We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at the Sian kiann area of this hotel for honeymoon and have to say it was the most amazing experience. The hotel is very quite but you can use all the other hotels in the resort. The rooms are a big size with some having roof top hot tubs this added to making our honeymoon special. The staff are very friendly especially neilson who drove you to each place in the resort. He was very friendly, sang to us everyday and overall made our holiday that much more enjoyable. We will be coming back in the future and it well and truly deserves it's five star rating .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlottewas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,842
    1,388
    395
    96
    67
See reviews for
652
4,820
99
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,739)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akumal, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at GBP Sian Kaan. What a beautiful place. As of November 1 this location became Adults Only. Having stayed a week prior at the GBP Tulum with our granddaughter, we were interested to see how the new adults only policy changed Sian Kaan from last May.
We enjoyed our time Tulum, but moving over to Sian Kaan provided a truly relaxed setting. Rooms are large and the service outstanding; especially Demetrio in the buffet restaurant and Vanessa in Public Relations.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveinKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from the Sian Kaan after spending 10 fabulous days there and we would return tomorrow!

I will be brief as many of the other reviews have covered everything.

Room: We had a penthouse with Jacuzzi and it was certainly worth it, we were in room 40221 which was perfect for us as it was close to the lobby but not too close as the music is pretty loud at night and also has a view of the sea in the distance.

Food: The buffet is wonderful at the Sian Kaan we ate here every breakfast and for most lunches, we even stayed here one of the nights for dinner instead of going to the a la carte as the buffet is so good. For breakfast they cook lots of different types of eggs and cater for everybody. Mikado: This is a MUST, the show table is absolutely brilliant and the food delicious Maiko: Also fabulous the duck was amazing Gran Tortuga: This was my partners favourite but me not so much, I am not a massive meat eater so left it to him to try all the different meats and he said they were great L'Arlequin: Fabulous fine dining and was my favourite restaurant Meditteraneo: Would give this one a miss to be honest food was not very good and service quite bad Portofino: Marginly better than Medditteraneo but we wouldnt visit again Tequila: The starters from the buffet were great but mains not so good.

Beach: Private beach area is great but get there early for a bed. Access into the sea is much better at the Akumal beach it is very rocky at the Sian Kaan beach.

Pools: Great pools even thou quite cold...was nice and refreshing as the weather was pretty hot.

Trams: Came along quckly and even took us directly to some restaurants, just ask the drivers.

Entertainment: They have various shows at the Coba, Akumal and Tulum ask at the public relations desk for a schedule and they will give you the schedule of shows for the week. We saw the Michael Jackson show and it was great!

Staff: All in all the staff were helpful and friendly although we did not recieve the service that most people did. At breakfast we were left to ask for water and coffee and hardly ever had a waiter come to take our order without asking, waits for the drinks in the lobby bar were long most times. The mini bar was not topped up during our stay as it was supposed to be but this didnt bother us as we would go to the bar for drinks but may bother you if you like to drink in the room. It seems that if you tip big everytime you get a drink etc then you will receieve good service, if you only tip once/twice per day then you dont...it started to get a bit too expensive for us tipping constantly so we got our own drinks etc. Staff that did stand out for excellence and didnt appear to have to be tipped to give the service were the people that cleaned our room and left lovely towel art every time (their service was worth a tip so we gave it often) and Claudia at Public Relations. Claudia is a star and so so lovely! She sorted out all of our reservations before we arrived and helped us with various things throughtout our stay.

We would certainly return, but be prepared to tip alot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank leiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your fabulous holidays.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback; it will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your penthouse, the wonderful food especially the buffet, the a la carte restaurants, the refreshing pools and the private beach; and really appreciate you mentioning our different department staff, we will forward your comments to Claudia and the rest of our staff.

By other hand, we are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations with the dinner at the Mediterranean and Tequila restaurants, the service in our buffet and our lobby bar; we assure you the same has been communicated to the concerned and necessary action have been taken to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at our resort.

Kind Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Repentigny, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have, Me and my spouses stayed from Nov 10 till Nov 20 at the gran bahia principle Sian Ka'an. Everything was completed as much in our magnificent room(chamber) as the quality of the food throughout our 10 days. Only lobsters and langouste was missing ... From the airport we used the collectivo to get Playa Del Carmen for 110-pesos cost is 11 dollars Canadian and from Playa Del Carmen we took a taxi, Taxi's stand is just in front of the bus's terminal , the cost is 350 pesos or 35 dollars CAN ....... On the other hand on the return of our stay we used the collectivo to leave the resort for Playa Del Carmen. It is only 35-pesos or 3.50. CAN. The collectivo is the best transportation and almost as fast as the taxi. The ride is 1:15 minutes from the airport to Playa Del Carmen and 20 to 25 minutes from Playa to the resort.... Total Cost is 290 pesos for one way or 29 dollars CAN total for 2 persons overall is 60 dollars for collectivo. Only negative thing is, the staft are using walki talkies day and night and their walkie talkies volumes is too loud .... They woke me up at nights .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ti-loups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for your loyalty in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us once to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. We take great pride in providing a pleasurable vacation experience for our guests, and your comments help us maintain our high standards, also, we are glad that you were very satisfied with your room and the food.

The entire management staff would like to apologize for the volume of the walki talkies, they are a necessity for the staff to remain in constant contact. However we will try to work on a solution to control the volume in order not to disturb our valued guests.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future to welcome you back at the Riviera Maya.

Kindest Regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cotswolds, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 10 beautiful days at BP Sian Ka'an.
All staff very friendly and very helpful. Rooms, pools, and restaurants all very clean and well maintained. Food very good.
Diving the local house reef is wonderful with lots of turtles, moray, barracuda, lion fish, grouper, rays, lots of smaller tropical fish, and wonderful coral. Spent one day diving off Cozumel which is even better for coral. Spent one day diving a Cenotes - a fantastic experience. Very well organised by in-house dive centre. Felt safe at all times even though this was my first ever cave dive.
For Mayan culture I would recommend Coba and Tulum. Less commercialised than Chitchen Itza and you can still walk up the pyramid at Coba.
Please do not confuse this hotel with the cheaper ones across the bridge (BP Coba, Akumal, and Tulum) where there are queues at the bars, no room Wi-Fi, charges for premium brand drinks. Sian Ka'an is far more luxurious and everything is included - the equivalent of flying First Class rather than Economy. Yet the extra cost is minimal making Sian Ka'an far better value for money.
I hope to return very soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Diveman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing Luxury Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an for your vacation destination.

On behalf of our entire staff it was a pleasure, and we value the opportunity to serve you. We are pleased that you were very satisfied with our staff and the cleanliness of our property. We take great pride in providing a pleasurable vacation experience for our guests, and your comments help us maintain our high standards.

We strive to provide the freshest and highest quality food, and we are glad that we exceeded your expectations. This area has some of the best diving the Caribbean has to offer, and we are happy that in-house dive center was able to provide you with a safe and memorable experience.

Receive our warmest regards,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Just returned from Sian Ka'an 2 weeks ago. We have stayed at the BH Akumal and the BP Coba in the past, both very nice hotels. But the Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an is far superior. Excellent food, service and accommodations. The staff go out of their way to make sure that all of your expectations are met or exceeded. We had a penthouse suite with our own rooftop hot tub...well worth the extra cost.
EVERY person that worked there always had a smile and were EXCEPTIONAL. Unfortunately I cannot remember all of their names, but there are 3 that truly stand out:. I want to mention 3 EXCEPTIONAL employees of BH Sian Ka'an:
- Claudia at the front desk. She has a smile and personality that made you feel like you were her only customer. She truly loves her job and it shows. While we ere there, we had an unfortunate personal situation occur, and Claudia really helped us in resolving it. She went way "above and beyond" to assist.
- Diane, who greets you at the door to the buffet restaurant is another shining star. Her larger than life smile and "hola" just made our day, each time we ate at that restaurant.
- And then there is Ancellmo, our waiter in the buffet restaurant. We've never met a more personable wait person. Again, here is another person that really enjoys his job. His attention to detail were greatly appreciated. He would remember how we liked our coffee each day and he always remembered our juice choices, which he always kept refilling (juego de sandia and juego de pena - He taught us how to say it in Spanish, although I probably misspelled both of them) Thanks for the cricket that you made us!
There are several other employees that deserve mention, but unfortunately I cannot remember all of their names, but these 3 employees are 3 of BH Principe Sian Ka'an's shining stars. We will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Choose a penthouse suite; well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomAtTheVillages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for your valued loyalty to Gran Bahia Principe Hotels, and for choosing Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an for your latest vacation destination.

We would also like to thank you for your wonderful and positive comments, this helps us to maintain and exceed our valued guest’s expectations. Our entire staff strives to make your stay as pleasurable as possible, and they are always happy to hear positive feedback. We will be sure to pass on your gratitude towards them, especially Claudia, Diana, and Ancelmo. We are extremely pleased they were able to make your day and dining experience memorable. We are glad you were able to experience the penthouse suite, along with its rooftop terrace and Jacuzzi tub.

On behalf of our entire staff, thank you for your valued loyalty and we are all looking forward to seeing you again on your next Mexican holiday.

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My mom and I booked this resort after reading many great reviews on tripadvisor. The resort is a step above many others in terms of service, food, drinks and atmosphere. It is a quiet, low key resort so if you are looking for loud music and swim up bars, this resort is not for you.
Here is what I liked: service was excellent! Kudos to Eric (amazingly helpful), Guillermo, Oscar and entertainment boys and Paloma at the beach. Excellent a la carte restaurants every night. Great choices at the buffet. Wi-fi access pretty well everywhere. The rooms had a very simple yet elegant decor. The entertainment team were great! Just enough beach and pool activities to keep us interested.
The beach is beautiful and we were so happy to have the exclusive section with a server.

What could be improved upon: the mattresses were hard- but I managed to sleep anyways, the mini bar was never restocked with alcohol even though we wrote a note. Although the tram system was not usually an inconvenience, there were times that we had to wait over 1/2 an hour to get back to the resort. If they could be increased during the afternoon, that might help as people were anxious to get back after spending hours in the sun. Lastly, the music at the beach bar and lobby bar got annoying after a while- changing it up would be great.
I would definetly recommend this luxury resort to couples or friends/family who are looking for a peaceful getaway!

Room Tip: Close to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing Luxury Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an for your vacation destination. On behalf of our entire staff it was a pleasure, and we value the opportunity to serve and entertain you. We will pass your comments on to our wonderful staff, especially Eric, Guillermo, Oscar and Paloma. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the specialty restaurants, and the numerous choices in the Yal-Ku Buffet. The entire entertainment staff strives to keep each and every guest engaged in the activities that they enjoy. We are glad they met your needs and provided the activities that you were interested in.

We are always trying to improve our guests experience and your valued comments and suggestions help us to achieve this. Thank you very much for your kind suggestions concerning the mini bar and music in beach and lobby bars, they will be taken in great consideration to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve. We are always trying to improve our transportation service, and we will continue with this until we exceed our guest’s expectations.

Best regards from sunny Mexico,

Brisa Islas
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
9.2 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing