We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Akumal
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great Resort,Excellent staff.Good Food,Sian khan bar service was exceptional.Excellent Irish Coffee.Excellent waiters.Clean except woke up one morning was bitten by bed bugs. Hotel took quick action by changing the room.Lucy & Anna were very helpful and cooperative.

The shuttle service needs to be improved a lot as waiting time is too long.

Golf course is excellent.Had the opportunity to go around and appreciate the facilities.

Sure,will go back again next year

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a Junior Suite.Romm looks clean but as I said we had a bad experience with bed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

OUR WEEK STAY
Dear Guest

First of all please receive greetings from the Gran Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us to spend your holidays.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

We are grateful about your positive comments about our resort and happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, the bar service and the golf course.
Concerning to the incident with bugs, as our hotel is located in the middle of the beautiful Mayan jungle, insects are part of the atmosphere we are living, we work with a very strict fumigation program and we are sorry that was not effective for you. I would like to make a heartfelt apology for this.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the shuttle service, you can however rest assured that we will be giving this matter the proper attention.

Sending you kind regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,478 - 4,484 of 7,366 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday from the time we got off the plane. We had arranged a private transport through QTS. After a long flight we just wanted to get to our room and settle in. QTS had everything in hand. Drinks and roses in the car and a nice relaxing drive to the hotel. Very friendly service and very professional.

Superb location, service and delightful rooms, let down only by some minor glitches which could have made the hotel stellar.

Spend the extra money and get a penthouse, it's well worth it.

The bar service is superb and delightfully friendly with the staff always making sure that you're never without a drink (the majority of named brands come as standard within the AI).

Plenty of choice on the buffet and all the restaurants within the whole resort although worth booking early or before arrival if you have a particular restaurant you wish to try.

Pleasant and not overly intrusive entertainments team in afternoon by main pools with two quieter pools located elsewhere.

Shuttles run regularly from next to lobby bar so if one is not immediately available there is time for a quick drink before boarding.

Some smoking tables under canopies so can shelter from occasional rain, otherwise free to smoke on outside tables.

Sian Ka'an has nightly entertainment, nothing heavy and very relaxing. Usually over by around 10:30 - 11:00pm. If you want to stay up late The Hacienda has a club. It's well away from the Sian Ka'an and you can return to a quiet, relaxing room and a good night's sleep.

As mentioned earlier we had a few glitches. Room service wasn't the best and the mini bar could have had a better selection, especially for two people. On a number of occasions, we had to ask for it to be refilled. It was replenished immediately when we asked though it was just a little annoying to have to ask but a minor detail considering everything else the resort had to offer.

Guest services were brilliant and made sure that everything was taken care of. Definitely take advantage of the services they offer. They bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable.

Mosquito's are around so make sure you get some decent bug spray. Not a deal breaker for us, we did our research and knew what to expect.

If you dive, Scubaquatic is on the complex next to the Sian Ka'an exclusive beach. Great diving locations and plenty to see depending on season. Turtles are abundant, all kinds of reef fish, plenty of rays and the occasional shark in certain locations. The staff are brilliant, friendly and professional. They have Videographers on most dives to record the experience and well worth it whether you're a seasoned diver or a newbie.

You're never short of places to go, things to do and people to meet. All in all it's a wonderful place and definitely worth going back for more.
Room Tip: Get a Penthouse it's worth the extra money. We were in 40421 near the lobby facing the sea. The...
See more room tips

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple

Room Tip: Get a Penthouse it's worth the extra money. We were in 40421 near the lobby facing the sea. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bloozydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel facility.

We are glad to hear you had a wonderful holiday during your stay with us and that you enjoyed your penthouse room, and the food & drinks. T

hank you very much for mentioning our staff, your comments really motivate them to keep on the good work. We are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations with the mini bar and room service. We assure you the same has been communicated to the concerned and necessary action have been taken to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve.

It has been our pleasure and honor to be at your service, looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

It has taken me awhile t write a review on Sian Ka'an because I have been trying to arrive at some conclusions that others on this forum have not already posted. I have to agree that most of the excellent reviews are accurate. My perspective is a bit different given I work as a travel agent and I have frequented the GBP Coba resort numerous times and decided to give Sian Ka'an a try after becoming somewhat disenchanted with the Coba property a few years ago.

First and foremost, I have to thank Claudia Novelo for all she did to prior to our arrival to make sure our stay was wonderful. I unfortunately did not have a chance to meet her given she was away on holidays, but any emails to her in regards to my trip, or the upcoming trips of clients, have always been responded to quickly and professionally.

I think, in the end, what makes the Sian Ka'an property the best that Bahia Principe I have been to, is the wonderful people who work there. Juan, Claudia, Vanessa, and Brisa are wonderful ambassadors for GBP and really are dedicated to making this property run efficiently and in the best interest of the guests. They listen attentively to what guests are asking for or need assistance with, and do their best to assist.

We stayed in building 6 in a Penthouse jacuzzi suite and found it very lovely. Be warned, this type of suite is not likely good for anyone with mobility issues given the staircases, but it is well worth it for anyone looking for a romantic getaway (although, I would have liked to have seen GBP find some way of offering a bit more privacy on the rootops. Certainly not a deal breaker for us, we simply hung a towel between us and our neighbours, but a better design could make this more private). The room was always cool, immaculately clean and fully stocked with fresh towels twice daily. That being said, not all the members in our party found the same consistency with housekeeping and stocking of their mini-fridges. I have no doubt that a quick call to the front desk would have remedied this, however, it was odd that mini-fridges were not restocked consistently.

The food at the Sian Ka'an has been commented on frequently in reviews and I concur that the buffet here is the best in the complex. Our dinners at Maiko and Alux were also very good, with excellent service at all the Sian Ka'an restaurants. Premium alcohol available at the bars, although we did find the lobby bar often busy and backed up, even in slow season. Not a huge deal given we weren't in a hurry, but just something we noticed. The access to unlimited a la carte dining makes the price differential between the Sian Ka'an section of GBP well worth it. The dining experiences at all of the a la cartes, in all sections of GBP were very good. We did notice the staff in Le Gourmet to be perhaps overworked and rushed as they seemed to be cooking for another restaurant and running food out of the restaurant somewhere. That made our poor waiter a bit frazzled, but again, you are on vacation, there really is no rush to be anywhere so we simply relaxed and went with the flow.

The Holbox bar at the beach was fabulous, a scenic seaside spot to have an excellent margarita made by Paloma. Paloma is another employee who always had a smile on her face and made you feel most welcomed. She too is an asset to Sian Ka'an.

My husband and I both went for a relaxing 50 minute massage at the Sian Ka'an Spa and found it very relaxing and enjoyable. I would highly recommend the Spa and the professionalism of the staff, and the calming atmosphere were both excellent.

I am very disappointed to hear that Sian Ka'an is going adults only. On one hand, I can understand why GBP and its Don Pablo Collection want to cater this property to adults, however when we were at the resort there were few children, and the ones that were there were certainly no concern. I had initially thought this was a good idea, however after visiting the property, I could have seen myself returning with my children for our next family vacation.

We did visit the other 3 properties in the complex, and as mentioned, Sian Ka'an is definitely the best in terms of a quieter, more relaxed atmosphere. If you are looking to party, this is not the place to be, but then you can always go over to Coba where the party was in full swing. We did find the Coba buffet to offer a great selection of food and great service. However, the small Premier area was closed, making the Coba lobby extremely busy and virtually impossible to get served. The staff were simply run off their feet.

I certainly hope that GBP as a corporation continues to give support to the Sian Ka'an staff and their drive for excellence. It is a luxurious resort that is now attempting to break into the Adults Only market. I love the staff at GBP Sian Ka'an, and that would be my number one reason for returning. They are special people who will go out of their way to make sure your stay is special. It was wonderful to see familiar faces from Coba as well, and wonderful Nikki from Tulum. Hopefully corporate Spain will continue to support these wonderful managers and give them the tools they need to continue their great work.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank rubyq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all thank you for your loyalty in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us once again to enjoy your holidays.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

The entire Luxury Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an Team is happy to hear that you enjoyed your penthouse room, the beach, spa and the food at our restaurants during your recent stay with us.

We are glad that our personnel have left a good impression and want to thank you for the special mention of some of our staff members like Claudia, Juan, Vanessa, Brisa and Paloma. They are great ambassadors of the service in the Sian Ka’an Hotel and your nice words are a great
motivation to keep up with the professionalism and service. We will immediately forward your post to the correspondent managers for their well-deserved recognition

I would like to express my appreciation for your concerns about the service at Le Gourmet restaurant and the mini-fridges restocking service, we will definitely share your feedback with our team and rest assured we will continuously strive for excellence in service. Your comments are important for us and definitely inspire us to consistently deliver our standards ensuring that we meet and exceed our guests’ expectations.

As you know our hotel has become “Adults only”, but we would be delighted to welcome you for your next family vacations at our sister hotels in the Riviera Maya!

Warm regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury B.P Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday from the time we got off the plane. We had arranged a private transport through QTS. After a long flight we just wanted to get to our room and settle in. QTS had everything in hand. Drinks and roses in the car and a nice relaxing drive to the hotel. Very friendly service and very professional.

Superb location, service and delightful rooms, let down only by some minor glitches which could have made the hotel stellar.

Spend the extra money and get a penthouse, it's well worth it.

The bar service is superb and delightfully friendly with the staff always making sure that you're never without a drink (the majority of named brands come as standard within the AI).

Plenty of choice on the buffet and all the restaurants within the whole resort although worth booking early or before arrival if you have a particular restaurant you wish to try.

Pleasant and not overly intrusive entertainments team in afternoon by main pools with two quieter pools located elsewhere.

Shuttles run regularly from next to lobby bar so if one is not immediately available there is time for a quick drink before boarding.

Some smoking tables under canopies so can shelter from occasional rain, otherwise free to smoke on outside tables.

Sian Ka'an has nightly entertainment, nothing heavy and very relaxing. Usually over by around 10:30 - 11:00pm. If you want to stay up late The Hacienda has a club. It's well away from the Sian Ka'an and you can return to a quiet, relaxing room and a good night's sleep.

As mentioned earlier we had a few glitches. Room service wasn't the best and the mini bar could have had a better selection, especially for two people. On a number of occasions, we had to ask for it to be refilled. It was replenished immediately when we asked though it was just a little annoying to have to ask but a minor detail considering everything else the resort had to offer.

Guest services were brilliant and made sure that everything was taken care of. Definitely take advantage of the services they offer. They bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable.

Mosquito's are around so make sure you get some decent bug spray. Not a deal breaker for us, we did our research and knew what to expect.

If you dive, Scubaquatic is on the complex next to the Sian Ka'an exclusive beach. Great diving locations and plenty to see depending on season. Turtles are abundant, all kinds of reef fish, plenty of rays and the occasional shark in certain locations. The staff are brilliant, friendly and professional. They have Videographers on most dives to record the experience and well worth it whether you're a seasoned diver or a newbie.

You're never short of places to go, things to do and people to meet. All in all it's a wonderful place and definitely worth going back for more.

Room Tip: Get a Penthouse it's worth the extra money. We were in 40421 near the lobby facing the sea. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bloozydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel facility.

We are glad to hear you had a wonderful holiday during your stay with us and that you enjoyed your penthouse room, and the food & drinks. Thank you very much for mentioning our staff, your comments really motivate them to keep on the good work.

We are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations with the mini bar and room service. We assure you the same has been communicated to the concerned and necessary action have been taken to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve.

It has been our pleasure to be at your service, looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have had a truly fantastic holiday at the GBP Sian Ka'an hotel. Travelling with our 16 year old son we stayed in 2 penthouse apartments and they were fantastic, beautifully clean and well appointed. However it was the welcome of all the staff that made this holiday really special, always a smile and 'hola'.
It is a really quiet hotel and the food was amazing we particularly enjoyed the Don Pablo in the Tulum hotel but also enjoyed the other a la carte restaurants we tried. The buffet in the Sian Ka'an was very good and had a wide variety of food from sushi, salads, a Mexican corner to pizza and burgers.
One of the best things about visiting Mexico was how safe we felt and you must take the collectivo or a taxi to Akumal beach to swim with the turtles and also to the public beach just south of the Tulum ruins which is the best beach we have ever been to, miles of powder soft white sand scattered with beach bars.
All the staff were fantastic I would particularly like to thank Laura in the lobby bar and Amy the yoga instructor who made our holiday so memorable and special thanks also must go to Claudia who arranged the restaurant reservations and who gave us the most perfect rooms in the hotel!
The only slight criticism was the format of the evening entertainment a pianist or guitarist would seem more in keeping with the ambiance than the disco music which seemed inappropriate for such a sophisticated hotel.
The moment our son turns 18 we will return...if you are considering this hotel, stop and just book it!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank nutwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay at the Luxury Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as your comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

The entire Gran Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an Team is happy to hear that you had a fantastic holiday and enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that our personnel have left a good impression and thank you for mentioning Laura, Amy and Claudia, your comment is a great motivation to them to keep up with the professionalism and good service.

Thank you very much for your suggestion about the evening entertainment, we will definitely share your feedback with our team and rest assured we will continuously strive for excellence in service.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Kindest regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'll start by saying that this resort was wonderful and has a lot of appeal for foodies, friends and couples alike.
Although Sian Ka'an is not on the beach, we had no trouble getting to and from whenever we needed to. Trams were frequent and even if they weren't going directly where we wanted to go, we enjoyed the opportunity to see the other resorts and catch a ride. It was great to have a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of the larger resorts at night.
The beach had wonderful soft, white sand but there were a lot of large rocks in the water that could really do some damage on your toes of you didn't watch very carefully for them. To be on the safe side I wore water shoes but the last day we were there, they had several employees hauling them up to the beach to be removed. The water was warm and comfortable. There is decent snorkeling over at the Akumal beach. My boyfriend saw lots of fish, a baby octopus and a stingray.
The food was delicious! I'm a foodie and to be honest I chose this resort because they had things like Foie Gras and Duck on the a la carte menus. We ate twice at Alux and the service was top notch. My wine glass was never empty and we enjoyed our starters. We tried the foie gras and the tuna tartare, to start followed by the Portobello Soup and the Vichysoisse. All four dishes were staggeringly good-- really some of the best dishes I've ever had-- but the mains fell short. The Pheasant Canelloni could have been outstanding, but the sauce was just far too sweet and drowned out all the other flavours. Lamb was hard to cut but did have a very nice rosemary jus. Regardless, the food was not in any way bad, it was just that the preceding items were hard to top. One thing that I do need to note as being odd are the selections from the menu. Despite being an All Inclusive, you were only allowed a soup OR salad and an appetizer and a main but not a salad and a soup and a main. It was confusing and strange.
We also visited Maiko, the Asian A La Carte and it was nice. Don Pablo at Tulum was the home of the best filet mignon we've ever had. Tender and succulent this amazing entree melted in your mouth. The chocolate dessert was dense and rich. We weren't super impressed with Le Gourmet at the Coba resort. The service was ultra slow and the attention to detail that we noticed at the other A La Cartes was not there.
House wines at Sian Ka'an were okay. The white was a Chilean Chardonnay- tropical fruits with a hint of warm spice. The red was a Chilean Cabernet--juicy, but had a strange finish. Also important to note that the additional bottles of wine that were available at a charge were not overpriced. Much the same cost as buying them at a local liquor store. No mark up, which is uncommon at other all inclusives that I've been to and very nice to see the guests aren't being gauged with extra costs for overpriced drinks.
The buffet always had delicious offerings. The Chorizo sausages at breakfast were awesome, great carving stations and the grouper was always perfectly cooked. I did notice a distinctive absence of seafood on the buffet. No shrimp, lobster, crab or even smoked salmon. There were lagostines one night, but they were undercooked and too much work to shell. Plus, they made your hands smell really fishy. The servers were great and brought us finger bowls. Overall, the quality was above what the other resorts offered.
Premium liquor was abound, even at the beach bar and the drinks were spot on. Just make sure to specify your brand, otherwise, they will default to a cheap gut rot liquor that will give you heartburn from hell.
We ordered room service a couple of times and it arrived quickly and was hot.
Speaking of rooms... the one we had, Penthouse 40923 was my favourite hotel room EVER. In addition to being quiet, it was bright, airy and the beds with the mattress topper were incredibly comfortable. I rarely sleep well on vacation but I had nothing but good dreams and restful nights. The jacuzzi was absolutely amazing. We would venture out either before or after dinner, and have a drink in the tub overflowing with bubbles. It was absolutely wonderful to watch the sun set or gaze at the stars in utter privacy and relaxation. I could have lived in that suite forever.
The grounds and lobby were beautiful. Everywhere you looked there were butterflies and singing birds. It was nice to have the option of the lobby or the terrace at night. We spent a few night on the terrace but after a few the band they had playing became tiresome. We wished they would have varied the acts a little for more for the sake of the band as well as the guests. We're not big on entertainment at resorts but no one wants to hear the same band and same songs over and over EVERY NIGHT. The saving grace in this was that you could always pop over to the other resorts and take in the entertainment there, but after a day in the sun we prefer to relax with a few drinks after dinner and make it an early night.
Just a few other notes, I have rated this resort 5 out of 5, but I might actually give it a 4.5. There were few things that didn't impact my stay tremendously but I thought could be improved upon. Firstly, we had the worst mini bar service ever! I even wrote them notes in Spanish asking for more regular coffee instead of the terrible vanilla, hazelnut or decaf that they constantly gave us. We like to linger on the patio with coffee in the morning before going for breakfast and wanted two regular coffees each morning. We received messages back saying "okey", but nothing was ever done. In fact, we received MORE flavoured coffees. Finally, I called the express service to ask for regular coffee only. That got us no regular coffee the next day but extra vanilla and a couple of decafs. It seemed like they didn't really care a lot about guest satisfaction and were just going through the motions.
It would have been nice to have more buffet selection at the snack bar. There were a few salad items and some pastries throughout they day but sometimes, my attention span coupled with the heat didn't allow me the patience to wait for food to be ordered, prepared and brought to me when I just craved a little nibble and another drink by the pool. A lot of the items were deep fried (chicken "tacos" were actually deep fried "taquitos") which is not the worst thing but after a day or drinking it can give you some stomach problems. It would have been nice to use this outdoor area as more of a casual drop in buffet with guacamole and other light Mexican fare with veggies and possibly a few pasta dishes and sandwiches.
We did use the spa and it was quite nice but very pricey.
To sum up this resort, I'd say that it's great value for your money and despite being an Adults Only resort, it doesn't have that feeling of being exclusively for couples. The ability to use the facilities at the other Bahia resorts allows guests to tailor make a vacation that could range from relaxing with some books on the beach, visiting the TAO Center for meditation and yoga or venturing over to the disco until the wee hours and dancing your heart out. I think this versatility makes it an option for a larger scope of potential guests that your typical Adults Only resort in the Mayan Riviera.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jenabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the beach, the food and your room. Concerning to your comments about the Alux and Le Gourmet restaurants, be sure that will be reviewed with the managers and we will take immediate action for every detail you have described.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the snack bar buffet and the mini bar service, we will definitely share your feedback with our team and rest assured we will continuously strive for excellence in service. We regret very much that we could not impress you with some of our services. Furthermore I would like to express my appreciation for your concerns and extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced as a result of the situations you have brought to our attention.

Finally, I would like to thank you for your honest feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future to our lovely paradise.

Warm Regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I just returned home from a five-night girlfriends trip to the Sian Kaan. The property is modern, clean, and beautiful. We were in garden jacuzzi suites on the first floor. The rooms were very spacious and nice. The breakfast and lunch buffet were above average in comparison to our prior travels. We really enjoyed our food at the buffet for breakfast and lunch. For our evening meals, we dined at Maiko, Alux, Don Pablo, Dolce Vita, and the buffet. Our favorite evening meal was at Don Pablo. We had read that there was lobster, prawns, and crab legs served at Gala Night for the Saturday night buffet. When we arrived at the buffet to dine on Saturday night, we were informed that it was discontinued. Very disappointing. The alcohol choices at Sian Kaan were premium compared to the other three resorts. The pools at the Sian Kaan are small and beautiful but very quiet, a little too quite for our taste. We spent the majority of our daylight hours at the Sian Kaan beach area, the Akumal beach area, and the Tulum pool.

The reason I deducted a star, giving this resort a 4 instead of a 5, is I felt that little details in service were lacking. We repeatedly requested that feather pillows be delivered to our room. One room received the pillows but the other room during our entire stay did not. One day our minifridge was not stocked. We encountered a few other issues relating to service throughout our stay that I won't bother to mention. I know these are just minor complaints and it did not truly impact our vacation, but I am just trying to write an honest review.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the location of our jacuzzi garden suite on the first floor near the lobby for con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarlaB1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Luxry Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the beach and food of our buffet and a la carte restaurants. Concerning to your comment about the Gala Night, the different choices depend on the season to ensure quality, safety and enjoyment of all the fresh seafood we serve.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the lack of service, some of the problems you mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken action in order to meet our values again. We regret very much that we could not impress you with some of our services. Furthermore I would like to express my appreciation for your concerns and extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced as a result of the situations you have brought to our attention.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future to welcome you back again at the Riviera Maya.

Sending you kind regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Akumal hotels
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
23.7 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
143.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
144.2 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
4.8 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
5.8 mi away
Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Address: Carretera Chetumal - Cancun Km 250, Mexico | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Akumal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range: $168 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi (free of charge) Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, KIPPIN S.A Lussemburgo Cadempino Branch, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing