We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ak Kun-Peaceful and relaxing! Hard to say "Adios"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akumal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental
Ranked #19 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We will miss Chan Chemuyil! It is a perfect location to see everything..The casa is very clean and Jen was very helpful giving directions to first timers in Mexico! The location is in the middle of the Riviera Maya...All the people in the community are very friendly! Leos Pizza is right around the corner good for a quick meal! Would defiantly want to return to Ak Kun again! Cheers!! Good by Chan Chemuyil! Back to reality!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank purprincess33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 54 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

We have just spent a month at Casa de Risa in Chan Chemuyil. There is so much to do and see in the area; wonderful beaches, ruins, wildlife, local culture, adventure, parks... something to suit every taste, we have tried a bit of everything and are still leaving things undone. Chan Chemuyil is perfect if you are like us and want to be away from the all inclusive resorts and crowds. The village and supermarkets close by make it easy to self cater, but there is plenty of choice if you want to eat out in authentic and good value local restaurants. The house had all we needed and the pool was very welcome. Jen was very helpful sorting out our rental and answering questions to help us plan our trip. Hire car recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Verduyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at Casa Marbella for a week in mid July. The house was very comfortable and the pool was splendid. What impressed me most, however, was the whole community of Chan Chemuyil. It's a mini United Nations with many countries represented and plenty of Mexican families as well. Everyone was friendly, and it was nice to get away from the glitzy feel that seems everywhere further up the coast. The area is full of activities. I could see spending a month there easily with plenty of activities and not having to repeat anything.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarotchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Just returned from a week in Chan Chemuyil. Michelle, the homeowner was wonderful to work with and kept me informed the entire process. The house had all you could want convenience wise. The beds were comfortable and the airconditioning worked just fine. Water pressure in the bathroom was a little weak, but it was okay. We cooked quite a bit in the kitchen and had no problems as it was well-stocked. We rented a car, so getting supplies in the little town was no problem, but for a more thorough food run, you would have to go into Tulum. The restaurants were good (Leo's Pizzaria) and Ixcacel Beach across the highway was lovely. All in all had a great time and would highly recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThreeStripesPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Ideally located for those wishing to experience the Mayan Riviera, yet stay away from the Cancun swarm. Casa de La Paz is ideal for a family with kids. Chan Chemuyil is centrally located for day trips to any part of Quintana Roo’s Province which features beautiful white sandy beaches, Mayan ruins, laid back towns, fresh water lakes, cenote snorkeling and cave diving, eco-parks, friendly people, handicrafts shopping, and excellent restaurants, all located within short driving distance from Casa de La Paz’s doorstep.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aalbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

We stayed a few days at Casa Sol in chan chemuyil and absolutely loved it! The best part about this is the location to a lot of the greatest attractions in the Myan Riviera. You are roughly in between Playa del Carmen and Tulum (a bit closer to Tulum). Literally walking distance to Xel Ha and Dos Ojos, across the street from Xcacel beach, and a short drive from some of the other most beautiful beaches I've seen in all my visits to Mexico. A short drive north to Akumal, and just south of Tulum you have a strip of gorgeous eco-friendly hotels/cabanas on pristine white sand (playa azul, playa paraiso, etc...)

Chan Chemuyil itself has 0 services - not even an oxo, so it's best to rent a car to explore the area. If you fancy a bit more adventure you can walk (5min) into Chemuyil and jump a combi to either Tulum or Playa (and any number of stops in between). From Chemuyil to Playa is $25 pesos. Chemuyil also has the basic necessities but for stocking up on groceries, etc it's probably best to head into Tulum or Playa.

The majority of the casitas in Chan Chemuyil are well maintained, colorful homes - seemingly occupied by vacationers, although there are a few locals living in there who generally maintain the homes. The area feels very safe and I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

Room Tip: Rent a car and get out of the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VIVAHUME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

Just returned from our third visit to Chan Chemuyil. We stayed at Casa Marbella this time around. It had everything we needed. We very much enjoyed the private patio and most importantly the pool. The outdoor shower was great for showering off the powder like sand from the beautiful beaches in the area. There is so much to do just a short distance in all directions. Wether you would like to do everything or nothing at all but enjoy the gorgeous sunshine and beautiful scenery you can do it all right there. We already are planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank cdblackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
15.7 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 22 in Akumal
344 reviews
16.3 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
13.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
19.0 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
13.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental

Address: Calle Belize | Chan Chemuyil, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Price Range: $90 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming location at an affordable price. We offer single family vacation rental homes close to all the popular attractions including Akumal, Tulum ruins, Xel-Ha, Hidden Worlds. Homes are walking distance across from Xcacel Beach - the protected turtle nesting sanctuary with great body surfing and snorkeling plus a cenote and bathhouse. "Paradise within reach" that's Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rentals! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental Hotel Akumal
Chan Chemuyil Vacation Rental Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing