We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa and Casitas Tranquilidad
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
vancouver canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a wonderful home away from home”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I loved my top floor Yal-Ku suite. It was spacious and private and peaceful. Mary and Pablo were so helpful. Even when I was away and got stuck in Chiapas, they were helpful and caring, and when I returned, it was so nice to see that big sofa and sleep in that great bed again. Felt like coming home!
Loved the bikes, which were rented to me at a fraction of the price charged by the hotels, and I had so much fun riding to town for groceries, feeling like a local. The roads were no problem at all.
A wonderful home away from home.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank essentialself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

So happy to have found Casa Tranquilidad for our trip to Akumal! We were looking for a place to relax and have access to Ya Kul Lagoon and the bays, Half Moon and Akumal. We were not interested in being right on a beach, just wanted a restful place to stay with easy access and that is what we got. Mary, Pablo and Dulce made our stay very comfortable! Two bedrooms with two bathrooms with showers. AC was available but we just used the ceiling fans. The pool in the back garden was chilly, but kind of what I expect in February. I came for the relaxation, the ocean, the lagoon and the wonderful and peaceful garden. We used the available bikes to buy groceries in the Akumal Pueblo and cooked most of our own meals, and snorkeled almost every day. I didn't want to leave. Tranquilidad is homey and very affordable. Don't know what granite the last reviewer is talking about. The walkway to the dwelling is well lit, and there are no obstructions I could see. If you go, make sure to awaken early some mornings to walk up to the roof to watch the sun rise and to take a trip up for the sunsets. In the mornings, the birds will awaken and visit the rooftop. Beautiful. Hoping to have a larger family gathering here in the future!

Room Tip: Both rooms are good. The master bedroom has a sliding glass door to the garden, and the other bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudithC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here and Mary and Pablo were great. There is a great view off the roof, nice back yard, but small pool at back far too cold to swim in, lots of wonderful creatures in and around the place, but watch out for the granite driveway especially with kids as I was cut very badly outside from a rock, it is not in the best shape and you must be careful as the granite is extremely sharp. I even needed stitches. So when you park outside, be very careful you or your childrens shoes do not fall off. Other than that, beds comfy, ask for a blender if you need one. I will warn you, the road in is long as this property is far on a really bad rocky road, so beware. No beaches close by but the lagoon is minutes away and you get deals to get in and snorkel, so enjoy that! If you are younger than 55, I would suggest a beach location as there are some good beach properties. This is more for older folks as they do complain after 9pm about noise, even if you are sitting outside at all laughing and/or talking and EVEN in the mornings. Like I said, great places on the beach for younger folks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vegaswasgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I had an awesome 2 weeks in Akumal thanks to Casa Tranquilidad. We stayed in Casita 1 with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen which was perfect for 2 but could have fitted 4. There is a tank of drinking water in the kitchen which is replenished and bicycles for the guests to use free of charge - these were amazingly useful for going to the shops or into town. I also saw the top floor apartment which would have been perfect for a couple. Great views and lots of light. There is also a stunning roof terrace with a view of the sea and jungle. Mary, the owner is lovely and Pablo, the manager is always there to help you out if you need anything. Also it was a bargain compared to rooms in Tulum or Playa del Carmen which only costs 30 pesos to get to on the local colectivo buses. It was the perfect peaceful getaway and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kengo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful for a relaxing vacation! Was here with just one other person, but there was definitely space for more. Lovely splash pool in the backyard, AC is available, nice kitchen with containers of drinking water, and water containers by the sink for rinsing your mouth after brushing. This place felt very homey and welcome, and as per its name, tranquil. Que Onda is a great restaurant just up the street, and slightly further walking to get beach access.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wannderrrlussst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middletown, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked the 2nd floor apartment (Trigger Fish) & were upgraded to the 3rd floor (Yal-Ku) for no extra charge. What a view!!! We could see jungle for miles, Yal-Ku lagoon & Half Moon Bay. The breeze on the 3rd floor was a welcoming treat. The rooftop deck was awesome with comfy lounge chairs & tables. We drank our coffee on the deck every morning & watched the birds. The casita was clean & comfortable ( we wish the bed was softer, tho'). Pablo, the caretaker, was great. He promptly went to the pueblo to purchase a lock for the bikes we rented from Mary. Mary's prices for bike rentals were great. She charged a fraction of what they wanted elsewhere. Mary is a very sweet lady who cares about each guest & treats them like family. We dined at a restaurant she recommended, only to find that she had already paid for our dinner. Her "southern hospitality" really shines. When we return to Akumal & we will, we will rent from Mary. Behind our casita was a cute outdoor sitting area with gorgeous tropical flowers & pretty plants. There was also a hose so we could wash off our snorkel gear & our sandy feet. I'm so glad we chose to stay in Casita Tranquilidad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillfrechette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrasse Vaudreuil
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This choice of an apartment away from the beach offering a lovely rooftop garden was just perfect. Steps from Yal Ku lagoon and 5 minute walk to the beach units my sister and her family rented gave us the options we so enjoyed and the chance to compare. If you want the best of both worlds then staying here will give great value at half the cost of beachside!

Room Tip: We chose walking up to unit "Yal Ku" , breezy and spacious but rooftop garden was actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fancy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#21 of 23 in Akumal
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#17 of 23 in Akumal
443 reviews
1.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Luna Azul Condominiums
Luna Azul Condominiums
#22 of 23 in Akumal
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa and Casitas Tranquilidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa and Casitas Tranquilidad

Property: Casa and Casitas Tranquilidad
Address: Lote 102, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Casa And Casitas Tranquilidad Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing