We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akumal Dive Center

Akumal Dive Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the Akumal Dive Center located in the main Akumal Bay, next to the Lolha Restaurant. We offer snorkel tours, rental equipment, scuba, dive classes, Open 8:00 AM TO 5:00 PM.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We arrived in Akumal on our last day of our vacation and even though the shop wasn't technically open we were greeted warmly. Our hope was to do a little snorkeling in the bay and the shop was happy to accommodate us. Their policy is to have no more than five people per guide but since it was early they didn't wait for more people so it was just the two of us with our guide Antonio (Cholo to his friends). Cholo was a great guide and because my friend hadn't been snorkeling in a long time he really worked to make sure she was comfortable. In the end we saw rays, turtles, sea urchins, all kinds of fish, and at one point were enveloped in a school of sardines. Both of us had a great time and after my friend said she was very comfortable with Cholo. An excellent experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank vulferius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    40
    13
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
201 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“I wasn't sure I wanted to snorkle; my friends dragged me along”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

In spite of my apprehension about coordinating breathing through a tube, and keeping my head below water - it took no time at all to get completely comfortable with the concept, and start immediately enjoying the exquisite beauty that is all within minutes of leaving the shore. Everyone at the shop seemed incredibly friendly and helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Portlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Akumal Diving”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Friendly staff that answered e-mails and made some special arrangements for us. Nitrox is extra and needs to be reserved. Dive guides great, always felt safe. Take a dry bag as no covered passenger area on boats. They will pick you up, but having a rental car was better. No special area/rinse bucket for cameras so have ready to use before getting on boat. Free locker and storage of dive gear overnight while diving. Only one indoor shower in "unisex" locker room, but plans are to remodel it soon. Very competent cenote dive guides. Shop was well stocked and they can do some gear repairs. Dive instructors appeared good as well. We each have over 500 dives all over the world felt very comfortable diving with Akumal Dive Center.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Redrock_Junky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome service !!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Edgar was great. After we went to another shop in Akumal where we were told a blunt lie regarding the possibility of snorkelling on our own, we rented all the equipment there and had an absolute blast. Service was quick, efficient. The place was clean and it had all the necessary amenities (ie showers, lockers, wc) You could also rent an underwater camera.
You can also enter the secure area and park your car behind. No need to pay the 50pesos that they want at the entrance of Akumal. Just continue through the big arch, make a right and tell the guard you are going diving. Voila !!
Edgar also gave us a great suggestion for lunch, taking us away from the craziness of the beach. Great food, great service at La Cueva de Pescador. Yummy.
Just go there, rent your stuff and go swimming with the turtles. Loved every minute.
Gracias !!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thumbs up”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just spent a week scuba diving in Akumal using the services of Akumal Dive Center with my GF and another diving couple. Upon our arrival and while awaiting for our rooms (at ABR), we dropped by the Dive Center to have a look at their overall facility and boats. Edgar greeted us, patiently answered all our questions. Throughout the week, he and all the staff were very accommodating by providing us with lockers, drying areas for our wetsuits, a boat offering shade from the sun, conducting two tank dive trip rather than having to return to the dive center after the first dive and doing hour long dive at locations and depth tailored to the marine life and scenery we were after and all that at a great price. Thumbs up to Edgar, Alexandro, Jose, Chipo, the boat captains and all the friendly dive shop staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RTee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akumal Dive Center also viewed

 
Akumal, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Akumal Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing