We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best & an amazing vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We found this to be luxury all the way. The service was excellent from everyone. We especially liked Eva in guest services, she is lovely. The food couldn't have been better, with cloth napkins, glass glasses and all the little extras that come with an adult hotel. Tried to find something to criticise and could only come up with needing an extra garbage receptacle in the bedroom.

It is not a beach front property but has transportation to a private beach with bar service. We were able to access everything at the other 3 Bahia Principe resorts but there was no comparison to the Sian Ka'an. The only reason to go to the other resorts is for the entertainment in the evenings which was all excellent.

The a la carte restaurants are all good. We went to the Alux, Maiko and Mikado and they were excellent. The Mikado can be booked so the food is cooked in front of you but you need to ask for this when making the reservation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bell195008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your recent visit to the Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an Resort and for taking the time to write your positive impressions about our hotel. It is for guests like you that our resort remains one of the most appreciated hotels in the Riviera Maya.

We are glad to receive such remarkable comments about our service and facilities. Your nice words definitely inspire us to consistently deliver our standards ensuring that we meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

It is an honor to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation and the food during your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for the suggestion about the extra garbage receptacle in the room and for mentioning Eva, we will forward your post to the correspondent manager for her well-deserved recognition

We hope we can repeat this wonderful experience in the near future; it was our pleasure to be at your service!

Best regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,713)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,676 - 4,682 of 7,713 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed in Sian Kaan from 10 - 20th November 12. Had read all the reviews and had high expectations and boy did it live up to them, accommodation was superb with a roof top jacuzzi looking over the jungle. Resort itself was spotlessly clean with three lovely pools, two many good restaurants to mention, Sian Kaan buffet restaurant was superb, hard working staff couldn't do enough for you, a special delight was that the resort is now Adult only.
Special mention must go to the Sian Kaan animation team lead by Oscar - Oscar was tireless in his efforts to entertain - we had such a great laugh with him in the evening learning Samba and doing Zumba, well done Oscar and see you next year. Steve, Sam and Jen Attwood

Room Tip: All rooms on Sian Kaan look good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennybabeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It will certainly help us to keep focus on customer satisfaction and fulfillment of our hotel standards.

We are glad to hear that we met your expectations with our attentive services and that you enjoyed your room, the food and the activities of our animation team. Thank you very much for mentioning the hard work of our staff and specially for mentioning Oscar, he is a great ambassador of service in our hotel; we will forward your comments to him and the rest of our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future at the Mayan Riviera!

Sending you my kindest regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sian Ka'an Resort as a privilege member but the following points could be improved: 1.personal golf cart...one should be stationed at each of the 4 resort and once it leaves the driver should call central & have it replaced immediately.In one instance, we have to wait over an hour to get one. 2.premium drinks.... Those should be made available in all the bars of the 4 resorts to club members as in all Punta Cana resorts. 3.we invited a couple, privilege members,who were staying at Tulum to join us for a drink after supper at the terrace bar in Sian Ka'an but they were refused entry there....we find that embarrassing as all privilege members should be able to take a drinks in any of the 4 resorts.
Finally we would like to acknowledge all the staff at the privilege lounge,particularly,Ana Lopez,who made our day brighter with her smile. Also we would like to thank all at the Sian Ka'an Beach Bar...captain Mari & Carlos,Jesus,Selene,Paloma & Patricia

#301058

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jng988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

In the luxury resort Gran Bahia Principe you will get everything that you wish for a wonderful successful holiday. You will receive ten times for what you paid! it's all inclusive and in nov the prices are still low! A lot of employees at your service, they are all very kind and smiling, even if they didn't get some tips. The food is very good and you can drink and eat all day, all night! There are a lot of atractions if you want to travel on Riviera Maya, lagunas, cenotes, parks(70-100$/pers), natural reservations, but you got to rent a car, which is not very expensive. Driving on Carrerera Chetumal wasn't dangerous at all! You can go to Tulum to see the ruins, we've been at Yal-ka laguna (10$/pers+ 15$equipment) to make some real snorkeling, at Playa del Carmen, but pay attention how you park your car! If the sidewalk is yellow painted, don't park there!
I didn't need much clothes 2-3 t-shirts for the beach, a short, but take 2 or 3 evening sport dresses and for your men a pair of long pants! You will make reservations for the gourmet restaurants, every evening a different one if you want, and you will think you are in... Paris! No, I think it's better on Riviera Maya! For us everything was included (as we stayed at Sian Ka'an) and a 2 to 5 $ tips was all we payed. Don't miss the ,,Don Pablo'' restaurant! It was our number one! Tequila Restaurant was the last... :o(
When i came back home, in Montreal, I was holiday sick!
I've loved my trip to Mexico and of course these wonderful people make me feel like that!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valeriadianatoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We are glad to receive such remarkable comments about our service and facilities. This review will definitely inspire us to consistently deliver our standards ensuring that we meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

I would like to make a heartfelt apology that your dinner at the Tequila restaurant was not up to your expectations; we have already taken action in order to meet our values again. Furthermore I would like to express my appreciation for your concerns and will discuss them with our Management.

We are looking forward in welcoming you back at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, Riviera Maya.

Kindest Regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at Sian Ka'an May 8th-12th 2012. We booked the rooftop suite and enjoyed it to the fullest, however like has been mentioned it could be more private even hanging towels between the slates was not enough as you could see the neighbors and they could see us through the glass partition that was around the Jacuzzi area.

The Restaurants and Buffets were always very good with plenty of choices; however room service was a limited menu and usually arrived cold. One evening my husband was not feeling well, as he had spent too much time in the sun that day. As he did not wish to eat the food from room service, I proceeded to the buffet to bring him a plate. I was told that was not allowed, I explained the situation and after having to speaking with the kitchen manager was told to go ahead this one time and make a plate and they would take it to the kitchen and wrap it and deliver it to our room. Grant it they did, their reasoning they did not want everyone doing this. (Get a better room service menu)
Mini Bar: Not what you are expecting, one bag of plain chips, two waters and a couple of sodas. We did have small opened liquor bottles from the previous guest Yuk. And the liquor was never restocked.
Beach and Beach Bar: The trip to the beach was easy by tram and the staff that ran the tram and bar great. Yes the Beach Whales are not the most attractive thing to look at and there are rocks, not a big deal.
Beach Activity Hut: My Biggest Issue is with the Beach Sports Staff, I went to find out about getting a Hobby Craft to take out and the male employee was too busy reading the paper to even look away and address me. He simply pointed at the board that had the PRICES of Deposits Required to rent the equipment. Being an All Inclusive I was not expecting to pay for anything, $24.00 US Dollars for snorkeling mask and fins per person. The Hobby Craft and other activities were between $300.00 - $600.00 US Dollars. I tried to ask if I could put it on the room and got a shoulder shrug and told to ask the front desk. Not the answer I was looking for, I did ask and was told they were not sure I would have to ask someone else; by this point I just decided to give up.
Check out: upon checking out we noticed that we had left one of the room keys in the room, I explained this at the front desk and was told no problem that housekeeping would return it to the front desk. As we were trying to load our luggage into the private car I arranged to pick us up to take us back to the airport, we were stopped and told we could not leave until we returned the room key. (Really) I had to pull our luggage out of the vehicle and proceed to go thru it to prove to them we did not have the room key, that in fact I had brought it to their attention when checking out. And was told that housekeeping would return it, simple and honest mistake on our part, can you believe the charged me $10.00 for the key!
In conclusion, if they are going to advertise All Inclusive than be an All Inclusive.
If not then do not tell your customers that the activities are included when they are not. And if it was an error on the staff’s part educate them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindsay888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to send your comments about your stay with us at the Riviera Maya.

Our philosophy is focused on our guests’ satisfaction that is why your comments and suggestions are very important to maintain the quality and service at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and will be taken into great consideration.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Penthouse room and the food of our restaurants.

Thank you very much for your kind suggestions concerning the mini bar and the room service menu, they will be taken in great consideration to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve.

Concerning to the beach sports activities, we are very concerned to learn about your disappointing. Please be informed that the scuba shop is not operated directly by the hotel and as an external company they setup their prices, in regards to the incident with their staff, the manager has been informed and appropriate measures will be taken in order to improve the service. Please accept our sincere apology.
In regards to the services included in our hotels, you can find all the information at our official website concerning “what does All-inclusive include” and “which services have a surcharge”.

I would like to make a heartfelt apology that some of the services were not up to your expectations. Our team works very hard to ensure our facilities and service is superior and strives to be the best hotel around.

Thank you once again for taking your time to share your experience with us and we are looking forward in welcoming you back again at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, Riviera Maya.

Best regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is the 4th hotel at this same resort, and is distant from the beach and the other resorts. There is regular tram service between an area of the beach, and the other hotel lobbies, but it's just not the same as being close to the beach. There is no casual, 'I think I'll just zip down to the Caribbean for a dip' possibility. When you do go, the beach is unspectacular, though quite long across the resort's frontage. Just not that walkable.

The architecture at the Sian Ka'an has all the charm and warmth of a same-day surgery clinic. It's all white, with very straight lines and angles. No local flavor at all. It has a very sterile look and feel to it.

You must make reservations to use the a la carte restaurants, and some were very good, though reservations were not easy to get at good times. The Pescadore seafood restaurant at the Coba resort was great, though the one at the Akumal resort (essentially the same menu) was not, and Rafael at the Pescadore was an excellent waiter! The Maiku Japanese restaurant at the Sian Ka'an was the best meal and experience we had...absolutely wonderful. Every dish, every course, the service and quality...all top notch.

The Sian Ka'an is adults only, which was nice, but there is just no warmth to it, and the lack of convenience to the beach makes you feel like you are just at a hotel in a nice place, but no Caribbean experience to speak of. The pools are very ordinary, and again, just not what we've come to expect at Mexican Riviera Maya resorts.

Food at the buffets and some restaurants was just okay, with temperature being a big drawback. Most items served were lukewarm at best (across the board), and in some areas the overhead fans or A/C cooled that off to cold very quickly.

We were at the Catalonia Royal Tulum in April, and liked it much, much better in virtually every respect. We had a good time because we chose to, but the resort is definitely one we would not return to or recommend.

It's about 2 hours from the airport, so be prepared for that.

Room Tip: The rooftop jacuzzi in the 'penthouse' suites was a nice addition, but the rooftop area, tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all please receive greetings from the Luxury Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an, we appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience at Maiko restaurant and enjoyed your dinner at El Pescador. Concerning to your comment about the temperature of the food at the buffet restaurant, you can however rest assured that we will be giving these matters the proper attention and corrective measures where necessary will be applied so as not to have a reoccurrence of such.

As our modern design hotel is not located in beachfront, we offer our guests transportation every 15 minutes to our exclusive beach area and to the other hotels, some of our guests really enjoy the short ride around the jungle. We regret very much that we could not impress you with some of our services.

On behalf of the Management of the hotel, receive our most sincerest apologizes for have not
been exceed your expectative during your staying with us. We will do our outmost and work to improve your next experience with us, if you can give us another change to restore the confidence in our chain by writing us a mail of your requests and wishes a few weeks before arrival and it will be our pleasure to help you in the best possible way.

Sending you my kindest regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is our 5th time in Cancun and by far the Best from beginning to end. We stayed at the Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an. Adults Only. They keep this place so clean. The staff is impeccable, and the food(which was one of my worries) was A+! there are 13 restaurants to chose from (All inclusive)and we didn't even bothered because the buffet was A+. We had a blast Halloween night dancing away with live music and good DJ. Ah! Almost forgot: All drinks included! What a night! Special thanks to front desk man, "Martin" for making my wife's B-day even more special. Also Miss" Landy" @ the outside Bar for her good humor. Thanks to the servers @ the buffet. These guys and gals are outstanding. They know how to spoil you day in day out without expecting anything in return(we did anyway, they deserved it).I hope the hotel can keep this level for ever. The only down side will be that it will get pricy then. I hope not.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
6.5 mi away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
5.6 mi away
TRS Yucatan Hotel
TRS Yucatan Hotel
#4 of 23 in Akumal
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Mexico | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $191 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi (free of charge) Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing