We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Well worth it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday from the time we got off the plane. We had arranged a private transport through QTS. After a long flight we just wanted to get to our room and settle in. QTS had everything in hand. Drinks and roses in the car and a nice relaxing drive to the hotel. Very friendly service and very professional.

Superb location, service and delightful rooms, let down only by some minor glitches which could have made the hotel stellar.

Spend the extra money and get a penthouse, it's well worth it.

The bar service is superb and delightfully friendly with the staff always making sure that you're never without a drink (the majority of named brands come as standard within the AI).

Plenty of choice on the buffet and all the restaurants within the whole resort although worth booking early or before arrival if you have a particular restaurant you wish to try.

Pleasant and not overly intrusive entertainments team in afternoon by main pools with two quieter pools located elsewhere.

Shuttles run regularly from next to lobby bar so if one is not immediately available there is time for a quick drink before boarding.

Some smoking tables under canopies so can shelter from occasional rain, otherwise free to smoke on outside tables.

Sian Ka'an has nightly entertainment, nothing heavy and very relaxing. Usually over by around 10:30 - 11:00pm. If you want to stay up late The Hacienda has a club. It's well away from the Sian Ka'an and you can return to a quiet, relaxing room and a good night's sleep.

As mentioned earlier we had a few glitches. Room service wasn't the best and the mini bar could have had a better selection, especially for two people. On a number of occasions, we had to ask for it to be refilled. It was replenished immediately when we asked though it was just a little annoying to have to ask but a minor detail considering everything else the resort had to offer.

Guest services were brilliant and made sure that everything was taken care of. Definitely take advantage of the services they offer. They bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable.

Mosquito's are around so make sure you get some decent bug spray. Not a deal breaker for us, we did our research and knew what to expect.

If you dive, Scubaquatic is on the complex next to the Sian Ka'an exclusive beach. Great diving locations and plenty to see depending on season. Turtles are abundant, all kinds of reef fish, plenty of rays and the occasional shark in certain locations. The staff are brilliant, friendly and professional. They have Videographers on most dives to record the experience and well worth it whether you're a seasoned diver or a newbie.

You're never short of places to go, things to do and people to meet. All in all it's a wonderful place and definitely worth going back for more.

Room Tip: Get a Penthouse it's worth the extra money. We were in 40421 near the lobby facing the sea. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloozydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest

On behalf of the entire Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel facility.

We are glad to hear you had a wonderful holiday during your stay with us and that you enjoyed your penthouse room, and the food & drinks. Thank you very much for mentioning our staff, your comments really motivate them to keep on the good work.

We are sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations with the mini bar and room service. We assure you the same has been communicated to the concerned and necessary action have been taken to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve.

It has been our pleasure to be at your service, looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,842
    1,388
    395
    96
    67
See reviews for
652
4,820
99
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,739)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have had a truly fantastic holiday at the GBP Sian Ka'an hotel. Travelling with our 16 year old son we stayed in 2 penthouse apartments and they were fantastic, beautifully clean and well appointed. However it was the welcome of all the staff that made this holiday really special, always a smile and 'hola'.
It is a really quiet hotel and the food was amazing we particularly enjoyed the Don Pablo in the Tulum hotel but also enjoyed the other a la carte restaurants we tried. The buffet in the Sian Ka'an was very good and had a wide variety of food from sushi, salads, a Mexican corner to pizza and burgers.
One of the best things about visiting Mexico was how safe we felt and you must take the collectivo or a taxi to Akumal beach to swim with the turtles and also to the public beach just south of the Tulum ruins which is the best beach we have ever been to, miles of powder soft white sand scattered with beach bars.
All the staff were fantastic I would particularly like to thank Laura in the lobby bar and Amy the yoga instructor who made our holiday so memorable and special thanks also must go to Claudia who arranged the restaurant reservations and who gave us the most perfect rooms in the hotel!
The only slight criticism was the format of the evening entertainment a pianist or guitarist would seem more in keeping with the ambiance than the disco music which seemed inappropriate for such a sophisticated hotel.
The moment our son turns 18 we will return...if you are considering this hotel, stop and just book it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nutwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay at the Luxury Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as your comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

The entire Gran Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an Team is happy to hear that you had a fantastic holiday and enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that our personnel have left a good impression and thank you for mentioning Laura, Amy and Claudia, your comment is a great motivation to them to keep up with the professionalism and good service.

Thank you very much for your suggestion about the evening entertainment, we will definitely share your feedback with our team and rest assured we will continuously strive for excellence in service.

We would be delighted to welcome you again at the Riviera Maya!

Kindest regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'll start by saying that this resort was wonderful and has a lot of appeal for foodies, friends and couples alike.
Although Sian Ka'an is not on the beach, we had no trouble getting to and from whenever we needed to. Trams were frequent and even if they weren't going directly where we wanted to go, we enjoyed the opportunity to see the other resorts and catch a ride. It was great to have a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of the larger resorts at night.
The beach had wonderful soft, white sand but there were a lot of large rocks in the water that could really do some damage on your toes of you didn't watch very carefully for them. To be on the safe side I wore water shoes but the last day we were there, they had several employees hauling them up to the beach to be removed. The water was warm and comfortable. There is decent snorkeling over at the Akumal beach. My boyfriend saw lots of fish, a baby octopus and a stingray.
The food was delicious! I'm a foodie and to be honest I chose this resort because they had things like Foie Gras and Duck on the a la carte menus. We ate twice at Alux and the service was top notch. My wine glass was never empty and we enjoyed our starters. We tried the foie gras and the tuna tartare, to start followed by the Portobello Soup and the Vichysoisse. All four dishes were staggeringly good-- really some of the best dishes I've ever had-- but the mains fell short. The Pheasant Canelloni could have been outstanding, but the sauce was just far too sweet and drowned out all the other flavours. Lamb was hard to cut but did have a very nice rosemary jus. Regardless, the food was not in any way bad, it was just that the preceding items were hard to top. One thing that I do need to note as being odd are the selections from the menu. Despite being an All Inclusive, you were only allowed a soup OR salad and an appetizer and a main but not a salad and a soup and a main. It was confusing and strange.
We also visited Maiko, the Asian A La Carte and it was nice. Don Pablo at Tulum was the home of the best filet mignon we've ever had. Tender and succulent this amazing entree melted in your mouth. The chocolate dessert was dense and rich. We weren't super impressed with Le Gourmet at the Coba resort. The service was ultra slow and the attention to detail that we noticed at the other A La Cartes was not there.
House wines at Sian Ka'an were okay. The white was a Chilean Chardonnay- tropical fruits with a hint of warm spice. The red was a Chilean Cabernet--juicy, but had a strange finish. Also important to note that the additional bottles of wine that were available at a charge were not overpriced. Much the same cost as buying them at a local liquor store. No mark up, which is uncommon at other all inclusives that I've been to and very nice to see the guests aren't being gauged with extra costs for overpriced drinks.
The buffet always had delicious offerings. The Chorizo sausages at breakfast were awesome, great carving stations and the grouper was always perfectly cooked. I did notice a distinctive absence of seafood on the buffet. No shrimp, lobster, crab or even smoked salmon. There were lagostines one night, but they were undercooked and too much work to shell. Plus, they made your hands smell really fishy. The servers were great and brought us finger bowls. Overall, the quality was above what the other resorts offered.
Premium liquor was abound, even at the beach bar and the drinks were spot on. Just make sure to specify your brand, otherwise, they will default to a cheap gut rot liquor that will give you heartburn from hell.
We ordered room service a couple of times and it arrived quickly and was hot.
Speaking of rooms... the one we had, Penthouse 40923 was my favourite hotel room EVER. In addition to being quiet, it was bright, airy and the beds with the mattress topper were incredibly comfortable. I rarely sleep well on vacation but I had nothing but good dreams and restful nights. The jacuzzi was absolutely amazing. We would venture out either before or after dinner, and have a drink in the tub overflowing with bubbles. It was absolutely wonderful to watch the sun set or gaze at the stars in utter privacy and relaxation. I could have lived in that suite forever.
The grounds and lobby were beautiful. Everywhere you looked there were butterflies and singing birds. It was nice to have the option of the lobby or the terrace at night. We spent a few night on the terrace but after a few the band they had playing became tiresome. We wished they would have varied the acts a little for more for the sake of the band as well as the guests. We're not big on entertainment at resorts but no one wants to hear the same band and same songs over and over EVERY NIGHT. The saving grace in this was that you could always pop over to the other resorts and take in the entertainment there, but after a day in the sun we prefer to relax with a few drinks after dinner and make it an early night.
Just a few other notes, I have rated this resort 5 out of 5, but I might actually give it a 4.5. There were few things that didn't impact my stay tremendously but I thought could be improved upon. Firstly, we had the worst mini bar service ever! I even wrote them notes in Spanish asking for more regular coffee instead of the terrible vanilla, hazelnut or decaf that they constantly gave us. We like to linger on the patio with coffee in the morning before going for breakfast and wanted two regular coffees each morning. We received messages back saying "okey", but nothing was ever done. In fact, we received MORE flavoured coffees. Finally, I called the express service to ask for regular coffee only. That got us no regular coffee the next day but extra vanilla and a couple of decafs. It seemed like they didn't really care a lot about guest satisfaction and were just going through the motions.
It would have been nice to have more buffet selection at the snack bar. There were a few salad items and some pastries throughout they day but sometimes, my attention span coupled with the heat didn't allow me the patience to wait for food to be ordered, prepared and brought to me when I just craved a little nibble and another drink by the pool. A lot of the items were deep fried (chicken "tacos" were actually deep fried "taquitos") which is not the worst thing but after a day or drinking it can give you some stomach problems. It would have been nice to use this outdoor area as more of a casual drop in buffet with guacamole and other light Mexican fare with veggies and possibly a few pasta dishes and sandwiches.
We did use the spa and it was quite nice but very pricey.
To sum up this resort, I'd say that it's great value for your money and despite being an Adults Only resort, it doesn't have that feeling of being exclusively for couples. The ability to use the facilities at the other Bahia resorts allows guests to tailor make a vacation that could range from relaxing with some books on the beach, visiting the TAO Center for meditation and yoga or venturing over to the disco until the wee hours and dancing your heart out. I think this versatility makes it an option for a larger scope of potential guests that your typical Adults Only resort in the Mayan Riviera.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jenabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the beach, the food and your room. Concerning to your comments about the Alux and Le Gourmet restaurants, be sure that will be reviewed with the managers and we will take immediate action for every detail you have described.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the snack bar buffet and the mini bar service, we will definitely share your feedback with our team and rest assured we will continuously strive for excellence in service. We regret very much that we could not impress you with some of our services. Furthermore I would like to express my appreciation for your concerns and extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced as a result of the situations you have brought to our attention.

Finally, I would like to thank you for your honest feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future to our lovely paradise.

Warm Regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I just returned home from a five-night girlfriends trip to the Sian Kaan. The property is modern, clean, and beautiful. We were in garden jacuzzi suites on the first floor. The rooms were very spacious and nice. The breakfast and lunch buffet were above average in comparison to our prior travels. We really enjoyed our food at the buffet for breakfast and lunch. For our evening meals, we dined at Maiko, Alux, Don Pablo, Dolce Vita, and the buffet. Our favorite evening meal was at Don Pablo. We had read that there was lobster, prawns, and crab legs served at Gala Night for the Saturday night buffet. When we arrived at the buffet to dine on Saturday night, we were informed that it was discontinued. Very disappointing. The alcohol choices at Sian Kaan were premium compared to the other three resorts. The pools at the Sian Kaan are small and beautiful but very quiet, a little too quite for our taste. We spent the majority of our daylight hours at the Sian Kaan beach area, the Akumal beach area, and the Tulum pool.

The reason I deducted a star, giving this resort a 4 instead of a 5, is I felt that little details in service were lacking. We repeatedly requested that feather pillows be delivered to our room. One room received the pillows but the other room during our entire stay did not. One day our minifridge was not stocked. We encountered a few other issues relating to service throughout our stay that I won't bother to mention. I know these are just minor complaints and it did not truly impact our vacation, but I am just trying to write an honest review.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the location of our jacuzzi garden suite on the first floor near the lobby for con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarlaB1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Luxry Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the beach and food of our buffet and a la carte restaurants. Concerning to your comment about the Gala Night, the different choices depend on the season to ensure quality, safety and enjoyment of all the fresh seafood we serve.

Thank you for bringing to our attention your perception about the lack of service, some of the problems you mentioned are totally under our standards and we have already taken action in order to meet our values again. We regret very much that we could not impress you with some of our services. Furthermore I would like to express my appreciation for your concerns and extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced as a result of the situations you have brought to our attention.

Once again thank you for your time and comments, hoping to have a second opportunity in a near future to welcome you back again at the Riviera Maya.

Sending you kind regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just wanted to say what an amazing stay we had at Sian Ka'an. Our room was lovely, the pools were peaceful and well maintained and the food was fantastic. Out of all the restaurants we tried Maiko(japanese) was our favourite. The other parts of the hotel (Tulum, Akumal and Coba) also looked nice, but we were so pleased we paid the extra for Sian Ka'an. My wife and I would especially like to mention Faustino, Blanca and Demetrio in Yal-ku for their high level of service and always with a smile! The staff in the lobby were also great and helped create a relaxing atmosphere. I also think the trolley service works very well, and in fact most things in the hotel seem to work like clockwork. And yes we did tip, Some Europeans do! We will be back, and already saving!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

The entire Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an Team is very happy to hear that you have had an amazing time during your recent stay at our hotel and glad to know that you enjoyed your room, the pools and restaurants.

We truly appreciate the special mention of Faustino, Blanca and Demetrio. We are glad that our personnel have left a good impression; your comment is a great motivation to them to keep up with the professionalism and good service.

Thanking you once again for sharing your experience, we hope to welcome you back soon at the Riviera Maya!

Kind Regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I found an amazing deal for this resort on Living Social. Based upon all the positive reviews, I decided to book a short four night stay for our honeymoon. This was our first time to an all inclusive resort and decided it is definitely the way to go from here on out! We loved the fact that we could go to the other sister resorts, but still had the exclusivity of coming back to ours.

Unfortunately we were here during the arrival of Hurricane Ernesto, so we didn't get to experiance as much of the area as we had hoped. We were amazed at how quickly the staff began clean up efforts on down tress and debris. By the afternoon after the storm, you couldn't tell it had come through except that the beach was closed the remainder of our stay.

Rooms - We had a penthouse suite which was very nice. We never made it into the hottub during our stay due to rain most of the time, but the view was very nice. The floors were all tile and could be slippery when wet. When the hurricane/tropical storm hit the area we awoke to a significant amount of water puddled in our room. The wind had blown it right under the door all night long! The staff came that morning and cleaned up quickly, so it wasn't much of an issue aside from almost slipping and falling in it when we woke up.

Food - The food was amazing wherever we went. The lunch buffetts at the resort were huge, but we didn't notice much change in options from day to day. There was still plenty of new things to try and we were stuffed after every meal. We did ala cart dinners each night and enjoyed them all. Not sure I could even pick out a favorite! If you go in the summer, be prepared to sweat as the a/c in the non Sian Kaan restaurants is used minimally.

Beach - As so many have said, the private beach area is very nice but the water area is very rocky and jagged in spots. We did walk down to the larger beach area but couldn't stay away form the Margarita's and frozen drinks in our area.

Pools - The pools at the resort were nice and not too crowded. We tended to stay close to the bar there as well! We typically just caught some sun, read a few books and enjoyed a few drinks. The Sian Kaan serves a hybiscus drink which was amazing!!! It must have been made form premium alcohols though, because they had never even heard of one at the other resorts.

Entertainment - We only caught the tail end of a show our first full night as they started while we were at dinner most nights. The night we were free, we had the "mis" fortune of catching the Mexican musical version of Avatar. Not one I would put on my bucket list, but definitely unique!

My only complaint has to do with the company running the tours, Sol Tours, onsite. We had prepaid for transportation to and from the airport with our package. Unfortunately we missed our flight and didn't arrive until much later. I tried contacting the tour company to let them know, but they are not staffed on Sunday...our date of arrival. We had to pay a local cab for transportation to the resort and Sol Tours would not reimburse us at all for the mix up, even though we triede multiple times to call and email them about the change in plans. I was disappointed that the resort did not make a request on our behalf as well. I understand that they are separate companies, but by housing them at the resort you should take some responsibility for their actions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your honeymoon trip.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments and detailed review on our services, facilities and hospitality. We are pleased to know that you had a great time during your stay even with the rainy days and that you have enjoyed the beach, pools, food and drinks. Your feedback will be shared with our team and will definitely encourage us to continually provide all our guests with the best experience they truly deserve.

With regard with your comment about the airport transfer, we have already sent the information to Soltour and even though our companies work separately we extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced as a result of the situation you have brought to our attention.

Thank you once again for taking your time to share your experience with us and we are looking forward in welcoming you back again at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, Riviera Maya.

Warm regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is one hotel where being off-beach is not a hardship. A short trolley ride provides natural air conditioning on the way to your reserved beach area where towels and fresh cocktails are found. Service is a 5+ from Paloma, Eduardo, Claudia and many others.

Rooms only get a 4/5 from me due to small issues but are modern and clean. We stayed in 41612 and rain seeped in from both the living room and bedroom windows during our stay. However, they quickly mopped and removed the carpet (hung to dry in open stairwell). To prevent any possible damage during your stay, stow your luggage away from windows (We stayed in rainy season). Water pressure was low. We had to hold the toilet button to the count of 10 before letting go to ensure a flush. The AC was initially malfunctioning but fixed the day we mentioned it to the staff. There was some noise from the midnight jacuzzi users above us as well as amorous neighbors behind us. This can not be blamed on the hotel but rather inconsiderate guests. Overall positive with small issues that are easily overcome.

Pools - Sian Ka'an pools are generally quiet. However, there is an activity pool on site. An inflatable floating device was available in each pool for guest use. However, the pools are small and not recommended for large floating loungers. Nice locations for reading and relaxing unless they're running the leaf blower nearby.

The food 5+ our trip had us dining ala carte every night. Don Pablo, Alux and Maiko all give great service. The Brazilian had amazing flank steak and amusing feral cats. I'll skip the Italian on our next trip. Coba buffet for lunch was well worth the walk. One night there was a trolley delay of 15 minutes which made us late for reservations. We spoke to the bell-man who thankfully made a trolley appear.

Beach - nice to have a reserved area with bar service and there is nothing to complain about. If you plan to wade in the ocean the area in front of the Sian Kaan beach is very rocky - bring beach shoes. Or take a hike (or tram) up to the Akumal end for wading in their little bays. Plan a day at Akumal for snorkeling with turtles.

Looking forward to a return trip now that it is an Adult property. Service made up for the small glitches and I've no hesitation to recommend this as a very nice property based on the service and price point with the options that the Sian Kaan side provides.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DestinyVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all please receive greetings from the Gran Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us to spend your holidays.

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.
And want to thank you for mentioning our staff, especially Eduardo, Paloma and Claudia. They are great ambassadors of service in our hotel and we will forward your comments to them and the rest of our staff.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food at our restaurants, the pools and the private beach area during your recent stay at our hotel and sorry to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations with your room. We assure you the same has been communicated to the concerned and necessary action have been taken to ensure we keep providing our guests with the attention and services they deserve. The management and staff extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences which you may have experienced as a result of the situations you have brought to our attention.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an, Riviera Maya.

Best regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
2.2 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.9 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
9.2 mi away
Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa
4.8 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
#5 Spa Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BP USA TRAVEL INC, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing