We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an
Nearby Hotels
$321
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Coba(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$285
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$312
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Villas Akumal(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$149
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Oasis Tulum(Akumal)
$233
Bookit.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Que Onda(Akumal)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (7,876)
Filter reviews
7,876 results
Traveler rating
5,578
1,627
465
116
90
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,578
1,627
465
116
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother hotelsalux restaurantcenote snack barpenthouse suitelobby bara la carte restaurantsprivate beachrooftop jacuzzifull length mirrorgala nightdon pablosushi baran adults only resorttrolley ridedinner reservationsnever waited more than minutesbutler service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4,519 - 4,524 of 7,876 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We just returned from a very enjoyable week at BP Sian Ka'an. It is a luxury resort set in a jungle backdrop, with hard working staff and a premium food and drink experience. There are definitely a few things to be aware of before you go depending on the type of traveller that you are, but this resort scores a lot of check marks. It was our 6th time to this area and the first to this resort chain. Before we left, we contacted Claudia at the resort to make a room request and book our a la cartes and she was very helpful and professional (see other posts for her contact information).

High points:
- top-notch a la carte and buffet restaurants (all are much better than those in the BP complex)
- premium liquors, including cognacs and brandies. A few at cost but many very good options included at no cost. Cuervo and Crown Royal in mixed drinks a definite plus.
- impeccably clean rooms, common areas and resort grounds....modern and beautiful

To be aware of:
- Located on the other side of the highway away from the beach, shuttle service to a private beach club (<5 minutes) or to other parts of the complex (5-20 minutes)
- affiliated with adjacent golf course, but 'discounted' green fee + rental quite expensive, definitely bring your own clubs if you want to play
- no towels cards for towel service like the main BP complex (good), but towel service sporadic throughout the resort, could definitely be improved. No towels in locker rooms at golf club.

I would rate the accommodations, service and food/drink as 5 stars, and the resort location and amenities as 4 stars. I felt that the resort was excellent value for what we paid in high season.

Room Tip: Rooms by the sushi bar are very quiet and private, but are further from the lobby. Good for travellers wanting to do nothing but relax by the pool!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.
We are very happy to hear that you had a very enjoyable week with us. We really appreciate that you mentioned the professionalism of Claudia, the a la carte restaurants, the cleanliness of the rooms and grounds and the premium drinks; and your recommendations to the future guest like the distance to the beach, Golf Course information and the beach towels system.

We hope you visit us again in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were at the Sian Ka'an from Feb. 16th to March 2nd . My wife and I have been to the BP resorts sereral times but this was our first visit to the Sian Ka'an. It was a great trip, exceeded our expectations. The resort was perfect, the food incredible and our room was fantastic. We had a great view of the ocean, a fair distance away, but from our Penthouse suite balcony we could see the sun rise and the sun set. The staff at the Sian Ka'an are what makes the resort what it is, from Vanessa, the guest services manager to the landscape staff, they we all incredible, made you feel special and always polite and happy to see you. I would highly reccomend the resort and we will be returning again soon

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg9538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us for the first time.

It is a pleasure to read that we exceeded your expectations during you stay in regards of food, room, and service. We strive to provide the best service and we are very happy that you appreciated personal attention of our employees especially for mentioning Vanessa.

We would be delighted to host you and your wife in the future at the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

Best regards from Paradise,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had an excellent experience at Sian Kaan. It was a long trip down (1 hour exactly) from the airport but it was worth it. The food and service were great. This was our 4th trip to Riviera Maya, and other than our honeymoon (which we paid for a better room) this was hands down the best. If you are impatient and do not like to wait for shuttles, this place is not for you. I don't think we ever waited longer than 10 minutes for a golf cart or a shuttle, but you need to go into this thinking that you will need to be shuttled if you wish to go to the other resorts along the coast.

Rooms were great. Beds were firm, but comfortable. Bathrooms were very nice as well. The design and modern feel was extremely nice. We were upgraded for free, which was nice. The only drawback for us was our location. We were located at the building furthest from the lobby and restaurants, etc.

Food was excellent. It was noticeable better at Sian Kaan than the other 3 Bahia Principe resorts across the road. Both Maiko and Alux were elegant atmosphere and awesome food. HIghly recommend the Tequila restaurant as well, our entrees were phenomenal. We enjoyed Pescado, but the service was slow and the waiter didn't stop back too often. We did enjoy the "appetizer buffet" prior to our main dishes at that restaurant.

The pool environment was top notch as well. The water was cooler than we expected, but we heard they had a lot of rain prior to our arrival. I'd rather have cool water and sun than rain, no doubt. I'd guess pool water was 80 degrees. Bars and drinks were all great, nothing to complain about either. The free snorkeling was nice and enjoyed. Ocean floor was rough in places, but just simply avoided those areas. No doubt, the beaches were BUSY. You needed to get there early to get your towel on a chair. We mostly hung out near the pools and could take a dip when we wanted.

All in all, I'd highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Buildings numbered lower (1,2,3, etc.) are closer to the lobby and restaurants.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for choosing us for your 4th holiday trip to the Riviera Maya.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

We are glad to hear that you had an excellent honeymoon in which you had very god experience with the room, food, pool, beach, drinks, snorkel and the a la carte restaurants.

Thank you also for recommending our hotel and for advice all our future guests. It will be wonderful to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Not sure if I need to add anything more as our review title states it all...but I will anyway. This was our first trip to Mexico. I searched the internet extensively and I must say the reviews on trip advisor did help. We arrived March 2nd at the hotel just before lunch, and we were treated to a margarita as we were checking in.

ROOM
The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are clean, quiet and very functional. Our room had a king bed, sitting area and beautiful bathroom and a balcony. The A/C system was on a remote control and was quiet and effective

FOOD
The food, well the food was more like a 10 star.

BUFFET
Before I talk about the a la cart restaurants, I must say the main buffet by the lobby is in itself a great place to eat. It had a great variety of food no matter if it was breakfast, lunch or dinner and the food was fantastic. You could just eat at the buffet all week and you would be happy. Want a quieter but still great breakfast, eat at the location by the first pool (it is the Alux al a carte restaurant at night) but provides a great breakfast and is closer to most rooms.

Al LA CARTE RESTAURANTS
The nice thing about staying at the Sian Kaan hotel versus the other three (Coba, Akumal or Tulum) was that with our all inclusive package we got unlimited al a carte restaurant choices. Here were our choices; restaurant name - type of restaurant (Hotel) - comments
1) Alux - International Gourmet (Sian Kaan) - good food, quaint, romantic, good service
2) Dolce Vita - Italian (Coba) - okay food, okay service, noisy
3) La Gran Tortuga - Brazilian (Tulum) - good food, interesting menu, good service
4) Mediterraneo - Mediterranian (Coba) - good food, romantic, good service, right next to beach
5) Arlequin - International Gourmet (Akumal) - excellent food, romantic, great service, 5 star
Of these the Arlequin was by far the best. In fact we went there twice. The "filet mignon" was the best I have ever had. Also try the french white wine from the their list (sorry forgot the name).

SIAN KA'AN SERVICE
The service at this resort was definitely 5 star. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful, nice and all with a sense of humor. Please remember to tip. Yes your package may say it includes gratuities, but you are at a 5 star resort. These tips are a major part of the service staff's income. $20 for dinner, $10 to $20 for other meals and min $5 per delivered drinks to me is minimum.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE
When we go back to Mexico, we will definitely be going back to the Gran Bahia Principe "SIAN KA'AN hotel as it was a fantastic 7 days where we were treated like royalty and like we mattered. And the fact that it is an adult only (18+) was a great bonus. Love kids, have 4 of our own, but when you do not bring the kids, you prefer not to share your time with someone else's either.

Stay here and you will not regret your choice.

P Bromby (Ontario)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Mr. Bromby,

Please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for choosing us to spend your first holidays in Mexico.

We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback.

It is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the resort in general, especially the location, the room, the fantastic food, the a la carte dinners, the adults only concept and the 5 star service.

We would be very happy to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Sending you my kindest regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a seven day stay at Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an (March 1 to 8). My wife and I (in our early sixties) have traveled extensively to Mexico and Cuba and have been to the BP resort a total of seven times and twice to Sian Ka"an. Although this resort is not on the ocean side, it's a short 8 minute tram ride to the private beach. Kudos to Sinthia who served us at the beach and works tirelessly to keep everyone happy. I am an avid golfer and played golf twice on our trip on the on site golf course and it is top notch. Tee times were easy to book. It is a little bizarre that beverages are free in the club house but you have to pay for them on the course, just don't understand the logic.It's not a big deal, just an annoyance and something we didn't expect!

We went to the spa once and it was very enjoyable.

We pre-booked all of our a la cartes (unlimited) and most we very good. One exception was Le Gourmet, where the food was OK but the service was very poor. We were there for almost 2 hours and still had not been served our coffee. The Alux was exceptional as was the Maiko a la carte, both on the Sian Kaan side. The room was very nice and room service did a great job.
The grounds are beautiful. All of the workers were friendly and greeted us with a friendly "Hola" whenever they passed by.

I had casually mentioned that my wife's birthday was happening during our stay and the resort helped us celebrate by giving us a bottle of champagne and decorating our room with a cake made from towels, balloons and chocolates. Small things, yes, but much appreciated.

The pools were very cold as the weather was cold at night for the first few days. The ocean was warmer though, so we spent more time there. The beach is not the best we've ever been to, a little rocky on entry, but once you get past the first 40 or so feet, it's fine. You need to get down to the beach early to get a chair under a Palapa.

This resort seems to be aimed at an older crowd, which is fine with us. If you are looking for a more party like atmosphere, I thing the other side (Tulum, Coba, and Akumal) would be a better choice. There is live entertainment in the evenings, same group every evening, and they do a good job.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay and felt pampered the whole time we were there. We feel it is great value for the money and are already planning our return in September.

Richard P. Calgary AB

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor garden room (40901) and enjoyed the large patio as well as easy access to the Cenote Grill (for morning coffee) and close acces to the main lobby.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Mr. Richard,

I am very glad to hear from you again and as part of Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an staff I am very proud that you chose us for second time and to read that you enjoyed your stay, that you felt pampered and that you are already planning to return in September.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Also, I would like to let you know that I am forwarding your concern about the Club House to the Golf Course management.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Greetings and warm regards from the paradise,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews