We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to the bad reviews!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Tulum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oasis Tulum to your Saves list
Oasis Tulum
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the bad reviews!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was very nervous about staying here after the recent reviews. I will try and break down my thoughts. We stayed at Oasis Tulum 1/25-1/30

Rooms
We booked ocean front rooms on the Oasis side, and we had a group of 6. When we arrived we were told they didn’t have 3 ocean front rooms available on the Oasis side so 2 of us would be moved to the Grand side. We really didn't care where we were, just that we could be together. So we asked if we could all be moved to the grand side, and they refused (basically the front desk staff are rude and not at all helpful). So we all went to our rooms and the wonderful gentleman that took us there, Edgar, let us "oasis people" go to the grand side to see our friend's room. It was a great room, very modern style and the grand rooms are located on the side of the resort with the nice white buildings you see in the pictures online. Our room on the Oasis side had an amazing view and was clean. The only thing I didn't like about the room was the shower. Half the time the water was cold and the other half there was no pressure. If this happens to you, call the front desk and they will come up quickly and fix it, my husband watched them fix it the 2nd time and after that he was able to get good pressure and hot water for our showers.

P.S. We saw Edgar a lot during our stay there and he was always very helpful and friendly, we really enjoyed talking with him, if you need anything, look for Edgar.

Food
The food was what I would expect for an all-inclusive. I was disappointed we didn't have all the options for restaurants that the grand side had. We had 2 ala-carte options, an Italian and a Mexican restaurant. Both were good but we went Italian twice, the carbonara was amazing. The buffet was also good, make sure and get an omelet in the morning and ask for extra cheese!

Beach
BEAUTIFUL! One of the best I've been to. Bring water shoes and get up at 6 AM to reserve a beach chair (maybe if people quit suggesting you get up at 6 to get a chair, everyone would stop doing this, it's really silly). Also, beach towels are not available until 8 AM at the lifeguard stand on the beach (we walked around forever looking for towels the first day).

Entertainment
I saw the Mayan show on the beach and the light show. Both were entertaining and we enjoyed it. The Mayan show on the beach was my favorite, though. We also played sand volleyball and pool volleyball tournaments, both were a great time.

Efrain
I gave Efrain his own paragraph because he deserves it! Efrain is the bartender at the swim up bar on the oasis side with the sushi bar. We met him the second day of our stay and he took care of our drinking habit the rest of the trip. We spent our afternoons drinking, swimming, playing volleyball and joking around with Efrain. He made our stay at Oasis Tulum wonderful, we wouldn’t have had as great a trip without him. Ask him for a LeeAnn drink or a Neapolitan shot, tell him gonzo and the Iowa group sent you ☺

Overall we had a great trip. If you already have reservations, and you will be staying on the oasis side, no worries. Make the best of your trip and you will enjoy it, I don’t think there is any reason to switch resorts. If you have yet to book and are trying to decide if you should stay here or not, I would say yes. BUT pay a little extra for the grand side. The hot showers would be worth it to me. They also have a really nice rooftop bar and infinity pool over there that is cool. Make sure to wander over to the oasis side and see Efrain, though.

An extra note: After you stay 3 nights they will offer you an upgrade to another resort because they have been overbooking. We didn't do it because we only had 2 more nights left, but we knew 2 other couples that did move to the oasis Cancun because they were closer to the airport.

Room Tip: Grand side=hot showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindseyLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed Feb 4-11. 1st half of vacation was ok. mainly due to the beautiful weather and beautiful beach. The week was marked with staff with different answers to every question depending on who you asked, musty or mold smells in the room/bath, restauants offered were not as advertized, no fitness equipment, door locks not working, etc. We are generally go with the flow and just wanted to enjoy our vacation so we just let that all go. BUT>>>>Our room was broken into on friday. We had over $1000 of electronic equpiment and money taken.

The security staff took a report that was about three lines long. We tried to talk to a manager over and over and the staff kept giving us the run around about when he would be in. Staff lied about statements we made to them over and over so they would not be held liable. We had ordered a lock for the safe on day one and they never delivered one as promised. They also refused to give us more than one key for our room of three people. I told them about the lock and lack of keys and our door having issues locking and staff treated me like i was lying. I begged them to review security footage, something that should have been done immediatly, and they said they may in the future. We had three rooms booked for our party of 7 and they offered nothing to offset our loss, not even apology. It was only when mentioned this that they offered an apology and that is it.

When i mentioned that some people we met had their room broken into on the same night we were there they had no idea and tried to brush it off. They just happened to be in the room. Those people demanded to be moved and were comped massages after screaming and yelling at the staff/manager.

Also, sandals and books were stolen from people around the pool and by the beach area. Very unsafe and must keep your items on you.

Even on the last day we were there the staff came into our room at 7:30am for no reason and no explaination. Same with the room we had next door. We just happened to be there.

I was very disappointed by the lack of professionalism by the security, which was a joke. The staff, who were not clear about what was going on in general. And by the manager and concierge, who treated me like I was stupid. How frustrating! I plan to never, ever return there and to warn off as many people as possible.

Please don't go to this place. It will be a ruined vacation.

Room Tip: to choose a good room stay at another hotel. this hotel kept trying to send people to cancun as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just got back from the Oasis Tulum and let me tell you we were not disappointed. We read all of the reviews and we were really worried on what we got ourselves into!! We booked the Oasis Tulum Grand Oceanfront room and called several times to make sure that we were on the "Grand" side. When we arrived at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised! The resort was beautiful! Everything was clean and well kept. Check-in was smooth. Our room was not ready yet but they did give us out wrist bands and told up to check back in about 30 minutes. It took longer than that but we were able to get drinks.....nice strong drinks...so the time it took was not an issue!! We walked around and checked everything out and we were wondering at that point what everyone's issues were about!

While we were exploring the resort we came upon a gentleman named Emilio in the Box Wine Bar and he was wonderful! He took us around and showed us where everything was including the rooftop bar with cold tubs! OMG was that absolutely beautiful! Emilio was one of the highlights of our trip, he even arranged for a private dinner on the beach for my birthday! (at a small additional cost) He spoke excellent English and was bending over backwards to make sure our trip was the best it could be.

Once we got our room we were even more pleased! Our room was 2101 and it walked right out onto the sand. We had 2 chairs right outside our room but we did have to save them in the morning otherwise people would come up and take the chairs and move them down to the water but the staff did bring them back up every night and the towels were removed. The room was clean and very modern with a gorgeous view of the ocean! The beverages were stocked every day. There was an electronic safe in the room and the internet was provided for free in the lobby. I was on vacation so I was not looking for WiFi so I can not help anyone out on that.

We used the entire facility and walked every inch of the resort. We loved the entire place. We made it a point to ask people what they thought of the resort and their rooms and no matter where they were staying, the grand, the oasis or the Casa club they were all very happy and also said that they do not know what all of the complaints were about on here! The grounds are well taken care of and they are always cleaning and painting!

The drinks were well made and nice and strong! We loved the sushi wet bar and Efrian and Ana were great! Efrian would make the drinks and take the orders and even went all the way over to the Happy Chicken to get food if you do not want the sushi. Ana made the sushi and did and excellent job. She even had specials that she made that were not on the menu!! The buffet and restaurants were also great.

All said we had an excellent vacation and would defiantly go there again!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are the best!! No one had any major complaints about any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Beautiful property, beach, great snorkeling right off the beach. Many species of fish very close to shore. Very friendly staff. The lobby at the Grand Oasis is stunning. Excellent daytime and nighttime entertainment. Only one regular buffet Resteruant , which was busy but good. Only had occasional short waits. We did not like the A la cart Mexican Resteruant. The Marichi band was good but the sound system was deafening. It would have been perfect without the microphones. We did not utilize the other 3 resteraunts that required a $25 up charge per person. We heard the Gourmet Mexican Resteraunt was very good. We did enjoy the Italian Resteraunt. The afternoon Asian menu was very good available on the patio outside the buffet.. Beach chairs fill up fast. More beach towels and beach chairs could alleviate what seemed to be a shortage. The regular Oasis seemed to have some issues with some of their guest reservations- which would have been a big bummer after traveling 1/12 hrs from Cancun to get there.

Room Tip: Update and stay at The Grand Oasis. The rooftop pools are beautiful! Otherwise many of the pools a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Mass
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was the most poorly managed resort you could image.Food was not good,ask the same question 3 times and you will get 3 different answers.towel service both shower and beach were non-existant,room amenities were prehistoric,faucets leaked shower vaulve didnt work, hot water occasionally, electrical sockets were single plugs nowhere to plug in an iron which you didnt have in the room anyway.They offer 5 restaurants,but 3 of the 5 you have to pay $25.00 a person extra.they offer a safe for your vaulables,that took 2 different people to get working for a fee of $28.00 a week.The buffet got rushed every nite apon opening seated about 125 people with maybe 4 waiters working the room,good luck with beverage service,ohh ya the soda machine was out of syrup the last 3 days we were there.Did I mention we stood at the Oasis Grand which was the upgraded side of the hotel.It goes on and on there were 2 good parts. The pool and main lobby bartenders were excellent, and the fact that we finally got out of there.I wouldnt go back for free.STAY AWAY.

Room Tip: Couldnt say we stood in the Grand section and it was anything but.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mr L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

closest to the beach you can ask for ,food gets alittle boring but its good. The people work very hard there the front desk leaves something to be said though i have beeen there every year but 2012 miss the solitute if your looking for a big party this isnt the place ,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nudniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed on the grand side( Jan 28-Feb 4)...but only had a black band, you need a gold band to use all the advertised amenities. Resort was clean and well maintained, food was good. Sunwing needs to clarify in the advertising what you are getting with each part of the hotel. Would stay again if price was right for the Grand side.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harley26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
1.1 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
0.9 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#9 of 21 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#19 of 21 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 stars 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
1.0 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
1.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Tulum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Tulum

Address: Ctra. Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, Km. 251, Akumal 77780, Mexico (Formerly Be Live Grand Riviera Maya)
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oasis Tulum 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"People say I'm gorgeous, but that's just how nature made me: fresh and beautiful, with a price that's definitely down to earth. I run with the quiet crowd, away from the bright lights and hustle, but my beach is the most extraordinary paradise you can imagine, with its amazing shape and coral reef, and spectacular scenery all around. Bring the family: spend time at my spa while the children check out my super new Kids' Club". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oasis Tulum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Live Grand Riviera Maya Hotel Akumal
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Akumal
Oasis Grand Rivera Maya
Grand Oasis Riviera Maya Hotel
Club Oasis Akumal
Oasis Akumal
Oasis Grand Riviera Maya Hotel
Oasis Tulum Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing