We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned Tuesday ... unparallelled food and service. I agree with all the other 'excellent' ratings and will now look at going to other Luxury Bahias!! First time we've been to an adults only resort. Didn't realize how much we would enjoy that. Played the golf course once (I'm a 10 handicap) ... the course has a great layout but the greens are sub-standard ... a lot of patchy areas. The resort is huge ... the beach is a 5 minute shuttle away but this did not concern us at all.

COME HERE!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aspen_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad to hear that this was you first experienced in an adults only resort and that you really enjoyed the food, service, beach and playing Golf.

It has been our pleasure and honor to be at your service, looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Receive our warm regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,535)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,142 - 4,148 of 7,539 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort from April 6-13, 2013 and loved it. That was our second trip to Sian Ka'an in a year and we will be back! The service was amazing, the resort was extremely clean, and the food was to die for. Claudia had arranged all our reservations in advance and greeted us on arrival.Fruit plate and champagne waited in our room and that was a very nice personal touch.

I cannot say enough about how helpful and attentive the staff is. We were always greeted with a smile and staff were always willing to help. There were too many awesome staff to remember all of their names.
Extremely relaxing, very refreshing vacation...just what we needed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OhioMandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate that you and your husband have chosen Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an as your holiday destination on your recent vacations.

Thank you very much for writ a nice review in which you comment what you enjoyed better, like the amazing service, the cleanliness, the great food and the personal touches received in your room upon arrival.

We are already looking forward to welcome you again for the 3rd time next year,

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Excellent food and beach one of the best we've been to in riveria maya. Crystal clear and not murky. Best yet out of all AI we have been to for food. Next best barcelo palace deluxe. The Buffet close to the exclusive beach section, just ok.
Hints: if you have garden view with jacuzzi ask for one on the paths and in area of cenote lounge. They have lovely landscaping and still private. Our first room faced the back of a building and not at all appealing in view, ac and safe broken so moved to new Room. Also don't let being offsite hinder you staying at sian kaan. Trams every few minutes and just a five minute direct ride to the beach. Need to get there by 8:30 to get chairs or all taken. Saw many frustrated people at beach and pool looking for chairs. They need more chairs. Highly recommend bringing blue towels to the beach with you as they don't open beach side I think until 10:30. House red wine was not at all good. Saw many glasses left full. We got a great deal from American Express vacations. I feel for the price you get excellent food, nice grounds, great water but just an okay room, although new. Room was biggest disappointment of all and poor house wine. I only say this as I now compare to the fairmont mayakoba we switched to at tail end of vacation for different scenery. Room here perfect five star in quality. Although not AI almost, same great deal through amx vacations where even with paying for food and drinks fairmont a bit more in price yet so far seems comparable. However fairmonts beach is no where as nice at Bahia principle in akumal. In the end I'd recommend sian kaan, if on a budget, wanting excellent food and great beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingzlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to review your recent stay at our resort. For the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an is great to read that you had a good stay with us in which you enjoyed the excellent food, beach, nice grounds and tram service. We apologize for the fact that you had to change room as the previous one did not met your expectations and had some issues with the A/C and safe box; we are already taking actions to avoid this situations arise again.

We thank you also for recommending our hotel and for advice all our future guests. It will be great to welcome you again in the near future if you decide to visit us.

Kindest Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort from April 14-21, 2013 and loved it. We will be back! The service was amazing, the resort was extremely well kept, and the food couldn't be better. We went back and forth on whether to book this resort, as it isn't on the beach, but were happy we did! The shuttle is only 5 minutes to the beach and runs often.

I cannot say enough about how helpful and attentive the staff are. We were always greeted with a smile and staff were always willing to help. Jesus, at the pool bar, and Jamie at the Alux restaurant were particularly good. There were too many awesome staff to remember all of their names.

An amazing trip, I don't have a bad thing to say!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 41203. It was a great location, right by the pool and the 24 hour snack bar. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMR123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you kind words and nice review of your recent stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We are very happy to hear that you the grounds, food, tram service and service of our staff; we really appreciate you mentioning Jesus and Jaime, they will feel flattered to be part of your amazing vacation.

We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and will be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

it was good and I really liked it. the people there were so friendly. the atmosphere was really nice and the food was so awesome. and there was lots of variety. food was so yummy!! holy moly! they also had different size pools and ping pong. overall I liked it a lot.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liinda33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Linda,

Thank you for the time you have taken to write some comments about your recent stay in Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, we appreciate you have mentioned that the staff was so friendly, the atmosphere was nice and the food awesome. We hope you had a great time.

Looking forward to serve and entertain you again in the future,

Warm Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We chose this resort for our 4 year anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed it!

Food- Better than expected. We actually mutually agree that the dining room was our favorite.
Location- We didn't mind that it was not on the beach as it was a short shuttle ride to get there. Also close to Playa del Carmen and Tulum which was nice. We didn't want to be too close to Cancun so it was a perfect location to us
Customer Service- Admirable
Price- Great value- though tips were included we still left additional

Being in our early 30's we were some of the youngest guests there. We really appreciated that this was the "quiet hotel" but when we wanted to enjoy additional entertainment we could visit the others and then come back to our relaxing environment.
Bahia Principe Resorts has set a standard for us in regards to cleanliness and service. We can't wait to go back to this resort and visit some of their other properties as well!

Specifically:
Faustino and Blanca made our breakfat and lunch dining experience enjoyable with their attentiveness. We preferred Leydi to exclusively provide drinks at the hotel and on the beach because of her silliness,sincerity and overall fun personality. Christain provided amazing customer service at the front desk. William provided us with outstanding service as well and was extremely knowledgable and personable. Also, Mary's smile welcomed us every morning when she was providing morning beverages.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erkestein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent visit to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and for taking the time to write your positive impressions about your anniversary celebration at our hotel.

We are very happy to hear that you appreciated the service and personal attention of our employees, especially from Faustino, Blanca Leydi, William, Christian and Maria.

Your suggestion about the closet of the room and your perception about the disco are very important for us, they will be taken into consideration in order to improve our services; they are great ambassadors of the service in the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, we will immediately forward your post to the correspondent manager for his well-deserved recognition

Once again thank you for nice comments and we are looking forward to welcome you again soon,

Our best regards from the Caribbean,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Quick Overview (details below)
Overall the trip was wonderful. Extremely relaxing, very refreshing...just what we needed! The resort met all of our expectations and we would definitely recommend staying at the Sian Ka’an. All staff from the gardeners, to housekeeping, to waiters/waitresses/bartenders, to guest services/public relations work very hard to ensure a comfortable stay on and off the resort.
We traveled with Apple Vacations from Baltimore to Cancun, staying at the Sian Ka’an at Bahia Principe from 4/12/13 thru 4/19/13. Apple reps were available at the Cancun airport upon arrival, greeting us with drinks and information regarding shuttle service to our resort. Within 15 mins, we were in the van with another couple en route to our resort. The trip from the airport to the resort was just over an hour.. no issues. Keep your camera in the bag, the trip along the way is far from paradise.

When we arrived at the resort, our rooms were not ready.. so we dropped our luggage at the front desk and enjoyed our first trip to the resort buffet in addition to a margarita! When traveling with Apple Vacations.. you are supposed to meet with the Apple rep at the resort upon arrival to setup excursions, return travel plans, etc.. we did not see the Apple rep at our resort until 6 days later (the day before our return) to schedule transportation back to the airport. You may need to travel to one of the other Bahia Principe properties to catch the Apple rep if you are interested in booking excursions. If anyone from Apple is reading this post, I recommend leaving contact info for the Apple rep at the front desk so people don't have to run around the resort trying to find the rep all week.

A little about the resort.. Adults Only feature of Sian Ka’an is great if you're looking to enjoy a relaxing/serene stay with no screaming kids and/or spring breaker types. If you are looking for these types of activities.. you can take a quick shuttle ride to any of the sister resorts including Tulum, Coba, Akumal, etc. During our 7 day stay, we would often take a shuttle mid-day to the private Sian Ka’an beach area.. then return to Sian Ka’an for afternoon food and sun. The shuttle service was excellent.. never waiting more than 5 mins at any location... again all staff very accommodating.

The rooms were as expected - not too fancy, very clean, modern and provided plenty of space. Most on the lower level had private patios with outdoor Jacuzzi tubs. From a female perspective - The mattress was a little hard, similar to what you might find on a futon, so if you prefer a softer sleep, you might request additional blankets to provide some cushion. From a male perspective - the bed was awful.. similar to a pull out couch, mattress only, no box springs.. could feel the dividing board in the middle of the bed.. not one good night of sleep.. so drink a lot if you expect a comfortable night's sleep:(

Onto the food - we were more impressed with the two a la carte restaurants at Sian Ka’an than those that we visited at the sister properties. Both Alux and Maiko are air conditioned and full service. The food was good, not exceptional but met expectations for a large resort. The only big disappointment was the Brazilian Steakhouse (Radizio) at Tulum - if you are from the US, it does not compare to the quality at Fogo de Chao or Texas de Brazil. If you're looking for "fine dining" you won't find it at any of the eateries OR reserved restaurants at the resort. Room service was a nice option, but it seemed to come from the snack bar kitchen and options are limited. The buffet at Sian Ka’an was consistent and fresh with a variety of options.

Excursions
- Our first journey was to the Ruins of Tulum. We reluctantly took the shuttle to the highway, hopped the Colectivo (local public transit/van) and arrived at Tulum in about 15 minutes (30 kilometers from the resort). Taxis are a bit pricey.. so in this case, it cost $3/person to ride the Colectivo versus about $30 to take a taxi. Once arriving at the Ruins, we bought tickets for $6/person.. and enjoyed the next hour viewing the sites. The Ruins were great.. but the views of the ocean were breath taking!! So 30 mins to, 60 mins walking around, 30 mins return.. an easy trip in the morning before hitting the beach. Note, there's a small gift store at the entrance to buy water.. so no need to drag it along from the resort.
- Our second journey was to Akumal Beach to snorkel with the sea turtles. We again decided to save a few bucks and take Colectivo versus taking a taxi since this is less than 5 mins away from the resort. This time, we weren't so lucky. The Colectivo dropped us off at the wrong location along the highway.. after meeting a few resort reps, they guided us in the right direction.. and after a 20 min walk, we arrived at Akumal. Note, if you decide to take the Colectivo anywhere, discuss your journey with a resort rep at the front desk to advice on EXACTLY where to get picked up and dropped off.. including any key words, ie puerta = bridge. Anyhow, snorkeling with sea turtles was a great time. For $25/person, we rented snorkeling gear and got a personal guide to take us into the water, locate turtles, fish, etc.. An hour is plenty.. it was awesome! After snorkeling, we hit the local restaurant by the water for a few beers.. highly recommend the fajitas "con mucho salsa"!!
- Our third journey, back to Akumal to do some deep sea fishing. Our plan was to enjoy a 3hr adventure for $150/entire boat up to 4 persons. Despite the shop and fisherman saying it was safe.. after about 15 mins out on the water, we decided to return to shore. To the best of my ability, I stated "no mas, no beuno, finido, no pescado" In English or Spanish, we didn't want to risk our lives fishing in weather/seas that were less than ideal. The upside to fishing from Akumal Dive Shop (versus Capt Ricks) is that with ADS, you can take your catch to a local restaurant to have it cooked! Unfortunately, we never got that opportunity:(

Other vacation notes
- The golf course at Sian Ka’an was gorgeous. Although we didn't play, some guys we spoke with said it was very nice.. and plays harder than most resort style courses. Golf Channel was televising a tournament for Latino Tour, so it must be pretty good.
- Currency exchange is available at the front desk, even exchange, no charge. Most accept credit cards and American money though, so no issues.
- The water .. water on the resorts is fine to drink but we still took bottled water to the beach every day.
- Beach access.. quick shuttle ride to the Sian Ka’an area. Chairs were available most of the time.. and when not, we walked up/down the beach to find first available. The advantage of sunning at SK area.. servers walking around the beach with chair side drink service, schweet!!
- Iguanas.. they are plentiful! Found out from one of the shuttle drivers.. if someone runs over one, the fine is 5,000 pesos or $500, ouch! So don't worry when they run out in front of the drivers.. we never saw one dead iguana.. but I bet they taste like chicken, right?!?
I think that about covers it.. I hope you enjoy your vacation as much as we did!! Buenos Dias!!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the front of the resort.. In the evening, the band plays until 10-11pm. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daroth2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an team; we would like to thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your detailed feedback of your recent visit to the Riviera Maya; your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our serene and relaxing ambience, tram service, room, food, a la carte restaurants, beach, hard work of our staff, visiting the area and observing our fauna.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the bed and La Gran Tortuga restaurant, you can however rest assured that we will be giving this matter the proper attention.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Sending you my kindest regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
6.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Mexico | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $196 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi (free of charge) Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing