We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful First Visit to the Sian Ka'an”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Akumal
Reviewed December 17, 2012

In the spring of 2010 we visited the GP Akumal and went over to the golf course side and visited the jungle construction site of what was going to be the future Sian Ka'an. We could visualize what the first 100 units would look like but never imagined how the outcome would look with 425 completed units less than two years later. The resort was wonderful. We were there over Christmas and New Years 2011 and the kids loved it. We could use the facilities of all the resorts but could come home to our quiet oasis at the end of the day. The food was tremendous as was the Gala dinner and New Years eve celebration. We enjoyed the beach and all the service provided by the resort and its workers. We went to the Tulum ruins and have a few hints for anyone that is interested. In 2010 we did a bus trip from the resort and did not want to be part of the herd so we rented a taxi at 9 am and went to the Tulum ruins. The taxi driver insisted that he wait for us and we had a leisurely tour of the ruins complete with swimming in the ocean etc. At around noon we started walking out and seen hundreds of people lined up to get in the ruins during the heat of the midday sun! We were so glad that we just walked out and our taxi driver found me and took us back to the resort. I believe the taxi was $40 US with tip included and entrance was 5 pesos each. Very inexpensive and headache free excursion that I would suggest one considers rather than be part of the bus herd. LOL Overall we had a wonderful two weeks and would recommend.

Room Tip: Penthouse if you are mobile or garden suite if you like the extra outside space and greenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the reviews regarding your wonderful stay at our hotel in January 2011.

We are very happy to hear that you had a great Christmas and New Year’s celebration with your kids, in which you enjoyed the beach, all the service and that you had a great time visiting around the area.

We thank you also for recommending Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an hotel and for advice to all of our future guests. It will be wonderful to welcome you again and give you the good service you already know.

Best regards from sunny Mexico,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,512 - 4,518 of 7,529 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

We just got back from a week at Sian Ka'an & counldn't be more pleased!
The staff were excellent & the tram service to the beach & other properties was very convienent. The Alux Restaurant was our favorite dining experience. We will be back again in April 2013!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeannie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you have taken to share your experience during your recent stay at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, Riviera Maya.

We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your holiday destination and very happy to hear that you enjoyed our excellent staff, convenient tram service and the Alux restaurant.

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your valued loyalty and we are all looking forward to seeing you again on April.

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Returned from another WONDERFUL WEEK in Nov/12.This Resort is rated #1 of 21 in Akumal by Trip Advisor Travelers and I can see why.We paid $980.00 each ,all costs included,for 1 week ADULTS ONLY,PREMIUM SERVICE,FOOD AND ACCOMODATION.The grounds are beautiful and impecable [ I wish my Home was like them].I was absulutely amazed at the standard expected...chairs and tables arranged with precision,napkins /knives /forks/glasses/table cloths/windows all perfect...wow! If I requested anything it was done with a smile ,respectivly and with grace.Speaking of staff ,THE STAFF ARE BEST I HAVE ENCOUNTERED IN 45 YEARS OF TRAVEL!! I BELIEVE A TRUE RX FOR LIFE to recharge,connect ,be inspired, pampered ,FIND BEAUTY,JOY AND HEALTH should be 1-2 weeks / year and PRN...IT WORKS FOR MY FAMILY...BEST OF HEALTH!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent visit to the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and for taking the time to write your impressions about our hotel. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We are very happy to hear that you had a great vacation; enjoying the beautiful grounds, the premium food and service, and that you appreciated the service and personal attention of our employees.

We would be delighted to host you and your family in the future.

Best regards from the Paradise,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon and were very disappointed with the service we received vs. the amount of money we paid. Staff at the Bahia would set expectations for us and never meet them. For example:

-Room service was terrible -- It states in the menu that orders can take up to 45 minutes but it was always much slower (at least an hour and a half wait each time we ordered, one time it took 3 hours) and there is a very poor selection of items you could order, and the food was always cold. When I would call after an hour and a half to check on my order, they would tell me it would be 20 more minutes, but it was usually another hour to hour and a half later that our food would arrive.

-Housekeeping was not up to par. Our neighbors kept leaving their room service plates and glasses outside with half eaten food and drinks in them. Each day, housekeeping would come clean the rooms but would never take the plates. Each day for 3 days we called and asked someone to pick up the plates, every time staff responding that they would send someone right away but no one ever came. Finally, after I got sick of the smell and bugs, I took the plates up to the front desk myself, to which staff responded that they would send someone every day to make sure no plates were left. They did not do this. I had to bring the plates up to the desk a second time after another 3 day wait.

-They wouldn't stock our mini bar. As we were leaving to go to the beach I asked someone at the front desk if our mini bar could be stocked (housekeeping had already come and cleaned and supposedly they're supposed to stock the bar daily). Again, staff said they would take care of it right away. We were at the beach all day and when we came back the same staff member that I had asked to restock saw me walking and stopped me to tell me the bar had been restocked. When we got back to our room, it had not been.

--A staff member recommended a zipline tour to us at a place called Atkun Chen. He told us the cab ride would be free because they have a deal with the place. So they called the cab for us and we get there and it was closed (it was a Sunday and they are closed on Sundays). When we got back the cab driver was expecting us to pay so I talked to the lady at the public relations desk, who said they didn't know they were closed Sundays and they were sorry but we would have to pay the cab ride.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bahia Principe
4  Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for making us participants of your experience at our hotel. Your feedback is very welcome and valued. We appreciate all of your comments regarding your vacation with us, it is unfortunate that we could not make your stay as good as you expected and deserved.

We will take every action to improve the service that you feel was lacking on our part, in order for this not to happen to you or any other guest in the future. That certainly does not reflect the commitment and the quality that we have exhibited for many years, we have reviewed your comments with the different departments and we will introduce corrective actions and improvements where it is necessary.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you again to be able to offer you a more charming experience.

Sincerly,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The best of the reviews here regarding the Sian Kaan are all spot on! We have stayed at a number of All inclusive hotels and this is simply one of the best in every way, accommodation (we booked a penthouse suite), food, service, location and climate (stayed in November for 2 weeks) all perfect with no complaints. If you are a couple this is just the place for you as its adults only, no children allowed and you even have an exclusive beach area and private bar for Sian Kann guests only. The only place we have been that tops this would be sandals in St Lucia La Toc where we were married but the Sian Kaan is close and less than half the price for a similar room grade.

Room Tip: Book a penthous suite with a hot tub on the roof terrace, the garden room hot tubs are not very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew134_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the best reviews regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your penthouse suite, food, service, hotel location and climate.

We would be delighted to assist you in the future if your travel plans lead you back to the Riviera Maya.

Warmest regards from your new Caribbean home!

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I have been to the Coba side many times before and have enjoyed it there. This year we wanted to try the adults only Sian Ka'an. We enjoy the diving at this resort because it is just so easy and enjoyable. I really liked the Sian Ka'an side because it is so very quiet and peaceful. Our room was perfect clean and always special treats. Sian Ka'an has a special beach area set a side with a bar and service and a buffet within walking distance. The food at the resort was out of this world with no complaints. The staff are very helpful, polite and nice. One person really made our trip enjoyable every morning at breakfast and her name was Eglaydy Anzo. She always treated our group of six extra special. We will be back for more coffee and enjoyment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davmc316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an to enjoy your vacation.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoy the quiet and peaceful side of Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya and that you enjoyed the diving, your perfect room, the food, the internal transportation and the nice service, especially for mentioning Eglayde; be sure we will forward your comments to our entire staff.

Once again, thank you so much for your valuable comments and the time you take to send them.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at our resort.

Kindest regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from 2 weeks at this resort. The whole experience could not be faulted. The attention to detail is remarkable. The icing on the cake though is the wonderful staff, they are all exceptional and really made our trip. I would like to mention a cheerful chap in the restaurant called Ancelmo and a wonderful young lady in the bar called Laydeh. They are a credit to the service industry and kudos to the management for employing and motivating such great people.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kthompson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for staying in the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and taking the time to write your positive impressions.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback; it will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are glad that our personnel have left a good impression especially Ancelmo and Laydeh; they are great ambassadors of the service our hotel and your nice words are a great motivation to keep up with the professionalism and service.

On behalf of the whole Gran Bahia Principe Riviera Maya resort, we want to thank you again for your valuable comments.

Kindest regards from the Riviera Maya,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
6.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Mexico | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $197 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi (free of charge) Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing