your plate up, eat half of it and leave the rest. That goes for kids as well as adults - there were many times you'd see a kid with a huge pile of pancakes for breakfast who would eat one and leave the rest to be thrown out!

Room Tip: Email first to ask for a sea view if you're in Akumal
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MattAndSamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Mr. Matt:

In the name of all the Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya receive our most sincere appreciation for these kind words to our job and all your suggestions shared by this message

It is nice to read that we could fulfill your expectations and you have had such an amazing time with us.

We look forward to be able to welcome you again. Please write us a little message before your next visit to have something special to welcome you, Once again thanks a lot for your kind review shared.

Sending you my kindest regards from the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Sorry for the delay in posting, as this is a re-write.

We just returned from seven days at Akumal (July 18-25). Having stayed at both Tulum and Coba previously, we had high expectations from this third resort. Sadly, there were some major misses.

Resort Grounds - A++
The resort is beautifully landscaped, and kept meticulously clean. There are always people working to trim the landscape and working to improve the appearance of the buildings.
The wildlife there is amazing, with the Coati pretty much coming right up to people looking for food.

Customer Service - D-
Sorry to say this, but they really dropped the ball here. We’ve visited 5 Bahia properties, 4 in Mexico. We spent several months trying to get a response via multiple e-mails to set up our trip, our a la carte restaurant choices, and to inquire what loyalty programs exist. After months of attempts, (thanks to all who supplied contact e-mail addresses on Tripadvisor, but none of the supplied names ever responded) I contacted the corporate office, and lo and behold, an e-mail appeared from the Akumal customer service manager extolling what amenities would be extended to return guests:

"Regarding the loyalty programm in our resort that you are wondering, as you are visiting us with Apple Vacations and it is your 5th time in our resort, you are intiteled to 6 a la carte reservations , you will recieve courtesy amenities in your room during your stay ,( like bathrobes, bedroom slippers, as well basket of fruits and flowers on your arrival date ), will recieve a courtesy details from our pastry chef in your room and bottle of sparkling wine. Be informed that the safe-deposit box will be included for 3 rooms."


The bathrobes and slippers were there at check in, (sorry, I don’t get excited about used slippers and robes) but most items did not show up. The only items that did were the fruit basket and some no-name tequila, and these were delivered to my 16 year old son’s room, not mine, and not to the other party members. The other mentioned items (safes, sparkling wine, pastries) were never supplied or delivered. All party members are 5 time guests of the hotel, and should have been treated identically. To make matters worse, the items that were delivered arrived the last day we were at the resort. The six a la carte restaurants were reserved in advance properly,however.

The customer service at both Coba and Tulum performed much more favorably. You would think that returning guests would be treated better.

Check in B-

The only issue was that of the three rooms, only one set of keys worked. This required another trip to the desk to get the keys re-authorized. Sloppy, considering that there we were the only group checking in at the time.

Room C-
We stayed in Villa 48. First impressions were that the room was unnecessarily hot, the A/C did not sufficiently cool the room and the ceiling fan had to run constantly to move air around. The first night of our stay a leak developed in our hallway ceiling (obvious air conditioning issue). The front desk was called, and we went to dinner. We returned to find they had “fixed” the issue by placing a bath towel on the hallway floor. The leak returned several times, only to find new towels replacing the old ones. This was particularly dangerous as the floors are polished marble.

I found the tub interesting for several reasons… Firstly, there’s no water pressure. It was like trying to shower with a spray bottle. Secondly, the tub moved. Apparently, the fiberglass tub doesn’t have consistent base material underneath, so as you move around, the bathtub flexes very noticeably.

The refrigerator in the room didn’t really cool anything down, and the selection of drinks varied during the stay, as well as the frequency of refills.

Another issue was the mattress. I believe it was made of cinderblock. It was the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on. And, yes, there was a mattress topper on it.
Lastly, my children had the two adjoining rooms on the first floor. There were abundant ants in their rooms. Once again the front desk was notified, and someone came and sprayed the bathroom only. Oddly enough, the bugs were everywhere but the bathroom.
Housekeeping, however, was wonderful. New towel art daily.

Restaurants

Akumal Buffet - A
Not bad, but their American theme night was awful. There was some cut of beef (it might have been horse) that was cooked on a flat top griddle. Tough and greasy with gristle running throughout. May as well have been shoe leather. Add the Mahi Mahi in barbeque sauce, boiled hot dogs and pre-packaged hamburgers, and the meal was not worth it. Simply repulsive.

On the other hand, there were abundant choices around the buffet, so I would imagine anyone can find something to eat. The fresh stations were the best (omelets in the morning, pasta at lunch and dinner), but there are often long lines. The final morning of the trip the Omelet station did something that worried me. Most mornings, the omelet station had premixed eggs that were used to make the omelets. That morning, the station attendant was cracking and mixing the eggs in a pitcher as needed. What worried me was she was using her griddle spatula to mix the eggs, then using the same spatula to turn and serve the eggs. At several points, I noticed her mix raw eggs with the spatula, then immediately lift and serve the cooked omelets (good transfer point for salmonella).

Frutos del Mar - D
Nothing to write home about. The waiter screwed the order up twice, bringing the wrong main dish, which then took 30 minutes to rectify. Then, got the dessert order wrong. I chalked this up to a bad night, until I noticed that this restaurant shares a kitchen (and probably wait staff) with La Dolce Vita. La Dolce Vita did the exact same thing several years ago when we vacationed at Tulum.

Mikado - A
Typical Tepenyaki joint. Salty food, Blazing hot temperatures around the show table. Not my thing, but would have gotten higher marks if the food wasn’t swimming in soy sauce. Additionally, they’ve changed how they serve the Sake from the traditional glassware to drinking tumblers, and they don’t refill. Come for the show, but leave time to eat at the buffet.

Arlequin - A++
Great food, great service and great ambiance. Go here.

Tequila - D-
This is the resorts Mexican restaurant, and personally, not worth going to. The food was not well prepared, and the appetizers were strange to say the least. The appetizer bar facing the front of the restaurant had ants crawling in the food. Additionally, this restaurant (like all the rest) had no air conditioning, so it gets pretty hot in there. There’s also an issue with the thatched roofs on all the restaurants. The thatch tends to break off, and land on the tables, food and drinking glasses. So, it’s not unusual to pick up a drinking glass and find black strands floating in it.

We didn’t bother going to the other two a la carte reservations, as the food wasn’t worth the effort up to that point.

Tram Service - D-

Sorry to say this as well. Tram service is great if you are in Coba or Tulum. If you are at a restaurant that is not in Akumal, wear comfortable shoes because you WILL NOT find tram space to get back to Akumal and you will be walking back. You’ll see plenty of empty trams for Sian Kaan, lots of full trolleys for Tulum and Coba, but nothing to get you to Akumal between 7:00 PM and 9:00 PM. We waited 45 to 60 minutes and were never able to get on a tram. We wound up walking back to the hotel.

Entertainment Crew - A++
They do such a great job with so little to work with. That being said, I really have tired of the Michael Jackson show (for god’s sake, they have relatively the same show in every resort). Bury this show, and find something new. It amazes me how many people are crammed into the auditorium for this stupid show. For those who haven't seen it, imagine "Glee" does Michael Jackson lipsyncing on a high school production budget.

Hotel Layout - C-

The Tulum and Coba have the activity pool located wherever the swim up bar is. Akumal, in contrast, has the swim up bar in the kiddy pool, and no activities occur in this pool. This location never has music (except what’s piped into the bar upstairs). The bartenders are great (Gamiliel, Elmer and Roflindo did a fantastic job). We located the activity pool on the last day of our trip, and spent the entire day there. Of course, the reserving of pool chairs is rampant at all pools. The activity crew does a great job of leading the activities, and they are a young, fun group. They get an A++.

In total,we would probably not return to the Akumal, as it does not fit with our vacation style and it is under served by comparison. It appears to be an older property with no current upgrades in process, poor infrastructure and aging facilities.

Did all this ruin the vacation? No, we made the best of what we had, and spent a quiet, relaxing week with the family. The shortcomings, however, are something that this resort should work to improve upon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jtuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Sir or Madame:

First of all Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya !!

We are very grateful for taking the time to write these important suggestions and make us participant of your opinions that we will take in the highest consideration, because our clients are the most important evaluator in our chain.

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences that you have experienced during your stay with us, definitely your comments have been of the knowledge of the General Manager of our Resort to give the proper attention and take the necessary actions to avoid these situations indicated in this message.

It will be a pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera so do not hesitate to contact us if you would like to visit us again in the near Future, We will be really happy to be at your service again and have ready a very special welcome to compensate the issues happened about your last visit!

Once again, receive our appreciation for this valuable mail that you have sent.

We hope to receive you soon at your house in The Mexican Caribbean!

My best regards,






Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Gran Bahia Principe, Riviera Maya from the 4th to 18th October. This was our 4th holiday there with five in our party. We stayed three times at Coba and this time at Akamul. Coba is by far the better of the three hotels. We had great sea views at Akamul but the room was not as good, bathroom was poor we could not use the Hydro massage bath, hair dryer was intermittant and air conditioning very poor. No ice machine in our block but I will add that the maid was very good.
The mini bar was abit hit and miss this year, we always leave a small tip and have in the past got two small choc bars, not this time we had to share. Coffee packs had been changed to packs without creamer, sugar and sweetners ( we had to go on night raids to the snack bars) sometimes there was no coffee.
We were very dissapointed to find that the Golden club at Coba closed for referb. it has the best bar on the complex. We are not the type to lay by the pool drinking all day but do like to have the odd drink past 11pm not this time it was withdrawn a few weeks before we left, it would have been nice if first choice had told us. I am still waiting for a reply from them. The holiday was not a complete dissapointment Le Gourmet Restaurant was perfect and the Manager Abesaid Angilo S was the perfect host and looked after us very well on every visit as did his excellent staff (thank you all). We would also like to recommend the Dolce Vita. Will we go back, we will have to think about It, it was not as good as previous years. It might be time for a change or to maybe try the Sian Kaan. Watch this space.

Room Tip: Go for top floor rooms they have the least noice. Coba is the best of the three hotels.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kent_JandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP A, Public Relations Executive at Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Sir or Madame:

Receive our cordial greetings from all the team working at Gran Bahia Principe Akumal, Riviera Maya.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback that it will really helpful to improve the areas need it and welcome you with a better service in your futures visits

We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay due the remodeling situation at our bars and restaurants .

We apologize if you felt you did not receive the service you were entitled to, but be assured that your comments have been already brought to each Manager of the departments and we will give the matters and the proper attention.

We would like to have a second chance to welcome you once again at The Gran Bahia Principe Akumal to experience the quality of our services and facilities that we will improve to can meet your entire satisfaction.

Receive our warmest regards from the Mexican Caribbean!




Vanessa Pacheco
Public Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews