We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Around”
Review of Akumal Dive Shop

Akumal Dive Shop
Ranked #1 of 23 Tours in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Original Akumal Dive Shop is a 5 Star PADI IDC center. The first dive shop on Mexico's Caribbean mainland. With over 30 years experience we offer the best from accommodation, tours, snorkeling and recreational diving to advanced levels of instructor training in Akumal Riviera Maya Mexico.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Liverpool
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2nd Time Around”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visiting Akumal for the second time last week, I (recently "Open Water" qualified) wanted to go diving with my son (a returning "Open Water"qualified diver) and my brother (an experienced diver). The staff, under Alvaro's leadership, simply worked around colds, inconvenient arrivals and departures and a little more wind than usual to make us more confident together and create memorabl;e family diving experiences, including a superb shark dive. The humour and banter is constant but never compromises their vigilance. They simply deliver maximum enjoyment in complete safety. Talking to other people with whom we dived, who had travelled from other parts of the Riviera Maya, it was clear that whether instructors or newbies they felt the same. I will be diving (and laughing) with them again next year.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_WLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakumaldiveshop, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Dive Shop, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hola Michael_WLiverpool!
It's great we are another good reason for you to come back to the Riviera Maya and do Scuba Diving next year! It's true we've had some strong winds but we try hard to make every dive the safest! so you feel as comfortable and confident no matter what! See you next year so we can have a good time and laugh all together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    844
    102
    16
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Ask for Carlos Olrey”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Carlos works freelance out of this dive shop. We did a one on one dive, he is an excellent teacher. I appreciated the individual attention and his price was very fair. I only have an email address to reach him at, it is carlosolrey @ hotmail.com

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakumaldiveshop, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Dive Shop, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hola Lara H!
It is great to know that Carlos treated you the way you deserved! We are very pleased to be preferenced by not only direct customers but by the freelance instructors that choose us as their operation base!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
287 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Great Dive Shop”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

There are many things to look for in a good dive shop and this place has them all!

Friendly staff-Check
Large shop to move around-Check
Large rinse tank-Check
Large lockers-Check
Can store your gear between dives-Check
Great prices-Check
Good location-check
Close to boat in shallow water for easy entry-check
Gear repair when needed-Check
Rental Gear-Check
Clean bathrooms-Check
Shower-Check
Retail Shop-Check
Organized with lots of staff-Check
Large changing area-Check
Free Parking-Check
Big Boats-Check
Close diving spots-Check
Small group dives-Check
Dive briefing-check
Help with carrying gear-Check
Surface intervals at shop to relax and use facilities-Check

Great Dives and Dive Masters-Super Check

Three days of diving and I enjoyed them all. Will definitely be back for more.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ksiddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakumaldiveshop, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Dive Shop, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hola ksiddel!
WOW! You really amazed us by doing this check list! We are so proud that we scored positively at all your points and that we had a "super check" with the dives and divemasters! Thank you very much and we really hope you come back soon for more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Have dove with them 20 years . Keep coming back .”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My family and I have been coming to akumal dive shop for years . I had one of my children dive certified there and the other one did her classes in our town then the actual dive portion there . I have dove many times there and have long lasting friendships with some of the divemasters . The staff is very friendly and the prices are very fair. I would suggest to anyone that if you want to certify to dive , stay in akumal casitas (super close by), E-mail shop and set up your open water classes. Get it done . I know so many people who , "havent quite finished " . Water in bay in 80's .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakumaldiveshop, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Dive Shop, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hola Robert M!
Isn't it great that you can choose to do your dives while learning in Akumal? even if its the whole course or just the open water dives! And well, you know already by experience that Akumal is a nice diving spot! After 20 years, you are definately not disappointed! Thank you for coming diving along all these years and especially for passing on to your children the tradition of scuba diving!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville
1 review
“Going back for more”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I did my open water last year in February with this dive shop. My experience with the whole staff was great. I will be there again on the 21st for 9 days and have booked the Bull Shark dive and am looking forward to a 10 dive package at a remarkably good price. I would highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank engr584th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theakumaldiveshop, Public Relations Manager at Akumal Dive Shop, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hola engr584th!
We can't wait for you to come back!! We will have so much fun with the bulls! Its time for some serious diving!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akumal Dive Shop also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Akumal Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing