We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cenote row,,,just above the cheapest cenotes..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aktun Chen

Aktun Chen
Book In Advance
$60*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote...
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An underground cave with spectacular rock formations.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“cenote row,,,just above the cheapest cenotes..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we really enjoyed the cenotes in the area just not this one...Not great snorkeling small cenotes with a good jungle view...better off going to nearby cenoted...(AZUL) was or favorite...

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank James45963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    207
    45
    7
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We traveled to Mexico for a wedding. We decided to take a zip line excursion. This was the perfect one! It was a lot for your dollar. Lots of fun and beautiful scenery!

Helpful?
Thank Wursty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great EXPERIENCE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

WOW! This was a wonderful excursion. So much fun packed into one place. We started out the day doing a wonderful zip line experience. The Zips were super fast and fun! Also no hiking required which was a plus for my boyfriend who hurt his foot. The staff who works the zip lines were also so great. Very funny and friendly.

Next we went snorkeling a Cenote. This was a wonderful different experience. We got some good pictures on account of a digital underwater camera which I highly recommend because it had a flash. Our tour guide took some great pics for us.

Then we went onto the Cave. It was very cool. Just a little too long and we were starving at this point so we were all ready to eat. We learned a lot of cool stuff but it could have been streamlined a bit.

Last we had some lunch, it was included in the trip. Nothing fancy but pretty decent food.

We really had a great time here. There were also really cute animals especially tons of Monkey's! We got to feed the friendly one Bananas!

*Note this was also quite far from Cancun. The transportation was a bit more streamlined and not as crazy as other trips.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“interesting and good tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

our tour guide was very informative and the formation was quite interesting. highly recommended. not cheap, but worth it one time.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank beach s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Walking in an amazing cave, and snorkling in an underground river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was one of my best experiences in Mexico. We spent around 45 minutes walking in a 100% natural cave; the cave was almost 100 million year old. After that, we went to an area very close and we swam in a fresh underground river, and snorkeling too

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Qasem_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aktun Chen also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aktun Chen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing