We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shop & dive masters”
Review of Akumal Dive Shop

Akumal Dive Shop
Ranked #1 of 24 Tours in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Original Akumal Dive Shop is a 5 Star PADI IDC center. The first dive shop on Mexico's Caribbean mainland. With over 30 years experience we offer the best from accommodation, tours, snorkeling and recreational diving to advanced levels of instructor training in Akumal Riviera Maya Mexico.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great shop & dive masters”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is our second trip to Akumal and we have had great experiences with this shop both times. This visit we dove 3 times with Condor and found him to be knowledgeable, professional and great fun. The front counter staff is very helpful and friendly. We couldn't ask for a better dive experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakumaldiveshop, Public Relations Manager at Akumal Dive Shop, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi Suzanne L!

Sweet, sweet, music to our ears: ‘We couldn't ask for a better dive experience.’

We really appreciate that you took the time to share this, Suzanne… and we’re simply delighted with the words you chose to describe your recent experience with Akumal, the dive shop, and our staff. Kudos to Condor for being ‘knowledgeable, professional and great fun’. See you again on your next trip, Suzanne! (wishing it sooner rather than later :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    102
    16
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“Snorkel with Diego Quijada; Photos by Eduardo”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stumbled into the Akumal dive shop one morning during our family vacation in Tulum. We planned on spending a lazy day at the beach, but couldn't resist the thought of swimming with sea turtles. We had our three boys with us (8, 7 and 4). We were unsure of our youngest's ability with snorkel gear and contemplated one of us sitting out the trip with him. Diego suggested he go with us (life jackets are required for trips) and hold onto the floatation devise Diego would take with him. If he chose to snorkel he could, if not, it wouldn't be a problem. He didn't even charge us for his trip. This was a perfect solution!! We all got to enjoy the experience together and it was memorable. Sea turtles, sting rays, baby squid, coral, countless varieties of fish. Diego was fantastic with the kids. Carefully and thoughtfully answering all of their questions. Our youngest, once comfortable in the water, watching all of us snorkel and realizing we were keeping a safe distance from all of the marine life gave snorkeling a try. He enjoyed the experience and toward the end of our journey he was snorkeling independently.
Having not brought an underwater camera, we had resigned ourselves to capturing only memories of our journey. However, Eduardo came along with us as our personal photographer. He captured some great photos of our family and sold us a high quality dvd with all of the images, including some shots captured at other times of the marine life, which our children love.
If you have any hesitation of snorkeling with your family I highly recommend giving it a try and Diego will patiently guide you!! Enjoy!

Oh, one more thing. You are provided a locker for use while you snorkel. They allow you to keep it until 4:30pm. While the children played all afternoon on the beach, our valuables were safe and secure!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakumaldiveshop, Public Relations Manager at Akumal Dive Shop, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi Nicholas K!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! Ha, how plans change, eh? Planning a ‘lazy day at the beach’ quickly turned into swimming with ‘Sea turtles, sting rays, baby squid, coral, countless varieties of fish’! Ha! This always makes us smile :o)

It’s encouraging (and amazing!) to read about your ‘youngest’, who was comfortable enough by the end to snorkel independently! Likewise, we value how much you appreciated interacting with Diego and Eduardo. Thank you, again, for the high recommendation… this too always makes us smile!

Also, quite pleased to read that you considered your valuables ‘safe and secure’ during the whole time… it’s good you mention this! It IS important not to worry about these things to fully enjoy your snorkeling adventure. We hope to swim/snorkel with you and your family again, Nicholas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City NY
Level 5 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go with a guided tour!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I had heard an inside tip about Akumal so we did a bit of research and found the Dive Shop. We got there planning to just rent snorkel gear and go out on our own. My friend wisely suggested we ask about the guided tour as it was the same price as the rental (included a locker too!). The tour is planned for 45 minutes, that felt like a good amount of time so we went with that instead. So glad we did. Our guide, Diego, was outstanding. He knew just where to go. I don't think we would have seen nearly as many things without him. He found several sea turtles and really neat fish. I can't say enough how worth it the tour was. He also brought a camera with him to take pictures of us with the turtles. Would highly recommend this shop. They were perfect, even though the tour wasn't what we walked in looking for.

They had lockers, showers and bathrooms available. The locker is pretty small (though bigger than I expected). I wouldn't bring a big bag with you. More than enough space for towels, flip flops and small things (money, phone, etc).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakumaldiveshop, Public Relations Manager at Akumal Dive Shop, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi NYCchic!

Thank goodness for the ‘inside tip’ and ‘bit of research’ that led the way to The Akumal Dive Shop... and thank YOU for the ‘highly recommend[ed]’ remark! Your words are well-noted and celebrated; also, it doesn't seem you use the word ‘outstanding’ lightly (to describe the guide, Diego, who made it all worthwhile). Therefore, considering how delighted you appear to be with your experience, this review will definitely go down in the annals of our history as one of great achievement! Once more, thank you NYCchic!

We are so glad you chanced upon us; hopefully, this means we’ll be seeing you again :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Cranky staff and inconsistent pricing”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I had an AMAZING trip to Akumal but our only complaint was the dive shop. They have neat opportunities here and I like that they are committed to the environment, but the staff were (at times) downright rude and on top of that, we received different pricing information on three different days.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakumaldiveshop, Public Relations Manager at Akumal Dive Shop, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Kristin,

We are pleased that you had an ‘AMAZING trip’ to Akumal! Naturally, we’re also quite concerned about being your ‘only complaint’ (or the ‘Cranky’ exception). Especially as you appear to appreciate other aspects of The Akumal Dive Shop (such as, our ‘neat opportunities’ and environmental commitment); however, your displeasure is evidently greater.

We are contemplating what measures would be the most appropriate based on your feedback; therefore, it would help us enormously if you could elaborate a bit, to whatever degree you feel comfortable with (in private), on what made you write that ‘the staff were (at times) downright rude’?

In addition, as our pricing information is public and, to the best of our knowledge, consistent (e.g., we haven’t found irregularities published in our website, brochures, or displayed at our shop) it is tremendously important to us that we confirm the source of misinformation. At least rule out the possibility that the ‘different pricing information’ you’re referring to was not the result of confusing one of our various tours or services, which may appear similar but are actually distinct from one another, or because of a (easily verifiable) daily/weekly promotion in February (when you appear to have visited).

Regardless, thank you for your feedback, Kristin. We’d really love to have another opportunity to be a part of an ‘AMAZING trip’ on your next visit to Akumal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dive with Luis Condor!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

My Dad and I went diving with Luis "Condor," the same dive master who led us on several great dives over 20 years ago. Once again, the experience was awesome. Akumal Dive Shop is as friendly now as they were 20 years ago. Always a great operation but now they really have it wired. Organized and efficient, with good rates. Luis and his crew did a great job of getting us into the water, and once we were down Luis guided us along the reef where we saw a sea turtle right away, some giant groupers, and a school of probably 300 blue tangs, among many many other fish. When I freaked out because of an overly-friendly ramora (I didn't know what the heck it was!) Luis calmed me down in no time. He is great at communicating underwater, checking individually with each diver, and he can tell in an instant if you are having problems with your breathing. He assesses your BCD inflation and your air levels, helping you maintain good buoyancy in order to avoid brushing the reef. I felt safe with Luis, which is so very important when diving! Side-note --- go on a night dive! I did one 20 years ago with Luis, and it was incredible. We didn't have time during this particular trip, unfortunately... If you're not as experienced or having gone diving in a long time, just talk to Luis or whoever you get for your dive master. They will take care of you!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ACG0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakumaldiveshop, Public Relations Manager at Akumal Dive Shop, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi ACG0514!

Wow, the test of time (making this a unique review), 20 years have passed and yet (you state) the dives remain great! The Akumal Dive Shop is, based on your words, as good as (if not better) than ever… thank you, this means a lot!

We truly appreciate how much you value the personalized attention you received with Luis as well as the unreserved confidence you have placed in us. Your words are a source of motivation and serve to confirm what we've been doing right; thanks for bolstering enthusiasm and (publicly) sharing your long-term experience, ACG0514.

By the way, your remora anecdote is hilarious; and most likely quite useful to others that would react in exactly the same way!

We would love to have the pleasure of diving with you more often (at least before another 20 year have passed)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akumal Dive Shop also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Akumal Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing