We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turtles turtles and turtles”

Turtle Snorkeling in Akumal
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
3-in-1 Discovery Combo Tour: Tulum Ruins, Reef Snorkeling Plus Cenote and Caves
Ranked #3 of 23 Tours in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover the amazing experience of swimming and seeing the Green Turtles all year in Akumal, our environmental friendly tour is also for first timers, no previous experience needed, you just decide to come and we will assure you have one of the most fascinating experiences ever!
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“turtles turtles and turtles”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We tried snorkeling in Playa del carmen anbd Cozumel. No turtles while on both snorkeltrips they were promised... We understand you cant promise that, but some people will believe it. In Akumal we went out and just saw turtles. Turtles. And more turtles. Not busy with people at all. Go to Akumal to see the turtles.
Grant

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,044
    245
    75
    19
    33
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Turtles Galore and More”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went snorkelling in Akumal Bay with the tour group Ocean Tours. They picked us up from our hotel on Maroma Beach and first took us to Akumal. We watched a short video at the CEA and then continued into the ocean for our snorkelling trip. There was only about 10 of us, plus a photographer and guide. We saw tonnes of turtles feeding and surfacing for air. We also saw loads of coral fish, stingrays, a barracuda and a large snapper. It was amazing!!!! We were fortunate to have arrived early in the morning so it wasn't too busy. However, once our 60 minutes of snorkelling was up and we headed back to the dive shop for a drink it was getting pretty busy. The tour included our fins, mask, snorkel and lifejacket.

After our drink we headed to a location with three different cenotes. We swam in both an open one and a partially closed one. We also hiked for a bit to see another one. We learned a lot about the Mayan traditions associated with the cenotes, which was great! After we enjoyed a drink and snack and then headed back to the resort by 2:00pm. It was such a lovely day.

They also offer the option to purchase the pictures taken during the day. It was well worth the $25.00US because the photographer got some amazing closeups.

We would definitely recommend snorkelling in Akumal, visiting cenotes and using Ocean Tours.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildgrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This trip was the highlight of my vacation.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The tour guide was so kind. The trip was amazing. I highly recommend snorkeling in Akumal!

The secret: don't use a planned trip through your resort. They are overpriced and you can't decide when to go or leave. Instead, take a cab from your resort. It cost us (a party of 4) 20 each round trip for cab fare and the driver waited until we were finished to take us home. It cost
15 each to snorkel with a guide. A must do!

Helpful?
4 Thank Fvpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A 'must do' trip”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great experience, both snorkelling in the clear waters and visiting a beach where the locals all go. No need to pay for a trip, we got a taxi there and back and just hired the equipment when there. A real 'must do'.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank brandymandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau Quebec
Level Contributor
124 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Hey dude!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked a snorkeling half day trip through our hotel went to Akumal to see turtles. We saw several however it got very busy - a lot of tours. I would suggest going early in the morning to avoid the crowds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank barnloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Snorkeling in Akumal also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Turtle Snorkeling in Akumal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing