We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool natural feature”
Review of Yal-ku Lagoon

Yal-ku Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Caribbean Sea and Cenote Snorkeling Adventure from Tulum
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Tulum Combo Tour: Archaeological Site, Cenotes and Yalku Lagoon
More Info
$119.00*
and up
Yax Kin Cenote, Yalku Lagoon and Xpuha Beach Combo Tour with Snorkeling
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although the brackish water in this lagoon makes visibility difficult, there are still lots of fish and underwater caverns to explore by snorkeling or diving.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool natural feature”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We snorkeled in Yal-ku later in the day, and since it was late we asked for a discount - they let us in for the local child price! Give it a try! The lagoon is beautiful and we saw lots of fish, some as big as small dogs (no joke!). Worth the trip for sure.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mieldelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,283
    675
    284
    109
    53
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing! One of our favorite experiences on our Riviera Maya trip.”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We snorkeled Yal Ku for HOURS! It was so cool. It was like swimming in a giant aquarium. The water is crystal clear and teeming with fish and plant life. We saw one really, REALLY big fish (probably the size of a four year old child!) and came back and asked the staff about it. It was a loro fish--bright and colorful! We thought this was way better than snorkeling out in the ocean because the water was so calm we could just get lost for hours exploring. Great for all ages too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Nice for a few hours”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Lagoon area is very nice and has a well maintained park. There were not as many fish as I expected to see and water clarity was good but not great. Also entry points into and out of the water are covered with lots of algae and are very slippery so be careful when getting in or out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern oregon
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“The Lagoon Has been Destroyed! No Plant Life Left!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed in a condo about 150 yards from the lagoon and decided one day to visit it. What a disappointment! We had to pay $10.00 each to snorkel there, with our own (equipment), and that was $10.00 too much.
We have snorkeled in many lagoons, cenotes and such but never have we seen one so devastated. There is virtually no plant life left in the lagoon at all. The water is so murky you at times can't see more then 3 feet in front of you. The only things left there are some fish and hundreds of tourists.
Try somewhere else!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank benddragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

The experience is so cool! There are so many fish and coral! We did not see the turtles, but I hear they are really cool to see. The staff was very helpful and the swimming, you never want it to end!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank morningstar7315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yal-ku Lagoon also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Yal-ku Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing