We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful retreat near Akumal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas
Ranked #1 of 7 Akumal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
85 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat near Akumal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed three days and had we not been somewhat physically challenged, we would have enjoyed it completely. We were unable to use the pool which was a major disappointment, but it only had a ladder and we require steps to get in or out due to knee problems. The setting is lovely, the staff verry friendly and our one meal was one of the best I had in Mexico. I would recommend taking a flashlight as it came in very handy walking along the rock paths at night since the lights were not terribly strong. I would recommend it as a delightful, quiet spot with easy access to Tulum and Akumal beaches if you have a car, I would not recommend it to anyone who has difficulty walking as the paths are stone and have steps which could be a problem for some people. They will not have problems filling it though as it is delightful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephany38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaTortugas, Owner at Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review and suggestions to the others guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    50
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
131
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Super friendly owners, amazing garden, friendly dogs and cats, clean and beautiful apartments. This place is simply amazing. Every detail has been carefully taken care of. And it is really cheap for what they are offering. We never wanted to leave...felt like being in the paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrmojopojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaTortugas, Owner at Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Hoping you will plan to come again in our piece of paradise, thank you for your amazing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

One stays in a casita in charmingly landscaped grounds containing a good pool. Simple but tasty Italian food is served in the evening. The beds could have been more comfortable, but were par for the course in relatively inexpensive Mexican hotels. Overall convenient location and good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buffer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaTortugas, Owner at Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We will consider your suggestion about the beds in order to offer a better sleeping to our guests in the future.
Thank you for writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The place itself is very nice. Territory is very clean and garden is very beautiful.
Complex xonsists of few bungalows with baisc amenities. Don't expect Tv, hair dryer or smth extra.
But all basic things are available, bed, fan, conditioner, shower, kitchennete (no kettle although).
Rooms are decorated in Mexican style, bright and nice.
Location is good if you have a car, the Tortugas beach is one of the best you will find in the area. Npt too far from Tulum and Playa del Carmen.
Few thingd you need to take into consideration:

- internet is only available when owner 's laptop is on, so no internet at night etc
-sometimes there are ants in the bungalow (although owners tried to solve this issue)
-very poor light in the toilet. can hardly see anything
- as you are in jungle the birds are starting to sing very early in the morning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaTortugas, Owner at Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review!
The lights in the rooms are l.e.d so they the light is not the same of the normals.
Internet is connected to the main computer so during the evening/night is off but sometimes we keep on all night if guests are checking internet or if the ask to keep on.
The birds, yes they start to sing since morning early but normally guests find it nice being in the jungle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parts Unknown
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Villa Tortugas was one of the nicest places my wife and I have ever visited. The accomodations consist of private casitas which are located on the grounds of the Villa. The place is beautifully maintained and there is a lovely pool area. You could easily spend your entire vacation sitting on the porch of your casita enjoying the breezes. We did not see a mosquito our entire stay (3 nights). The owners are very nice folks and they take great pride in the property. It is located about a mile or so from the beach area so its best to have a car but you could get a taxi as well. The casita was very comfortable with AC and a small kitchenette. They also have a couple friendly cats and dogs that will adopt you if you'd like. Akumal is a beautiful area an there are some great places to swim and snorkel. Its touristy but nothing compared to the larger areas like Cancun, Playa Del Carmen, etc. We snorkeled for the fisrt time and saw turtles, rays, and a variety of fish. Be sure to visit the Yal-Ku lagoon. It cost a few dollars to get in but it is worth every penny

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BernardFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaTortugas, Owner at Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
We will be honoured to have you again as guests here in our little aosi.
Thanks for your kind review by us and our pet family :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

this b&b is a real jewel. the host and the staff is very friendly. we felt very welcomed and treated personally.
it is a quiet and beautifull relaxing place.
the garden is enormeous and well kept. the rooms are generous with a handy kitchen and a very clean and nice bathroom.
i would defenitly visit villa tortugas again.
muchas gracias

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilibrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaTortugas, Owner at Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank your for your reviews, very precious for us! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolores, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are an indenpendent traveler(s) who does not want a resort. A car is esential and can be rented throughout the area or at the Cancun airport. We got ours from Carribean Car Rental (great company) for 300 US for 10 days. This area along the coast is one of the easiest places I,ve driven in Latin America.
The hotel is 5 minutes N. of Akumal by car, which is the best beach I saw in this part of Mx. Its 15min. North of Tulum where you can also access the road to Merida and several other atractions.
Its about 25 min. south of Playa Del Carmen and 45 to 55 from Cancun .
As for the place itself, we could not have been happier. Silvia and Denis are gracious and accomodating hosts. They bought a private residnce and converted the surrounding landscape into comfortable cabins and very relaxing space. The pictures on the websight are older and the vegetation has matured quite a bit and the landscaping is very well thought out. It is more open than the surrounding forest so its a great place to watch birds. The pool is a great place to hang out in the hot afternoon after a morning at the beach.
All the cabins are well built and the interiors are inviting. They are essentially studio apartments with bed, table, eating bar, small kitchen with fridge and two burners. Pans and utensils are included. I would reccomend buying food on the way down in one of supermarkets in Cancun or Playa. The stores in Akumal are pricy but they are much cheaper in Akumal pueblo across the highway. Selection is limited. All of the cabins also have very nice decks.
They have food served in an outdoor dining area that includes very tasty Mexican and Italian dishes. The prices are comparable for the area and the atmoshere was very relaxed. My wife's reccomendation is that they serve a small salad with the Itaian dishes.
My only complaint was that the bed was a little hard, but this was offset by the quiet nights.
This was a great value and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koby w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#16 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.7 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
4.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
3.8 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas

Property: Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Tulum Km 256 | Rancho San Martin, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the tropical oasis known as the Riviera Maya and surrounded by a natural garden of absolute tranquility, an exclusive Residence is waiting for you at Itour Akumal Villa Tortugas. RELAXATION, SUN, SEA, ALONG WITH DECADES OF HISTORY ARE WAITING TO BE EXPLORED... Our personal Italian welcome will make your stay in Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas a wonderful experience. Thanks to their personal suggestions and local knowledge, they will help you to plan your holiday by assisting with everything from renting a car to reserving your excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and HotelsClick so you can book your Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tortugas Residence Hotel Akumal
Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing