We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for family”
Review of Tanik Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tanik Condominiums
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our unit was on the third floor and the views were stunning...right out over the beach. The condos are clean, and the housekeepers came every day and changed the beds mid-week. The staff (2 housekeepers and Jacinto, the groundskeeper) are all delightful, helpful and friendly.
Our unit had a master bedroom with a small queen bed and a private balcony overlooking the pool and beach. The second bedroom had 2 full sized beds and a full bathroom en suite.
The kitchen had everything we needed and there is even a little utility room off the kitchen where you can rinse out and hang up your sandy beach wear and suits. The satellite TV provided us with BBC so we could watch some TV in English in the evenings.
We used a grocery service (Rivera Maya Groceries- google it) to shop and deliver our groceries on the day we arrived. This was awesome! We ended up with a few interesting items because we weren't sure what we were ordering online, but it worked out just fine. I'm really glad we did this because we didn't rent a car and the nearest small grocery is near Akumal Beach, which is about a 25-30 minute walk, so hauling groceries would not have been fun.
The location of this condo is great. The beach right outside is georgous and Jacinto has it combed and cleaned every morning before you get up. You can snorkle right out the backdoor! To see bigger fish and more coral, you should go up the beach to the north a bit and swim out a ways...near where the waves break. We spotted lots of interesting sea creatures, and saw turtles.
There are a few restaurants close by and you can walk into Akumal, but it is a bit of a walk. Half Moon bay is way nicer, in my opinion, than Akumal Beach...beautiful, not crowded and friendly.
During our week there we: enjoyed the beach and snorkling, the pool, etc. Snorkeled at Yal Ku Lagoon (a 10 min walk), a walk into Akumal Puebla on the other side of the highway, a day at Akumal Beach, Tulum, Chichen Itza (caught our tour bus at the bus stop on the highway) and took a taxi to Xel Ha.
Convenient location, nice, clean place, great beach!

Room Tip: 3rd floor has great views. First floor has access to pool and beach out back doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 23 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great up to date units. Right in the middle of Half Moon Bay. Many turtle nests right in front. The kitchen has everything. T.V.'s were affected by humidity, but that is not important. Very quiet at night. Rent a car and easy drive on the highway from the airport. The staff (only 3) was very accommodating. Alfredo even took me to the Pueblo side to get medicine that I misplaced. The area is very safe. Less crowded than Akuma Beach, but rocky. Lots of sea life towards the left or north of Tanik.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FongP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at TanIk condos on Half Moon Bay. The location is great, and the condos were clean (although the pictures are definitely old ones--the cushions on the furniture were stained and faded and they really skimped on the decor). The folks who kept the place up were fabulous, as well. My main complaint is when the owners basically swooped in and commandeered the entire outdoor area (pool, palapa, chaise lounges and barbeque) without so much as a hello to any the paying customers. They weren't friendly, and made a ton of noise throughout the day and evening. Yes, they cut the kids off of Skype (on their balcony) by 10 pm, but someone apparently couldn't sleep and the noise above us was enough to keep both of us awake all night. And we used ear plugs, to boot.

My family rented 3 of the 6 condos and all of us were very unhappy. Another family from Canada who was staying there was none too happy, either. Thank goodness those rude people left after 2 days. Really, this is just bad business. As a result, I will NOT be back. There are just too many excellent places to rent in Akumal that value their customers. Why waste money?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HappyTravels800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed our Akumal stay at Tanik. The condo was clean and kept nice with amazing views of the ocean. There is actual parking large enough for a real car, not just a golf cart. It was quiet despite the strong winds outside and the flowers around the area are beautiful. The sheets and towels were very clean and smelled wonderful, and were folded into animals shapes unlike anywhere else we have seen. The kitchen had everything we needed.

Jacinto the groundskeeper always greeted us with a smile and had the beach cleaned and perfect before anyone else even woke up. He introduced us to the local cats and critters as well as helped us with anything we needed.

The winds were not terribly friendly during our stay so we didn't spend much time in the water there but the beach was beautiful for catching a few rays. The only shade is under the palapa off the beach, but the whole area was set up nicely with a unique pool. Within a short walking distance we had access to Akumal Bay and saw sea turtles and more. La Buena Vida offered great nearby entertainment just a short walk down the beach. Great place, comfortable and kept very nice. We would go back!

Room Tip: Top floor is great for amazing views. Nice area for parking for any. Doors lock from the inside so b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbrowndoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

PROS: air conditioning
we saw 2 SEA TURTLES laying their eggs
clean
very friendly staff
beach front
bigger than expected
TV in both rooms
CLEAN POOL

CONS: NO WIFI access the entire trip even when alfredo tried to access it he couldnt.
NO BEACH UMBRELLAS or palapitas so once your on the beach you are in direct sun
the entire time which is very uncomfortable
NO TV in the living room.
i think they should give more info about the turtle nests and what to do if you see a
turtle laying eggs
other guests being really loud and no staff on duty at night


i think the only thing i would really suggest that they change is the NO beach umbrellas it was very difficult to be in the direct sun the entire time your trying to lay out on the beach. i know it sounds weird but its almost a necessity to cool off every so often. i actually put my chair under one of the bushes on the beach so at least my head could be cool. it was very annoying i actually considered buying an umbrella for the trip. Also the problem with the WIFI that really was bad we wanted to use our mac and we couldn't. also there is a couple that "lives" on the first floor and they were extremely loud with music blasting for an entire night. i told the care taker and he dealt with it. but that was another con for sure.

over all i would return, it was a good value. I would definitely make sure they could get some umbrellas or i would reluctantly bring my own.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank naomi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We have stayed at Tanik many times and still think it is the best location on Half Moon Bay but we're thinking of shopping around for a better deal next time. Also the bedding really had a strong musty odor and the pillows were hard. I recommend they replace these ASAP!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

We stayed at Tan-Ik for a week in April ‘09. The location is great --- right on Half Moon Bay which is quiet, uncrowded, and has great snorkeling (but water shoes are needed!) Our condo was clean, but rather sterile and charmless. The pool was nice to have and was one of the reasons we chose Tan-Ik. The bedrooms were large, with nice cross breezes, and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was okay, but it lacked a toaster. An awful sewage sewage smell was present in the bathrooms, although it appears that is a common problem in Akumal and not unique to Tan-Ik. The on-site manager was friendly and helpfu. Our major problem—since this was a working vacation for both me and my husband—was the lack of internet access. Tan-Ik is advertised as having wireless internet access, but it does NOT. If you carry your computer downstairs to the property manager's office you can get a signal, but no signal is available in the condo itself. We were disappointed that the US-based booking agent was not at all up-front about the the internet access isssue. We also would have preferred a nonsmoking environment. A large (15-20) group, apparently a family, was in the condos below us; they left their doors open most of the time, and we could not escape the cigarette smoke. There was almost always someone (from this family group) smoking by the pool also. We were on the 3rd floor and there is no elevator -- no problem for us, but it wouldn't work well for an elderly or handicapped guest.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EEDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
1.6 mi away
Las Villas Akumal
Las Villas Akumal
#14 of 22 in Akumal
343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Akumal Caribe
Hotel Akumal Caribe
#15 of 22 in Akumal
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Del Sol Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Luna Azul Condominiums
Luna Azul Condominiums
#19 of 22 in Akumal
55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villas DeRosa Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Casa Gatos
Casa Gatos
#10 of 24 in Akumal
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanik Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanik Condominiums

Address: Beach Front Road | Half Moon Bay, Akumal, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Akumal
Price Range: $184 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tanik Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanik Condominiums Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing