We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A vacation is what you make of it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went for the sun and beach. Booked junior suite with Air Canada Vacations from June 9-16 2013
Was in room 2923 third floor near sushi bar. The room itself is small and facing lot's of full grown trees, the basic needs are there, king bed, tv flat screen, decoration mirror over headboard, bar fridge, safe box, coffee machine, small balcony with 2 chairs and great A/C. So far everything was great until we notice that two lights in bathroom was burned, open shade and dead bugs on window seals, one shade broken half way. Called front desk and customer relation and talked to Air Canada rep about toilet not flushing properly was told by customer relation that in Mexico do not put soiled paper in toilet, you have to put it in the trash can, that was not a solution what to do with the smell of the toilet. For a advertised 5 stars Hotel with the first name is Luxury I was not expecting this. Complaint about critters coming under the door into the room, little gecko and lizards, black bugs, had to put towels under door from both sides, it's normal they say. No full size mirror only the one in the bathroom over the sink. Ladies bring your hair dryer there is a small one on the wall not for styling. Not enough space for clothes, I used iron board for suitcase stand, too many bugs on the floor. Girl at front desk was great she send real suitcases stands. Beach was great just what I expected to be. Beach personnel all outstanding, very welcoming, only issues with not enough place to sit, to many towels left on chairs and person gone for the day. No towel card so people don't return them, they leave it anywhere.
If you walk on the left side of the beach until the third flag you will find a perfect secluded spot with 2 chairs overlooking the beach.
At the Buffet in the back left section Eglaydy and Emma was outstanding. Don't forget to bring lots of insect repellent and sunscreen is a must.
From my last vacation posting I would say the beach is more walkable, less rocky. Beach was better on this resort but as for us we believe food quality, plate presentation, room maintenance, hotel service quality I would go to back to Ocean Breeze Hotels Riviera Maya not a 5 stars but better in our opinion. Both are small condo boutique hotels not waterfront with access with sister hotels.
Received this reply from management:
(Our hotel, for standard, do not have full mirror in the rooms, unfortunately that is something that we cannot change; I apologize that my answer was not what you expected, it was just a joke. Also, we know that in many countries the toilet paper goes in toilet, unfortunately in Mexico don't; most of the international hotels fix the toilets to allow the paper in, but not all of them; and as an ecological hotel, we always provide in each room a garbage can and the maid replace the bag daily.)

Next vacation in October 2013 always a vacation is what you make of it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel101Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for mentioning the exceptional job of Eglayde, Emma, reception and beach bar staff; your compliments will be forward to our staff.

I would like to make a heartfelt apology that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our team works very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around.

I will not attempt to excuse the occurrences that happened during your stay, but I do sincerely hope that you give us another chance to reaffirm your faith in the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

I greatly appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Warm regards,

Sending you my kindest regards,

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,288)
There are newer reviews for Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,869 - 3,875 of 7,288 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed here 4 times! Never any major issues--if you are a complainer (which many people are)-you will find something! The staff bends over backwards to make you happy. Carlos at the bar is always friendly and awesome. The girls that deliver the drinks at the bar lobby work hard to please everyone. What you may not realize is that many of these people work for 6 days straight-12 hour shifts and for peanuts-so consider that when you start complaining! The beach is great-only a 5 minute tram ride away. We have stayed on all 3 levels and can honestly say that they are all pretty much the same with the excpetion that there is an outside jacuzzi tub on both the 1st and 3rd (penthouse) floors. I do agree with many writers about 1 bag of chips and 1 candy bar-there should at least be 2 for a couple. I also agree with the room service menu-it does need a little updating as well. (healthier option suggestion: grilled chicken wrap), but overall a superb place to stay!!! The spa is rarely mentioned-it is awesome. My husband and I always have a couples massage and the girls couldn't be more professional and they know what they are doing. We have had the same people since we have been coming there. That should be a testament to the loyalty of these employees to their jobs. We will be back in October!

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the front keep you closest to the lobby/buffet restaurant.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgiavacationgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear loyal guest,

We really appreciate your loyalty to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an; thank you very much for taking time to write about your experience with us.

Thank you for your great comments and your suggestions, I am forwarding your review to our staff especially to Carlos and the Spa girls.

Looking forward to welcome you back in October,

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from the Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an. This was our first all inclusive holiday and were a little apprehensive. All the apprehension disappeared as soon as we stepped off the coach! The welcome we received was second to none! The staff were so nice! All of them without exception were all so friendly and were always there to help with what ever question you might have had. Lucio, Martha and Mary from the Playa Holbox bar were so nice and dedicated to the customers. If you happen to meet Maribel the maid, treat her with a lot of respect, she is the nicest person you will ever meet. The shuttle system to the beach and to the other resorts is very well managed, we never had to wait more than 5 minutes. If like us you enjoy a game of golf, take your sticks with you or simply rent some at the club house. But, beware, the course is tough and is not for the beginners, unless you don't mind loosing a few balls in the jungle that is! The only problem we encounters was the mosquitoes! Do take plenty of repellent with you, they will get you! If you have a few questions to ask pre holiday, don't hesitate to contact the lovely people at the customer relations desk, they will be very happy to help.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyMN1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Lady.

Please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for choosing us to spend your first holidays in an All Inclusive resort.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback; we are glad to hear that you had a great welcome and that enjoyed the tram service, playing Golf and the nice staff. We really appreciate that you mentioned the work of our great staff especially Lucio, Maribel, Martha and Mary; we will forward your comments to them.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Kindest Regards,

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Sian Ka'an situated on the Mayan Peninsula, Mexico. This hotel is loacted in the "Jungle" and on a magnificent golf course. Its adult only and caters for a smaller number than the other hotels in the group. Golf type carts are utlised to ferry guest throughout the Country Estate to fine dining restuarants, spas, private area on the beach, shows, entertainment, snorkelling, scuba diving and so on. Its truly amazing.
What made our stay particularly special were the staff. I want to mentioned in particular Julietta whose smile, welcome and slasa dancing was heart warming. She and her team made us so welcome. I thought it was only the Irish who had the "Craic" but they had it in abundance.
In the evenings you could choose to go to fine dining restaraunts throught the estate with a special mention for Le Gourmet & Aloush. You need to book the restaurants as soon as you can for the period of your stay,. The buffet dining at Sian Ka'an was great and you don't need to book that. The Mexican restaurant at Tulum sadly was very poor as was the Fish Restaurant at Coba.
At Sian Ka'an we had the penthouse suit which was lovely but to be honest we hardily spent any time there.
A visit to the Ackumel beach which is outside the complex is highly recommended. Here you can swim with the turtels and the tourquiose water is just amazing.
We also went to Xel Ha which is a natural lagoon where you can snorkel,swim with the dolphins in a natural environment, zip wire and so much more. Great day.
One thing you need to prepared for are the mosquitos!!! I played golf and was eaten alive!!! While we were advised to make sure we used sprays etc, you really need to be well prepared. If you play golf spray before you go and take the spray with you. Also try to be off the course by 5:30. It can be quite unpleasant if you dont take adequate precautions. Dont let this put you off. We had an amazing holiday & I would highly recommend Sian Ka'an.

Room Tip: We choose the penthouse suite which was beautiful. Some of the rooms are located 15 minutes walk aw...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeMegax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Dee,

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review your recent stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We appreciate you good comments about the Golf Course, the entertainment, the buffet, your Penthouse Suite, the excellent staff and for bringing to our attention your perception of some of the a la carte restaurants; these had been passed to the in charges and they will try to do the improvements in the areas that will be possible.

Thank you for sharing the pictures, we wish we can welcome you back for another amazing holiday,

Kindest Regards,

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

this is our sixth visit to México and our 3rd time at a Bahia Principe resort. The Sian kaan just blew us away. by far the best hotel we have been to.
My wife and I went to the Sian Kaan on June 14th 2013 with air Canada vacations. We had decided to go there because of the price and that we had been at their sister hotel the akumal a few years ago we thought the akumal was a great hotel but it can't compare to the Sian Kaan.
There was so much that was great about this hotel I don't know where to start
Check in fast efficient & friendly .
Rooms modern ,clean well maintained the stairwell only accessed 2 rooms per floor so it was nice and peaceful no noise from people walking by.
Food UNBELIEVABLLY GOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
By far the best buffet food we have ever had anywhere including Canada and US. this buffet food is better than some of the a la carts we have been to in other hotels. The Alux is the best a la carte we have been to as well you must try it
Entertainment: very good always some form of live music at night or you take the tram to see a great show at the coba or akumal as we did.
Apart from the food what really made our vacation special were the people who looked after us.
When you go for breakfast and lunch make sure you get served by Eglayde and Emma the 2 friendliest and most efficient servers we have had.
If you want some fun go see Eduardo and the rest of the animacion team.
For a superb drink alcoholic or not go see Jesus at the pool bar.
thank you all for a wonderful time we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear John,

For Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team, it is a pleasure to read that you had the greatest vacations with us and this was your 3rd time at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed the efficient check in, your well maintained room, the good food thegood entertainment and the efficient service of our staff, you comment will be sent to our team specially to Eglayde, Emma and Jesus.

Looking forward to welcome you for the the 7th time in Mexico,

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was one of the best resorts I've ever been in. Children arnt allowed so it was very peaceful. I would highly recommend this new and peaceful resort to anyone; it's not being right on the beach was a plus and I never felt like I was missing out. I honestly can't recommend this hotel more, it was beautiful and the service was awesome. I will be returning for my winter holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Losingthegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you consider Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an one of the best resorts that you have ever been; we always try to provide the best service and experience to all of our guests so they have an excellent time here at the Riviera Maya.

We are looking forward to welcome you back on winter holiday,

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Let us preface this by saying this was our 10th trip to the Riviera Maya and it was for our 10th anniversary. We found this hotel on a deal and it matched our requirements: escape, fun, relaxation. Never intended to do anything but sit on the beach.
Zero issues with trolley to beach. Met one couple who had a problem where they had to walk back to the hotel due to road construction, assume it is now solved and everything is back to normal.
Great beach! cleanest beach we've ever been to, including odd things such as workers collecting seaweed in baskets in the ocean, an army of 5-6 workers picking through the sand to find trash. Our room was great, we booked a suite upgrade for $80 each, worth it for the large room but not so much for the jacuzzi because we could not use it because of the mosquitoes. Not sure if fogging for mosquitoes is now outlawed but this place could Really use it!
Food: Excellent buffet at Sian Kaan, tried a la cartes (mediterranean,brazilian) at the other sister resorts, very disappointing, so much that we cancelled our 3rd reservation at the italian restaurant in favor of the buffet. At Sian Kaan, disappointed with Japanese restaurant but loved the french(alux). Also, honestly, we just could not be bother with the trolley rides to the other resorts and the crowds. Sian Kaan is nice and smaller, which we really appreciated.
Only unusual thing to happen was that eventhough our bathrobes were nicely folded, they had not been laundered as I found a lighter in the pocket of my robe, kinda gross. I have laundered many lighters and I know this one did not go through the wash and dry cycle.
We really appreciated the quality of service provided by our exclusive status (Sian Kaan) e
specially at our designated area on the beach (Gabriella and Ana, providing excellent service on the beach). And of course, we cannot forget Angel who was supplying these 2 wonderful ladies!
Special thank you to Blanca (at the Sian Kaan buffet), who went the extra mile daily to make us feel special. Koodos to Carlos at the lobby bar, Roque at Alux, and all the other whos names we forget. You work hard and deserve all the credit. On this line, we find it selfish and cheap that tips were not the norm. Come on people, just because it says tips included, you have to realize that the money does not trickle down to the staff....and they deserve every penny!
all in all, we got what we were expecting out of this trip. Would we go back? yes, if the hotel worked on the food at the a la carte restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank natneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Natneal,

Your feedback helps us to identify some aspects we have not noticed and we will take measures to improve them. For Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an our guests opinion is very important, thank you very much for the time taken to post it.

We appreciate that you have chosen our hotel to celebrate your 10th anniversary and that you have mentioned that you enjoyed the tram service, the clean beach, the buffet, your room and the hard work of our staff.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception of the a la carte restaurants, I have sent your comments to the concerns and they will take measures to improve them. We apologize for the inconveniences with the mosquitos and the bathrobe, housekeeping department is aware of it after your comments and they will pay more attention to the cleanliness. We do a daily fumigation program to decrease mosquito breeding, however as we are an ecological hotel surrounded by vegetation zone that offers our guests to be in touch with the nature, unfortunately we can’t avoid having insects.

We hope you visit us again in the future, kindest regards,

Brisa Islas
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Don Pablo Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
23.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
143.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
144.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
11.8 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,718 reviews
4.8 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Mexico | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $172 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi (free of charge) Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing