We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an
Nearby Hotels
$312
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$193
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$285
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$340
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
$141
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BestDay.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (7,950)
Filter reviews
7,950 results
Traveler rating
5,621
1,649
470
118
92
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,621
1,649
470
118
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother hotelsalux restaurantcenote snack barpenthouse suitelobby bara la carte restaurantsprivate beachrooftop jacuzzifull length mirrorgala nightdon pablosushi baran adults only resorttrolley ridedinner reservationsnever waited more than minutesbutler service
Filter
Updating list...
4,283 - 4,288 of 7,950 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had 12 nights all inclusive in Sian kaan from 18th to 30th June for our honeymoon! What a brilliant resort with so much to do. Swim with dolphins, white sand beaches, watersports, golf and excursions. Weather was brilliant. Had about 4 days where it rained about 6 o clock in the evening but for literally 10 minutes at a time. Which was a welcome break from the heat anyway! The staff at the hotel were all friendly and very helpful! Great service and food selection in the restaurants was fantastic! The ebtertainment team were brilliant Alex, Ignacio and Oscar! Great friendly people that always wanted to have fun! Great resort definitely worth the 5 stars! Would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gazzam130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team, we would like to thank you for the time taken to post on Trip Advisor how your experience was with us.

We will forward your comments to our staff especial to the mentioned ones, like Alex, Oscar and Ignacio; I am sure they will feel honored to have left a good impression on you.

Thank you also for recommending us and for advice to all of our future guests. It will be wonderful to welcome you again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Pleasure trip to celebrate my sons18th birthday
Resort is fabulous service is impeccable
The workers will bend over backwards to please you!
Food is above par for even top notch restaurants
Some wild life all around as the resort is the other side of the highway not on the side of the beach
You need to take a hotel train to get to the beach

Room Tip: Bring a lot of sunscreen as well as mosquito repellent as you are really in the deep woods! Lots of animals as well as snakes in the vicinity Keep shoes on the beach for the rocks and bees
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nadia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Nadia,

Thank you very much for reviewing your 18th son’s birthday celebration at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We are very happy that you appreciated the fabulous service, the top notch food, the wild life and facilities. We have already sent your nice words to our staff.

We want to thank you again for your valuable comments; we wish we can welcome you back in the future,

Best regards,

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

First, I have to mention this was like a trip to paradise but I would like this place to stay a hidden gem.

We will never forget the week we just spent at Sian Ka'an (from June 21st to 28th). It was better than paradise and even better than the last time. We have been there last February and we have decided to go back to celebrate our 19th wedding anniversary since the price was good (for more details, read my February review).

It was the first time we were having a private transfert (with Air Transat) from the airport to the hotel and it is more than worth it. Very confortable, not having to wait for the bus to be complete. We left the airport after 5 minutes we have left the custom area.

PRIOR TO OUR ARRIVAL, Claudia's hard work has been so much appreciated. She has made all of our A la Carte reservations and took into consideration our special request for the localisation of our room. Even during our stay, Claudia went beyond every aspects of our wellbeing. She is a real professionnal in customer service. Every hotel should have a Claudia Novelo in their customer service department. Many 5 stars hotels in big US and canadian cities should take example by looking at her hard work. Claudia has been an important part of the success of our wonderfull vacations.

We were so happy with the penthouse room we got. When we got into the room, balloons with towell art were there to welcome us. As well as the fruits bowl and the tequila bottle. We were impressed by these attentions, I even got tears in my eyes. The day of our weding anniversary, we have received straberries covered with chocolate and a bottle of champagne in our room. That same night, we got a special chocolate cake at the Don Pablo restaurant. Once again, we were impressed by these attentions.

SERVICE: It was even better than the service we got last February. More especially:

Luis at the buffet for the breakfast and at lunch. He always remembered what we wanted to drink. Every morning, I always had a mimosa and my husband a capuccino served without asking for them. One day, Luis realised that tuna fruit was my favorite fruit. The next day, there was no tuna fruit in the buffet. Luis have had one prepared in the kitchen especially for me and the tuna fruit was presented in a plate with icecream. He was so happy to serve it to me and I have so much appreciate it as well. Luis was one of the highlight of our vacations. Ramon (Luis's co-worker) was very nice with us to.

Darwin (at the fish grill at luch time) was so nice with me. He always had a smile while cooking the food.

Laurena (at the beach). The wood tray she would put on our small table with the wood flag are such a good idea. Even with 32 degreswith full sun , Laurena was always smiling. The peanuts bowl she delivered to people late morning were appreciated as well. An other improvement since February.

Ricardo (the manager at Alux) is such a nice person. He gives attention to every client in the restaurant. The service we received at Alux was more than perfect. The flambe straberries we got for our last supper at Sian Ka'an was such a nice attention and were so good. Big thumb up to Ricardo. Many nice and fancy restaurants in Montreal don't even have maitre d'hotel or manager like Ricardo.

Liliana (at the reception desk) was so nice with us. She's the one who proceed with our check in: smyling, very polite and friendly. Throughout our stay, she always seems happy to answer our questions or requests. A sincere thanks to her. She is a valuable employee.

CLEANLINESS:

The grounds were always well maintained. To many guests do not realised the hard work of the gardener, pool cleaner, beach cleaning team who work so hard in the sun and heat to make sure the beach is cleaned from seaweeds and rocks.

Public washrooms were always well maintained. One suggestion: toilet door should have a hook inside to hang hand bags or beach bags.

The day of our departure, I have dropped a full glass from our table in the lobby. Within 1 minute, 2 ladies arrived out from the blue and everything was cleaned. The employees are very productive.

FOOD-BEVERAGE:

The quality of the food, the diversity of the food and the presentation of the food at the Sian Ka'an buffet were way above the food in the other Bahia's buffets.

Quality and the presentation of the food at Alux were more than perfect. We love good quality food with nice presentationand we have rarely found that in an all inclusive. At Alux, it was amazing.

The beef "filet mignon" at Don Pablo and at Le Gourmet was fabulous. The quality of the beef was even better than the quality many nice restaurants in Montreal serve.

If I can only mention 2 negative aspects: the temperature of the soup (the lobster bisque at Le Gourmet was not hot anough for my taste, it was just little warm) and the air conditioning at Le Gourmet was either not working are temperature not adequate because it was very hot in the restaurant.

The "coffee flambe" in the lobby at night was so nice to look and to taste. It was a nice show. Waitress were always smiling while preparing these special coffee. An other improvement since February and we have appreciated it.

TRAM-SHUTTLE:

We only waited more than 5 minutes for a shuttle at the Sian Ka'an lobby.

The almost direct shuttle from Sian Ka'an to the beach was more efficient since we did not have to go by the Hacienda like we had to do last February.

If I can only mention 2 negative aspects, but these are constructive remarks:

To many times, we had to go by the Coba lobby for nothing because nobody was there for a pick up.

They should increase the frequence of the shuttles at the beach (to come back at the Sian Ka'an lobby) around lunch time and around 16h30-17h00 because we had to wait a little while (with the sun and not such shade area to hide while awaiting for the shuttles, it was kind of hot). But I understand it's Mexico weather and we have to leave with it.

TIPPING:

To many guests want to be treated like queens and kings and have attitude with employees without even giving them a tip. I felt so bad for the employees who were smiling to these "inacurate" guests without even receiving one dollar in tip. Clients who does not tip should step into these Mexican shoes for only one hour. I am sure after 15 minutes, they would quit!!!

OVERALL, I would say Sian Ka'an is my paradise and I would not hesitate to go back again once again if the price is good and I would definately recommand this resort to anybody who wants to have a calm environment.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tiloupmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an resort would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write about your experience during your second stay in our hotel.

We appreciate you have mentioned that you liked the cleanliness, the a la carte restaurants, gardens, pools, beach and the hard work of our different staff members. Be assure that we will forward your nice words to every person mentioned.

Also thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the food and restaurant temperature at Le Gourmet, and the internal transportation; these have been sent to their Management and they will be giving these matters the proper attention to improve them.

Thank you for sharing your pictures and views with us; we are looking forward to your next visit.

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on 18th June and were both greated with a refreshing Margarita apon check in which was well needed after a 9 hour flight and 1 1/2 hour transfer.

The bell boy was top notch carrying my girlfriends very heavy bag which was probally bigger than him up 3 flights of stairs to our penthouse jacuzzi room.

The room was very clean and well presented with a nice big bed, we stayed in room 41624 which was probally the further away from reception and was one of the only apartment blocks covered by fence trees meaning the pathways and stairways would get dirty very quick with leaves, dead bugs and bird poo. Which was abit disappointing as no other block seemed to suffer this. The room it self was spacious but felt very bland and could do with a splash of some colour on a wall, even though we did have one strip of paint on the ceiling which was clearly used to cover a leak and was a different colour to the white. The air con worked a treat all ways nice and cool when came back to the room. The rooms also need a full length mirror somewhere as the ones in the room were small and made it annoying for my girlfriend trying to get ready in the evenings. Also could do with more hangers and shelfing in wardrobe.

The food in the restaurants in Sian Ka'an was far superior than in the other resorts, we ate at Maiko the second night and had a lovely meal, apart from some chicken still being pink when served, we loved the buffet for breakfast the omelette lady service was always brilliant along with the pasta chef in the evenings. We visited some of the al la carte restaurants at the other resorts. Don Pablo being our favourite one, found dolce vita very average and Del Mar was very disappointing with service and starters we left before mains and went for the buffet. In the end we had most our meals Yal Ku buffet as was always the best quality of food.

The beach even though had our own private section we walked full length of the beach and spent most out time on akumal beach which was our favourite. Golden sands minimal rocks, clear blue water and even fish as you go further out, also has alot more going on with Zumba taking place on the jetty which everyone loved.

Public relations were always very helpful, booking our Al La Carte restaurants and responding to email request before arriving and even helped fix a problem with a trip we had arranged with a different tour operator. They also arranged for a bottle of sparking wine and strawberrys to be delivered to our room which was a lovely touch to enjoy in the jacuzzi.

Staff are always very polite and there are so many of them in Sian Ka'an whether its a gardener, bell boy, maid they will always say ollah when you walk past. As previous mentioned the omelette lady, pasta chef were top notch, aswell as the staff who work in the bar in the foyer are always swift and polite.

There is so much to see and do arround all 4 resorts so hard to explain everything!

Overall Sian Ka'an was our favourite resort of the 4 but each one had its own perks and integrated together they truely do cater for everyone.

We loved this holiday and was truely amazing but with a few simple tweeks it could be the best!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlennox89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to send some valuable comments about your stay at the Luxury Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an.

Our team is glad to read that you had an amazing holiday in which you enjoyed the food, the check in, the special touches from the Public Relations and Housekeeping, the beach and the polite staff. By other hand, thank you for mentioning the few things we should take care to make our hotel the best.

Kindest regards from Mexico,

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a very wonderful honeymoon stay in Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an. From the personal welcome by Barisa to the very friendly staff to the wonderful food, everything was perfect and we had no complaints. We had no issues with any room amenities such as the AC, the beach was beautiful and we always had a lounge chair after 3pm and the food at the buffet was beyond our expectations.

Our only concern is that we felt that we were rushed into joining the BP Membership club and we were pushed into making a non thought-out decision. They should not have pushed on us the way they did. Although, we are going to go along with the membership because we have no choice now, we would not have joined if we knew better. Be aware of any "special" presentations and gifts that may be thrown at you in order for you to attend - it is a membership sale and a pricey one at that. This membership might work for people who travel 3 times a year or more but most likely not worth it for us. So be aware!!!

All being said, the hotel itself we loved and would recommend to everyone. This was the best quality hotel type stay we have ever had.

Room Tip: Get a room by the sushi bar/quiet pool. Close to everything and quiet :)
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaKholod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrivilegeClub, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Nina_Alex,

First and foremost we’d like to welcome you to the Bahia Principe Privilege Club!

On behalf of Bahia Principe Privilege Club, we are so thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation at the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an. We wanted to take the time out to thank you for writing your post about the resort and staff, specially Mrs Brisa. I am thrilled to know your honeymoon was a memorable one.

We hope to have you back soon so you may begin to enjoy the benefits of being a Privilege Club member. Should you have any additional questions regarding the Privilege Club membership, please feel free to email us at customerservice@bppclub.com

Sincerely,

Stephany Tavarez
Customer Service
Bahia Principe Privilege Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews