We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtles swimming off shore”
Review of Akumal Beach

Akumal Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.00*
and up
Yucatan Peninsula Full-Day Private Tour: Akumal, Tulum Ruins and Cenote Swim
More Info
$180.00*
and up
Akumal Full-Day Jungle ATV and Zipline Adventure Tour
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Turtle Snorkeling and Magical Cenote Tour in Tulum
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wales UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Turtles swimming off shore”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a public beach with Turtles swimming off shore. Try to take a life jacket with you the water is very deep were the turtles swim, life jackets can now only be hired as part of a tour.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,287
    2,728
    704
    182
    133
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Must For A Day Trip”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was our third visit to playa akumal in the last 5 years and it is still serene and beautiful. We snorkelled in the late morning and lounged on the beach under the shade of a palm tree. Cold cervezas are only a few steps away and washrooms are available for 5 pesos. My tip of the day is to skip the paid tour and bring your own snorkel gear and just head out into the crystal blue waters and explore by yourself.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Don't need a tour to see turtles!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Took the collectivo from our resort ( Gran Bahai) took about 15 minutes to get there then 5 minute walk to beach.
We brought our own masks and snorkle( no fins) . There were five of us.. three of us saw turtles and sting rays.. no tour we just snorkled off beach.. we didn't even have to go beyond ropes ( where tours went.. ) We had lunch at Lol Ha. great food and service .. this was a great day !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank joan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We really enjoyed Akumal beach. One of our favs in the area. Snorkeling with the turtles was fun. The water is clearer in the morning, but tends to get murky in the afternoon. Busy but not crowded

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank garyr59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Slightly underwhelming but with potential”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We visited the dive center at the beach. We went out with the center's dive boat for a 9:00 and an 11:30 dive. The visibility was not as good as further north. This is contrary to the book I had purchased on dive spots in the region. It appears that there has been some significant storm damage in recent years to the coral. We did see lionfish, a scorpion fish, numerous lobsters, some gigantic barrel sponges, a barracuda, and multiple reef fish.

Afterward we went snorkeling in the bay. That was excellent. Sting Rays, cuttlefish, puffer fish, and , of course, turtles. There is ample nearby parking and a couple of good restaurants.The bay has an area that is marked for swimming Bouys keep the boats away. It is only about 10 feet deep at its deepest but is loaded with sea life. It is also sheltered by a reef so there is no current or surf issues.

The beach is a wonderful place to lay out, swim, play in the sand.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akumal Beach also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Akumal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing