We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Alternative to Xel Ha”
Review of Yal-ku Lagoon

Yal-ku Lagoon
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Caribbean Sea and Cenote Snorkeling Adventure from Tulum
Ranked #6 of 27 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Although the brackish water in this lagoon makes visibility difficult, there are still lots of fish and underwater caverns to explore by snorkeling or diving.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Niagara Falls,
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Affordable Alternative to Xel Ha”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Yul Ka is a really nice lagoon for snorkelling. There are tons of fish to see. I have been here 3 times and I always find it interesting.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,252
    659
    278
    108
    50
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very helpful”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We went to Akumal to snorkel but the people in the shops there were all busy and no one would help us so we decided to go to Yalku lagoon instead. The people there were friendly although it did cost us more. The water in the ocean was choppy that day but the lagoon was peaceful and relaxing. We spent about 1 1/2 hours there. We enjoyed it and were glad we went.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank tiffster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This lagoon is so lovely, you will see fish and turtles, If you go to the public access they have done a lovely job of creating paths and adding gorgeous sculptures.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank imagineakumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Level Contributor
512 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“My favorite place to unwind”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

This place is getting overused, as is Akumal beach by tourists coming from Cancun and all inclusives in the area. The best time to visit and enjoy the many different fish would be as close to 8 a.m as possible, or after 4:30, when the last of the tourist buses leave. We love to stay in a villa with private and free access any time of day. This is when you can really see what it is all about. No one is stirring up the moss and sand, and no people standing on what is left of the coral in the lagoon. Mornings are best to catch the shy fish when the wake up and start to get their breakfast before the swarms of snorkelers chase them away. We were so relaxed while snorkeling a few weeks ago early in the morning, that I almost fell asleep. Now that is a stress free vacation....

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Akumalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
218 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“It's OK”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This lagoon in Akumal is nice. There is a large area for snorkeling and some sitting areas. It would have a higher rating but there is an admission fee and there is a great FREE snorkeling spot in town. If you have never been it is worth a visit and the fees can help maintain the spot.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
Thank DeltaBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yal-ku Lagoon also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Yal-ku Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing