We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”
Review of Dos Ojos Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dos Ojos Lodge
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I only really write reviews if something is super bad or really special. I thought Dos Ojos Lodge was a unique special place that deserves a mention.

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way from Playa del Carmen through to Valladolid. Suzan and Dan were the most wonderful warm-hearted hosts and will ensured we got the best of our trip giving us driving directions and some tips for our journey on.

The lodge is in the middle of the jungle in the Dos Ojos park, you are really with one with nature here. We spent a long time just sat in the hammock under the stars. They have a small dry cenote in their grounds that Dan has decked out with some lights.

The lodge is about a ten minute drive from town, but benefits from that. We've stayed in town before and found it to be very noisy.

I'd recommend Dos Ojos Lodge for it's tranquility and nature, but more than this the hosts make this lodge a real special place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Checkunderthebed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 23 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you are looking for a place to get away from the hustle and bustle in the Riviera Maya, Dos Ojos Jungle Lodge may be what you are looking for. The lodge is about 15 minutes north of Tulum and just a short distance off the highway, but it is isolated, with nothing else within walking distance. But there is a nice powder-sand public beach a 10-minute drive away that you can access for a small fee which generally has few people using it, and a nice restaurant just down the highway. The hosts at the lodge are ex-pats from New Jersey and are very friendly, very knowledgeable on traveling throughout much of Latin America and the local area, are engaging to talk to, and have a large bookcase of travel books. The included breakfast of fruit, juice, muffins and locally-grown coffee is served in the open-air, thatched-roof covered kitchen/common-area. There is a separate refrigerator for guest use. The room was clean and furnished minimally but adequately. Note that there is no A/C in the rooms, just a ceiling fan. While it was a bit warm during the day, the jungle cools off enough at night that we didn’t need A/C – the hosts said it never gets that hot in this seaside location. All 4 rooms are on the second floor, and there is no elevator. The property features the entrance to a maze of underground caves, which they will furnish you a map of, if you find that type of exploration exciting.

Room Tip: Only 4 rooms, all on second floor and all pretty much the same, although some are a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WisconsinVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Dos Ojos Lodge is a lovely little lodge halfway between Tulum and Akumal. The owners Dan and Suzan are so friendly and helpful, we felt like we were visiting friends rather than staying at a lodge. Rooms are comfortableand clean, and there are lots of fun activities nearby. We chose not to rent a car and had no problem getting around mainly by "Collectivos", and bus for longer distances. The lodge is nice and quiet and a great bargain! We would definitely come back, given half a chance!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just stay here if you want to enjoy the quietness of Riveria Maya. If you have you're own transportation this place is perfect. Just a 15 minute drive to Tulum Pueblo and another five to the Southern Beaches. Suzan and Dan are the owners who recently renovated the place and it is just lovely. It even has its own wet/dry cenote that you can explore. If you are diving the cenotes stay here. Luis from Dos Ojos divers will greet you happily. The degree of their experience and knowledge of diving surpassed my expectations. They are wonderful! Do yourself a favor and stay here a few days for your vacation. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahPME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you are looking for the real Riviera Maya, check Dos Ojos Lodge (DOL). Out of the various places I stayed at during my two and a half week trip starting from the Riviera Maya in Mexico for a laid back vacation,onward to California for business last spring, this was my favorite.

A welcoming oasis in the midst of a vibrate jungle setting; DOL has the overall feel of a rural, semi-elegant lodge. It’s a five-minute drive to a marvelous beach, which I found to be relaxing afternoons in paradise. In fact DOL has got to have the perfect location on the Riviera Maya... Pulling out of the B & B, you’ll find roads shooting off at right angles to various beach side resorts, vacation communities, undeveloped beaches and lagoons. The highway continues through road-side Quintana Roo and is also a short drive to Playa. From the highway a few roads go inland, west, to rural town, Mayan ruins, cenote freshwater pools (DOL has its own cenote to explore) and the state of Yucatan or Campeche where Spanish Colonial towns wait to be discovered by the more adventurous traveler seeking the deeper culture of Mexico and the Maya (popular destination such as Tulum, Akumal, Coba reachable in a short drive). Various authentic restaurants, bars, and stores are also located within driving distance of DOL.

The B & B was clean and tidy, my bed was comfortable, and Suzan and Dan, the proprietors were helpful and accommodating. The room itself was better than I expected. Comfy beds, showers with heaters. The rooms are compact, but well decorated and very clean. There were no TVs in the room, (although Wifi was exceptional) but they had attempted to brighten things up with cabanas and various local sculptures, drawings and books. It did give the effect of making me feel I was really away from the hustle and bustle of daily life. The only thing I didn't like was that I had not been able to stay longer.

There was also a nice selection of wine and micro beers. From what I understood there are plans for a lovely cabana bar opening at some point on a 3rd floor loft, overlooking the jungle.
All in all, it was a good experience staying at DOL. For the price you're paying, you're already getting good service; highly recommend it for those doing budget travel and can 'do things on their own'.

I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I was in Mexico February 2011 to perform a cave diving course with the dos ojos dive shop. I needed a place to stay in the area and this was/is the best option by far, especially if you have your own transportation. The rooms are clean and cleaned daily. Most importantly they are cleaned well. All of the amenities, though basic, worked as advertised. The couple who own and work the lodge are always available to help in anyway. You can look at the lodge in one of two ways, a hostel with FAR more amenities,space, safety and privacy than anything else available or a hotel with more personal interaction, customer service and cost savings than you could hope for. The only thing that could be seen as a downfall to staying here could be the location. The lodge is almost right between playa del Carmen and Tulum though definitely closer to tulum. If you are looking to walk out the door into a busy quaint Mexican street stay in tulum. If you plan on cave diving, traveling along the Mexican Riviera or staying outside the hustle and bustle then look no further.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great location at Dos Ojos, Nice Friendly Owners, New clean rooms, Restaurant near by. Away from the crowds and still only a short drive to Tulum or Akumal. We found Dos Ojos Lodge by accident while diving near by. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smparks33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jashita
Hotel Jashita
#1 of 2 in Soliman Bay
691 reviews
6.4 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
4.3 mi away
PavoReal Beach Resort Tulum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 21 in Akumal
342 reviews
3.1 mi away
O'Tulum
O'Tulum
#50 of 98 in Tulum
49 reviews
4.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dos Ojos Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dos Ojos Lodge

Address: Road 307, Kilometer 244.5, Akumal 77710, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Price Range: $45 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dos Ojos Lodge is conveniently located off Mexico 307 at the entrance to the Dos Ojos Cenote system just north of Tulum. We are also home to the Sistema Del Tercer Ojo cave system, located on our property. By car, we are a one-hour drive from the Cancun International airport, 30 minutes from Playa Del Carmen, and 10-15 minutes from the scenic ruins and pristine beaches of Tulum. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dos Ojos Lodge Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing