We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM, 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing animal rescue in the middle of the jungle!

My wife, mother in law, sister in law and my “compadre” had a great time. We all had very... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 3 days ago
hntrmedore
,
Boca Raton, Florida
A special place doing important work

This is a special place doing important work that is worthy of your support. Alex my tour guide was... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 5 days ago
Michael W
,
New York, New York, United States
Read all 64 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Akumal
from $89.00
More Info
from $89.00
More Info
from $70.77
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
60
2
0
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
60
2
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful cenote highly recommend this tour educational tour local flora and fauna wealth of information their lives wild pigs amazing experience an excellent guide yucatan peninsula underground cenote spider monkeys highlight of our trip emilio antonio animals jungle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 64 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Visit with a small group (7 pers) with an Excellent guide on fauna and flora. Ecological approach. Discover of new species.

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 125coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio A, Director General at Akumal Natura Rescue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


It makes us very happy, read their beautiful words.
It is a pleasure to share our work and our passion with you, we hope that you have taken a part of us so that we can create bridges for our mother nature.
A big hug for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Ariel was an absolutely incredible guide, his passion for the animals was infectious. The cenote was magical. Highly recommend this tour, it was one of the highlights of our trip.

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Safari165751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio A, Director General at Akumal Natura Rescue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your visit and for your noble contribution to this cause.
Our entire team sends you a warm greeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020

This review is way overdue! We had the opportunity to visit the Rescue on October 1st, 2019, and it was one of the favorite parts of our trip to Akumal last year. We have been to Akumal 5 times, and I have
been eyeing this rescue since the first time, and now I wonder why I waited so long! We were a group of 7 adults, and the rescue was just a quick taxi ride from our hotel. We were welcomed warmly by the team at Akumal Glamping, and had the chance to walk the glamping site with our guide Antonio.
At the glamping site, Antonio and his team showed us the hives of their bees, and it is obvious that Antonio has a passion to increase the bee population in Mexico. The honey they produce is unbelievable, we urge you to buy some. It is unlike any honey we can get here in Canada. He has inspired us to look into bee keeping back here in Montreal!
After the glamping tour (which is a camping site I'd like to stay in sometime), we hopped into the pick-up and travelled 15 minutes into the jungle to get to the rescue.
Again, the team is obviously dedicated to the rescue, rehabilitation and release of local wildlife. Antonio is so knowledgeable, and his love for what he is doing is palpable. One of the staff, who is also a mariachi, even sings to the parrots!
A definite highlight are the monkeys that have been rescued by Antonio and his crew. They each have their own personality. There are so many other animals that we had the chance to learn about.
We planted a gum tree, another highlight of my trip this year, and then a quick walk to the most amazing cenote that we have ever seen! You must go! Words or pictures do not do this cenote justice.
We loved this experience, and would not hesitate to return on our next visit to Akumal. Well done Akumal Natura Rescue!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank wendylR6754RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio A, Director General at Akumal Natura Rescue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Reading his incredible comment lets us know that we are doing a very good job and that we raise awareness with our visitors so that each and every one of us can care for and preserve the immense gift that nature gives us.
It will be a pleasure to receive you again in the future.
See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020

We had a wonderful time visiting Akumal Natura Rescue. Our guide, Ariel, was incredibly knowledgeable and fully answered all of our questions. Learning about the indigenous and rehabbed animals and the group's preservation effort was great, and the closed cenote was very cool to see. I definitely recommend this experience!!!

Date of experience: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Ann_D_804-843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio A, Director General at Akumal Natura Rescue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind words and for your good recommendations, we are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and have left your ecological footprint.
The team of Akumal Natura Rescue and the animals send a cordial greeting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We got to see lots of interesting wildlife and get quite an education on bees. The tour was not strenuous, so it is accessible to everyone. It is nice to get off the beaten path and away from the crowds to see experience the natural parts of the Yucatan. I would highly recommend the tour.

Date of experience: December 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio A, Director General at Akumal Natura Rescue, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your visit and for your contribution to the Mayan community, we hope you can return soon so that you can continue learning from our work and continue enjoying our facilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews