We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ziplining and cave tour were excellent”
Review of Aktun Chen

Aktun Chen
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Coba Ruins Early Access Tour with an Archaeologist and Cenote...
More Info
$107.10*
and up
Tulum Ruins and Underground Cenote and Cave Tour from Cancun
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An underground cave with spectacular rock formations.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ziplining and cave tour were excellent”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I went to Aktun Chen with a friend from the wedding party. The zipline guides were great and especially made a good impression on us. They have a ziplining monkey that WILL try to steal shiny stuff from you but he can't get very far and it was fun. They'll let you ride upside down and try flipping off the platform! And they'll spin you like a helicopter if you want them too!

The cave tour was enjoyable and informative. I like being able to see the bats in the ceiling and how the roots from the trees above have come completely through the cave to get to the water table below where we were standing. Bring a good camera to get pictures of the cenote on the tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblingManTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    267
    57
    14
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zip Lining...”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The whole family enjoyed zip lining at Aktun Chen and some of the family also did the cave excursion. Everything was reasonably priced and very fun!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent trip that is close to playa del Carmen and our resort”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Interesting and information about the site and how the columns and such are formed. Bring your good camera for the cave portion and lock it up and use a waterproof one for the cenote snorkeling. The snorkeling is breath taking and after the cave tour the cooler fresh water is refreshing on a hot day. Will definitely go again and possibly try canopy aka zip lines on our next visit

Helpful?
Thank Ravinmadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Three enjoyable activities in one”
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

We visited Aktun Chen through Indiana Joe's. we zip lined, did the cave tour, and snorkeled through a cenoté. All were enjoyable. The guides were knowledgable, knew what they were doing, and took good care of us. A very fun, unique time.

Helpful?
Thank Mynarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hubert
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great eco park-wonderful cave and cenote, zip lines..safe fun!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved this little gem. We did the whole experience..the ziplining was lots of fun and the guides followed great safety and hygiene procedures. Our guides were Jamie and Dilbert..they were fabulous. Next we did the cave walk. This is a very long cave with lots to see. Our guide pointed out lots of features and interesting formations. This cave has been featured in National Geographic. The cave was very natural with the exception of a few well placed lights which really did enhance the experience.
Then we had a very nice lunch cooked to order. This was in a real restaurant in the jungle..really cool. Chips, homemade salsa, and a very good fajita platter. The lunch was served very quickly so we could make it to our final activity..the cenote swim.
We had a wonderful time in the cenote thanks to our guide Samuel. He showed me everything, including a cave within the cenote. We had to go under a wall and hold our breath to see this wonderful large cave. After we snorkeled the denote, Samuel did the coolest trick making rings of bubbles that looked like smoke rings underwater. It was incredible. Then Samuel took our camera and showed us lots of places to stand for some fabulous pictures. The park has a photographer who takes lots of ziplining pictures and they are offered for sale later. It was so refreshing for our cenote guide offer to take lots of pictures. He enjoys photography and it showed. The pictures are really good.
Do take money for tips. Remember these guides make a lot less than those of us who travel a lot.
Each guide for each activity has a tip jar. The service was really good and I think it is appropriate to tip well. We gave tips to all...they all made our experience very awesome. It was a great day!
I will visit again if we come back to the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aktun Chen also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Aktun Chen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing