We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas
Ranked #1 of 7 Akumal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kavlinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This b&b are located "in the middle of nowhere" outside of Akumal. A really great place with nice people who runs it. Nice rooms with a small kitchen. It's very pieceful and they have some lovely dogs. I would stay there again if I'm coming that way again. Even if you don't have a car it's easy to get on the "buses" to Akumal or were you want to go.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia_speed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    50
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
131
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

It's a very good place to stay near Akumal if you've got a car. It's about 2 km away from Akumal beach where you can snorkel with sea turtles.
There is a small kitchen with fridge and gas stove in the room, which I find very useful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaTortugas, Owner at Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your review, it's so important for us. Many thanks indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were booked in to stay five days here but after the first few nights we were very quick to cancel the rest of our holiday up the coast so we could stay here a few days longer! Wonderful host's Denis and Sylvia, they made us feel really relaxed from the moment we arrived. The room was very clean, the pool was really refreshing and the food was fabulous!! We ate there pretty much every night! My partner got very sick and had to visit a doctor right away, Sylvia drove us down to see the local doctor and waited with us while He was seen to and then brought us back! I dont know what we would've done other wise as we couldn't speak Spanish!!
The location was brilliant and the property is just amazing, feels like your in the middle of the jungle (But safe haha)
I would love to visit this place again its a perfect hidden gem!!
Thanks for the wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenaHindess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaTortugas, Owner at Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for your super review and thank you above all for your comprehension for the electricity trouble!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a lovely property- very pretty, the hosts Denis and Sylvia are very nice, and have done a gorgeous job renovating the property. It's located in the jungle, which is nice. There's a pool,also nice, though warm and a bit murky when we were there. The rooms are basic, clean, beds comfortable enough. Because of the heat, they smell a bit damp and dank- it did air out when we put on the fans and a/c for a bit. The 'breakfast' is a bit lean...a loaf of sliced white bread,some jam and coffee....which you make yourself in your room. This is a good place to stay if you are travelling and will benefit from the kitchenette set-up, but if you like the b&b experience of socializing with other guests, enjoying a nicer breakfast, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnySanDiego92116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

When we arrived we could see that the pictures had not lied, this place is amazing...We had a bungalow, room for 4, two kids of 13 & 16. It's placed in a beautiful garden filled with palms, which gets cleaned every morning, a good swimmingpool, cleaned every morning as well. The room was cleaned every day and the two mexican staff are so friendly and smiling and helpful.We were there in the rainy season and several times when we came back in the evening our towels and clothes we had hanging out for drying, were all folded nicely and put into our room not to get wet. Thanks a lot for that!
The hosts Denis and Silvia were so welcoming and everything was possible. We ate in the restaurant three times and the food were fantastic. Denis prepared his special meat on the barbeque one evening - make sure you don't miss that out...it was like butter.
The place itself is beautiful, placed in the jungle. There is about 2 km to the beach, which is crowded, so every evening we came home, we felt were going back to paradise sitting on our balcony reading, drinking a SOL, swimming in the pool - just enjoying life.
If you want to experience something different from the crowded beaches - go here. You will never regret it. They have dogs and cats and it feels like home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I always check reviews but I am always lazy to write one… this time I felt I had to tell the tripadvisor’s friends that if they travel to the Riviera Maya, Villa Tortugas is a great place to stay! I was there with my brother at the end of April, initially I booked for 2 nights and then left, but after two days somewhere else we went back. The place is great, clean and peaceful, going to the Akumal beach is quick, it is also well located (between Playa del Carmen and Tulum) and we went to visit both towns easily! We felt like at home, had the chance to meet new people during the BBQs organised by the owners who are super nice. I strongly recommend their Tiramisu cake, one of the best I ever had! We really hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaTortugas, Owner at Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Even if you are italians i have to reply in the same language we received the review.
So thank you very much guys for writing your review help, it's very important for our business and it has been a pleasure to know that your staying at Villa Tortugas was great! Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed in mid-April and had a wonderful time ! This residence is an oasis from the tourist rush. We are glad we rented a car, as it is a drive to beach or restaurants. It was so nice to return after fun but tiring days of snorkling or sight seeing to relax by the pool or on the porch of our hacinenda.
I could write more, but the other reviews say it all. If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay away from the hustle and cookie-cutter resorts, this is your place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiseRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#16 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
2.7 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#15 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Que Onda
Hotel Que Onda
#20 of 23 in Akumal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
4.4 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
3.8 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas

Property: Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas
Address: Carretera Federal Cancun - Tulum Km 256 | Rancho San Martin, Akumal 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the tropical oasis known as the Riviera Maya and surrounded by a natural garden of absolute tranquility, an exclusive Residence is waiting for you at Itour Akumal Villa Tortugas. RELAXATION, SUN, SEA, ALONG WITH DECADES OF HISTORY ARE WAITING TO BE EXPLORED... Our personal Italian welcome will make your stay in Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas a wonderful experience. Thanks to their personal suggestions and local knowledge, they will help you to plan your holiday by assisting with everything from renting a car to reserving your excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tortugas Residence Hotel Akumal
Itour Akumal Villas Tortugas Riviera Maya, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing