We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect condo to explore the Yucatan”
other travelers have booked this property
Del Sol Beachfront in the evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Del Sol Beachfront in the evening
Vista del Mar's new Swimming Pool Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
57 reviews
Del Sol Beachfront in the evening
Vista del Mar's new Swimming Pool
Living Room
View to Open Plan Kitchen
View from Kitchen to Bedroom and Living Area
Master Bedroom with private Bathroom
Master Bedroom with King Bed
View to Front Door from Living Room
Fully equipped Kitchen with sea views
Second Bedroom with full and single beds
Balcony of Vista del Mar/Del Sol Condos
Bedroom sleeps 3
View North from Vista del Mar/Del Sol
Sunrise over Half Moon Bay
The Swimming Pool
Palm in front of condos
View from Half Moon Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Akumal, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MainLineE...
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect condo to explore the Yucatan”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I was a little nervous about renting a car and staying at an unknown place sight unseen. But this condo was the perfect place for our family and an amazing location for exploration of both sea and land. The condo (unit 6) was very specious. The open plan kitchen/dining room/living area had plenty of comfortable seating. The kitchen was well equipped. I did not use the oven, but the dishes, microwave, coffee maker and fridge all came in use for breakfast making and snacks. We ate out for dinners, but one could make a whole meal there without any problems.
The living room opens onto a small porch with table and a hammock and then it is just steps to the sand and Half Moon bay. A gorgeous view of palms and sea right from the living room.
The bay itself is pretty rocky, but we still swam and enjoyed it. Plenty of fish, though not as amazing as the Akumal bay (10 minutes walk to the South).
The staff were incredibly kind and helpful. They changed water coolers as needed, changed sheets on Christmas day despite our last minute request, cleaned all our dishes every day and were gracious about everything. FYI: There are towels at the reception for beach going.
From the condo it is 10 minutes walk away to Akumal bay where you can see sea turtles as well as swim to lovely reef for snorkeling. Akumal bay has all the basic shops you may need: a small supermarket, a couple of restaurants, same day laundry (not too expensive). In the other direction the condo is 15 minutes walk or less then a 5 minute drive to Yu Kill bay where the fish swim into a sheltered lagoon. It is perfect for a half day of snorkeling at leisure.
We explored Cenotes close by (I especially recommend Dos Ojos 15 minutes drive to the South). Tulum is a nice 1/2 hours. Coba is a day trip.
We stayed for 4 nights and then continued on to Chichen Itze where we stayed overnight before going back to spend a couple of nights in Cancun. Having never been to the area before, I was glad we did that, but truthfully I would have been happy just hanging out at Akumal for a whole week. There s plenty of possible day trips from there and the condo was a really wonderful base for a family.
I would also recommend place for a multi generational family vacation. We often travel in a large group with ages 2 to 80 and this place would be wonderful. One could easily get a few condos together and mix hanging out with exploration of the area.

Absolutely nothing bad to write. Go and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, spaciousness and staff.
Liked least: The sheets were a little on the old side
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadGarden...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed October 27, 2011 for a stay in October 2010

When I think Mexico, I think this condo location. They are clean and the staff is very accomodating. The location can't be beat. It's on Half Moon Bay which is a shallow bay and is very quiet. It is about a mile from Akumal Bay, which is the bay just south and you pass when entering the resort area.

Snorkeling in HMB can be tricky, as there is a rip in the middle of two walls. It's better if you walk down to La Joya and get in the bay there. Go about 100 feet and you will start to get into the coral. Be careul not to touch the coral. The rocks also have coral growing on them, they shouldn't be stepped on or used as a resting place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's quiet
Liked least: can't think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EandK
Fayetteville, AR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay (just hit a small bump at the beginning)”
Reviewed October 15, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Our stay at Vista del Mar turned out great. After it poured rain all of our 2nd night we woke up to room 301 being flooded. This was a 3rd floor studio with no damper under the door. 90+% of the floor was covered in water. We waited till reception opened at 8am and headed down for help. After initially being told that a maid would be up at 9am to mop and that it was the rainy season, we insisted that it was worse than they probably thought and were shown an alternate room. The guys in reception were very accommodating and actually moved us to a huge 1st floor 2 bedroom unit (unit 6). We were very happy with our stay in this unit. Only cons were: little ants in kitchen area and the shower took at least 10 minutes for hot water to arrive. I think we would go back for the location to the beautiful beach and water. We enjoyed the little bit (2 minute drive) of isolation from Akumal Bay. Half Moon Bay was super peaceful and far from crowded in July. Rent a car for access to Tulum, cenotes, Xel-Ha. Definetly go to Yal-Ku-5 minutes from Vista del Mar...probably my husband's fav spot. We spotted way more turtles in Akumal Bay and ate at Lol-Ha there more than anywhere else over the 8 days.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewed August 14, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MO, USA
Reviewed August 13, 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
oklahoma city ok
Reviewed May 11, 2010 for a stay in April 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed April 21, 2010 for a stay in April 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$123
/ Night
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing