We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Beach on QR Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akumal Beach

Akumal Beach
Akumal, Mexico
Improve this listing
Book In Advance
$99*
and up
Snorkeling with Turtles in Akumal and Yalku Lagoon
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Searcy, Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Beach on QR Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I been on most of the beaches from Cancun to Xcalac and Akumal has the nicest because it is in a cove with a jetty on the north end. The water is totally clear too. The only other beach to rival Akumal is the State Park beach on St George Island, FL. I stay in Tulum every year and I always visit Akumal because I like the beach.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jorge8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,768
    2,182
    535
    127
    90
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beauty and The Unexpected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Amazing beach, amazing views and what? Sea turtles, tuna, reef fish and corals right there in the shallows. We saw a sea turtle over three feet and fish of amazing sizes right there snorkeling in the bay. Fisherman brought in Mahi Mahi and divers went out on boats the day we were there....so much to see and do in this area with food and shopping right there. What a Mecca for peace, beauty and entertainment for all.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigbrowndoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My favorite day trip !!! And its free !!! We had our own snorkles and fins, so we just had to rent lifejackets, but you can expect to pay $5 for each piece of equipment you rent ! Highly reccommend a life jacket. There is an interactive video you can watch which basically tells you not to touch anything, stand on anything and not to hover too long watching stuff so everyone gets a chance to see. Easy to find the turtles or just watch where the groups are and you will find them. You can pay extra and get a guide that will take you around if you are a nervous snorkler but its pretty laid back and an easy swim. Lotz of shops and drinks and eats altho they aren't cheap for sure ! You could pack in your own food/drinks. Beach was long and a beautiful walk. We actually walked one way from Oasis Tulum and then took a cab back ($3/each) to the resort.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank warminup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sea Turtles!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We took a taxi here from our resort and snorkelled with the sea turtles for about 2 hours. We brought our own equipment, so we only rented a locker from the dive shop. We just headed out in the water to where the snorkel groups were. Very easy to find turtles. So much fun. We also did a bit of shopping here. Lots of fun art to look at, but shop keepers not interested in bartering. Very worth while stop!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TracyinPalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had heard and researched this spot beforehand and were still amazed with the experience. Isn't that the best kind of adventure?
We recommend renting life vests, since it makes the swim easier and that lets you stay in the water longer. Swim around, watch the marine life, look for the submerged cannons and if you can't find anything on your own, go to the groups of snorkelers swimming in one spot; a sure sign they found something.
We saw turtles, rays and squid, plus some reef fish. Not a lot of sealife, but enough to make it worthwhile. And wear sunscreen. Your exposed body parts need it in the tropical sun. Just make sure it is the eco friendly type, for the sake of the creatures you came here to see. It is worth it. Enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akumal Beach also viewed

Akumal, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Akumal Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing