We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A week to remember!”
other travelers have booked this property
Breezeway to our beach and the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breezeway to our beach and the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay.
The terrace pool and walkways welcome you to the Condo from our parking area. It's usually quiet and peaceful in this tropical garden setting.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Breezeway to our beach and the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay.
The terrace pool and walkways welcome you to the Condo from our parking area.
It's usually quiet and peaceful in this tropical garden setting.
Courtyard
The building is located in the courtyard area.
Living room
Inside Condo
Inside Condo
Dining room with table setting for 6
Kitchen and Dining Area
New desk area in case you are on a working vacation - bring your own laptop - Free Wi-Fi included
Main bedroom with private bathroom and private balcony with view of the Caribbean
View from terrace off main bedroom
Second bedroom with two twin beds and programable safe
View from second bedroom
View from second bedroom
Our terrace pool for cooling off after a nice snorkel.
The terrace pool is waiting for you to jump in!
Breezeway to beach
Ahhhhh
Pool with wonderful view of Half-Moon Bay
Entryway to the best snorkeling on Half-Moon Bay
Beach with fresh-water showers, palapas, and loungers
Beach in front of condo complex
Half-Moon Bay at sunset
Half-Moon Bay
Ahhhh
Half-Moon Bay at dusk
Akumal Bay
Akumal Bay
Yal-Ku Lagoon - short walk away
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Cave Diving - there are lots of local cenotes to snorkel or scuba dive in.
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Snorkeling Sights
Turtle release on Akumal Bay
Fun at Xplor (eco-park)
Fun at Explor (eco-park)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
susiehw
Olympia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week to remember!”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We really loved our week in Akumal. The condo was everything we needed with comfort and ease. The pool and beach were just what we needed to relax and unwind. Renting bikes to go into town for meals and such was great in the June heat. Peggy is wonderful to work with, even with my husband's 100 questions and when one of the pools was underconstruction for the week she even comped us one night's fees- which was much appreciated.
The turtles in the bay, the salmon salad at thenTurtle Cafe', a day trip to Slavatica to appease our teenagers need for zip lining, and just reading good books in the sun...such a great week full of family memories we will talk about for many years to come!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was out of the way but convenient to all the needed amenities.
Liked least: The bed was extra firm.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acoldday
British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed March 27, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Just back this week from a 7 night stay in Akumal. I booked with Peggy who was so responsive and answered every question (some twice) and it is so clear she just wants you to enjoy their space and this beautiful paradise. We surely did! The condo comes with a great owner assembled guide book with menus and other activity brochures and suggestions. This was very helpful in planning day trips. There are also books on all the fish and fauna that you likely spent a good chunk of your day exploring for.

The kitchen came equipped well and had basic staples like spices, sugar, and coffee and tea. Drinking water was replaced regularly and ice trays were full when we arrived. We generally had breakfast and lunch "in" and went out for the evening.

Overall, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. The proximity to the beach, Yal-Ku, and the quite locale suited us quite well. Be sure to check out the closest restaurant, Que Ono on Sundays when they do Al Pastor Tacos. These were the best we ate all week. They also very kindly cooked the Mahi-Mahi I caught for free, and didn't mind when I shared it with a few friends who also showed up.

Pros- Quiet, beach and snorkel access (2 minute swim to the reef), good housekeeping, AC in bedrooms, small but nicely shaded pools, beach shower (when working), helpful staff, cheap bike rentals, many extra touches thrown in by owner.

Cons- Too far from core of town (of course, this is what keeps it quiet), our choice not to rent a car was not right for us. My wife found the mattress a little firm. I'm really struggling to think of anything else....we LOVED it!!

Thank you Mike and Peggy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peggy's flexibility and attention to detail.
Liked least: Too much walking (will rent a car next time).
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jill T
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Condo”
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This condo is every thing you will need for a nice vacation. Well equipped with plenty of room to sleep and relax. The pools are small but nice. Peggy was very nice to work with. She provided helpful information on the area once we booked. The staff at the condo are very helpful. Location is fine if you have a car, otherwise it is a bit remote. It is too far to walk to the pueblo, or even Akumal central, but if you have a car, you can certainly drive. Yal Ku lagoon is very close and a great place to snorkle. It is a quiet place with a few people to interact with. No big crowds or loud people like you can find in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Butler
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing condo to enjoy”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Went spent 13 days in La Iguana #13. Our daughter also went with us. We had an extremely good time. You leave the condo and walk through a breezeway and you're at the Half Moon Bay beach. You can snorkel or just lay on the beach and enjoy the view. There are numerous places to dine right on the beach or you can prepare your meals at the condo. The walk to the entrance is approx. 1 mile and a very enjoyable walk. Akumal is a very quiet, enjoyable place to spend 2 weeks. We would definitely go back again. There are quite a few places that we still did not get to see. The people there at the condo are so very friendly, and very helpful. I could go on and on to tell you how wonderful this condo and the surroundings are. The maid service, her name was, Silvia, she was the best! We want to thank Mike & Peggy for their help.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugarloaf Key, Florida
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Loved Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PEHOWARD
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Spacious, off the beaten trail, ocean front”
Reviewed May 1, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
6
people found this review helpful

We stayed 9 nights in La iguana #13 in April. Here is the good:
1. Peggy - Owner is SUPER helpful and very timely with answering email. She also sent a bunch of really great maps that helped us plan some day trips and provided a good overview of places to go and things to do.
2. Spacious - 2 very nice bedrooms and the 2 twin beds in the 2nd bedroom worked perfect for our 9 and 10 year old. 2 full bathrooms (with master en suite bathroom) also very nice to have. Showers only. FYI - You cannot put toilet paper in the toilet.
3. Location - Quiet part of Akumal located on Half Moon bay very close to Yal-Ku lagoon. Ocean front so you can walk right out into the ocean. If you like to snorkel or explore tide pools this is ideal.
4. 'Beach' - Not exactly beach access into the ocean. There is a sea wall and on the condo side of the sea wall is a 'man made' beach that offers very nice lounge chairs and small palapas to block the sun. These are only used by La Iguana so you are pretty much guaranteed to get a prime spot. And there is plenty of sand. On the ocean side of the sea wall is the ocean. I think it is limestone/ coral so you pretty much will want to have some sort of shoe on to walk around here. Kids got around in flip-flops. I used a teva sandal. The water visibility here is excellent. And you can swim a couple hundred yards to reach some really nice coral and see good fish. Good idea to wear a life jacket so you can swim as far as you want. Couple of folks I talked to also saw turtles in the area.
5. Air Conditioner - Had A/C in each bedroom and this really helped make it easier to sleep. They are a little noisy but they kept the bedrooms very comfortable.

Not as good:
1. Pools - The main pool in the courtyard is decent size. Maybe 20' X 8'. Not real big but enough that you can swim. The pool facing the ocean is a sheltered plunge pool. Not sure this ever gets used. If they could turn this into a hot tub it would be amazing and much more useful.
2. Ants - Peggy advised us there are ants and we did see them. We only saw the real small ones and we used lysol spray to wipe them off. Didn't bother us much.
3. Water - Daily maid service keeps a full water (5-10 gallon) bottle on the kitchen counter. You need to use this for ALL your personal water needs. We used the tap water to wash dishes but I would sometimes use the bottle of water for a final/quick rinse (drinking cups).
4. No TV service - This is good and bad. We didn't waste anytime watching TV. But at the end of the day we were limited to the videos that Peggy had in the unit. (Which we appreciated having the videos and we watched a lot of them).

All and all, we really liked this condo. It fit our needs. The biggest thing that we would change would be a bigger pool (for the kids) and a hot tub.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R
Powhatan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Choice at La Iguana #13”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Quiet location away from Town, with a pool right outside the door. Caught a sunset on the roof, snorkeled in half moon bay, walked the beach looking for turtles to hatch, and enjoyed having WiFi access so we could spend some down time in the Condo itself. Unlike a hotel room, it gives you room to spread out and still be together. Played Uno card game with the kids, made smoothies from mango and pineapple we bought at the Akumal farmer's market (one farmer, but visited him twice), and Peggy was great to work with.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location on the beach, affordable price
Liked least: Air conditioning doesnt work well
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing