We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in the resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Akumal
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best hotel in the resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

There are approximately 5 hotels I believe in the Riveria Maya complex, and this is by far the best. Perhaps it should be as it is the only 5* hotel, but that aside, by visiting the other hotels you can tell the difference.

Pros:
Service is red-hot. There are plenty of staff, and generally speaking, they can't do enough for you. Even though this place is all-inclusive (and I have a 'fear' of all-inclusive as they are in my opinion often run-down and the service is pretty spotty).
The rooms are nice and as the hotel is new (I think only a year or so old) are still pretty tidy and well kept.
The 'Animation team' consisting of 4 guys and a gal holding some fun events at the beach and at the poolside and generally helping and talking to guest were brilliant. My 6 year-old son loved the cohort of Charlotte, Raul, David and Alex and the highlight of his day were poolside Bingo (k-k-k-k-Question-time!) and water-polo. Keeping him entertained for a good couple of hours a day was no easy task!
The buffet meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) were the best I've ever seen and tasted - and that is not easy when pitted against some wonderful hotels in Switzerland I've stayed in.
More free drinks and cocktails than I could ever hope to have (and I'm not a tea-totaller) and brought to your table almost any time of day.
You can go to any restaurant in the whole complex to eat, not just the hotel's own buffet and two a-la-carte restaurants.

Cons:
Watch out for the suites; the 'separate room' is behind a flimsy wooden 6-part screen, it's not really a separate room. The rooms although well built do still let you hear quite a bit of noise from your neighbours, door slams, furniture moving and the like, and if you're below someone with a hot-tub pool on their roof.... you could be up late.
If you want to eat in any of the hotels restaurants on the rest of the complex, make sure you book up as soon as you get there or BEFORE. They seem to be almost permanently booked even though sometimes they seem to be at no more than half capacity seat-wise.
Though there are three pools on site none are as 'stunning' as some in the other hotels (e.g. Akumel). Though you have to fight (almost literally) for a sunbed at another hotel, the pool is a fun, varied, huge snaking thing with bridges and allsorts to keep kids entertained. The pools at Sian Kaan are just mostly rectangular affairs, though nicely done, are not that fun for younger kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your family holidays.

We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay at our hotel. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and will be taken into great consideration.

We are more than happy to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your stay at our resort and would like to thank you for your kind words about our resort and our staff, especially for mentioning our animation team, they are great ambassadors of the service in the Sian Ka´an Hotel and we will immediately forward your post to the correspondent manager for their well-deserved recognition.

Also thank you for bringing to our attention the points where we can improve, be sure that we are always looking for the complete satisfaction of our guests, that is why is very important for us every comment and every suggestion, because it is the most important way to improve in our services.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an!

Best regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,741
    1,363
    385
    93
    66
See reviews for
643
4,706
96
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,702)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watervliet, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Si'an Kaan is one of finest resorts I have had the pleasure of visiting. The condo's are top quality. The landscaping, immaculate. There are several restaurants on property and you have anything you crave for. There is a theme night on most nights. You can eat breakfast anywhere, but, must make reservations at your favorite spot for evening dining. There are trams running the property to take you anywhere on the property you'd like to visit. You can catch a tram just about every ten minutes and you are less than 10 minutes to the beach, which is pristine. The wait staff is super friendly. If you want to speak in Spanish and know just a little, they are eager to help you. In my best Schwarzeneggar voice, "I'll be back, soon."

Room Tip: Just ask. They had me set up in a penthouse. Since I have trouble climbing stairs, I asked for my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank revkweli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all please receive greetings from the Gran Bahía Príncipe Sian Ka’an; we would like to thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts and for choosing us to spend your holidays.

We are grateful for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor. And appreciate hearing from you, as your comments are vital for us to continue improving our service.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your vacations and that our personnel have left a good impression. Your comment is a great motivation to our team to keep up with the professionalism and good service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again at Gran Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an, keep practicing your Spanish.

Kindest regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just returned from Sian Kaan after 9 days there with our two daughters, one son in law and 2 grandchildren aged 11 months & 6 years. From the moment we were greeted at reception with cocktails to the time of our departure we were treated like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble and the animation team were outstanding helping to keep our 6 year old entertained. The exclusive beach was a treat and our a la carte meals were excellent apart from a disappointment at the Mediterranean restaurant one evening when service fell below the standards we had come to expect. Gran Tortuga & Harlequin restaurants more than made up for this blip however. If it wasn't so far away we would be back every year and would like to try the beautiful golf courses next time.

Room Tip: Middle floor junior suite rooms were bigger than those with jacuzzi on balcony. Noisr from jacuzzi a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your family holidays.

We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback on Trip Advisor as your comments are valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

The entire Gran Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an Team is very glad to know that youyou’re your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Also would like to thank you for bringing to our attention your experience at the Mediterraneo restaurant, you can however rest assured that we will be giving this matter the proper attention to improve our service.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon again at the Riviera Maya!

Receive our warmest regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very nice resort and Claudia (and her staff, including Gracy) were very helpful in getting us the room we wanted and setting up dinner reservations in advance. The resort is new and clean, the rooms nice and mdern, and the food a step above most all-inclusives. Every staff member we met was kind and helpful, and I enjoyed the golf course while my wife enjoyed the spa. No complaints!

Room Tip: Recommend a room near the lobby for access to shuttles around the resorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Our philosophy is focused on our guest’s satisfaction that is why your comments are very important to maintain the quality and service at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation in the Gran Bahía Principe Sian Ka’an and that you were satisfied with our attentive service.

Thank you once again for your opinion, hope we can welcome you again in the near future at your second home in the Mexican Caribbean.

My best regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just got back from our honeymoon here and I can't say enough about Sian Ka'an. Great people, great food, great pools and great beaches! Loves visitting the other resorts as well. We never had to leave the resorts area and everything was perfect. Will certainly be back!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eddie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your honeymoon trip.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

It is an honor to hear that you enjoyed your holidays and that we could fulfill your expectations.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Kindest Regards,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Top 10 Reasons Why You Should Stay at the Grand Bahia Principe Sian Kaan:
10. Junior Suite -- Clean, bright, spacious, with nice contemporary design
9. Complimentary things -- Slippers, bathrobes, toiletries, daily supply of bottled water in room, all inclusive minibar & re-stocked daily, Coffee & Tea in the lobby, free parking, free in-room safe, free alcoholic beverage of your choice!! The list goes on.
8. Trolleys -- Yes Sian Kaan is not a beach front hotel, but the frequent trolleys take care of that. There are three or four different trolleys that go to different routes and take you around the facility such as the beach, the shopping area and the three sister hotels. They even have a small trolley to take you to your room when checking in and out of the hotel. The facility is huge!!
7. Jungle -- The resort is actually located in a jungle. The combination of nature and contemporary living is a nice touch. You hear soft bird chirps in the morning when you wake up.
6. Location -- Very close to several Mayan ruins like Tulum, Chichen Itza, Coba, and much more. I also prefer privacy over crowds. Cancun and Playa Del Carmen are more crowded. Also, when I'm at the beach, I just want to see water, trees, and blue skies. I don't want to see cars and sky scrapers.
5. Facility -- Clean, modern, and well maintained. Lots of services to choose from: plethora of a la carte and buffet restaurants, pools, bars, spa, gym, golf course, shopping, yoga
4. Beach -- Clean, Free drinks & snacks, Free beach towels, Free loungers, Bar service available.
3. Wireless Internet -- Fast and Free
2. Food -- The food is to die for. The quality is second to none. Especially at the main buffet restaurant. Nearly endless selection of culinary delights. Italian, Mexican, American, Asian, Mediterranean...
1. Service -- On top of all the awesome things, you have a staff that's always smiling and happy to serve you. Everyone is very friendly and very helpful. Its icing on the cake. It gives you that "I'm glad I chose this hotel" feeling.


Honorable Mention:
1. The beds were made with nice decoration to include towel art. Thank you.
2. Night life -- Everywhere you go there's always some sort of show, dancing, and singing going on and they even have a dance club where they played a variety of music inlcuding house, reggaeton, bachata, and more.
3. We were given an extra hour and a half to checkout. That helped out a lot.
4. For the first time in all my years of traveling, I didn't have to worry about spending time/money for beach towel, beach lounger, palapas, in-room safe, internet connection, food, drinks, snacks, minibar, 5-star dining... all at the same time!!


Improvements? Of course every hotel could use some improvements no matter how awesome they are, and here is a list of my recommendations. I hope they read this:
1. Room 41514 -- Our patio door wouldn't lock. In addition, after a night of heavy rain we noticed a small water leak in the window (bed side). Furthermore, the water pressure in the bathroom shower was a bit weak.
2. Beach -- Why are there Sand Whales in the beach? It is unsightly and I think it should be removed.
3. DJ -- The DJ at the dance club (shopping area) could improve his mixing skills a little bit. The music kept stopping in between songs. Please don't stop the music :-)
4. Check in time could be earlier than 3pm. Unless it's high-season I think you should be able to accomodate early check in without any problems. We arrived around 12pm and waited 3 hours. But we used our time wisely by having lunch and taking a tour of the facility riding along the trolleys.


These issues are so insignificant we didn't even bring it up until checkout. And it was more of a suggestion to the staff rather than a complaint. I'm already planning our next trip. Will definitely try the Jacuzzi Suite next time. Thank you Grand Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an for the wonderful experience and unforgettable memories!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank FrequentFlyer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for trusting in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us to enjoy your holidays.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to send your comments about your stay with us, the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

Thank you for mentioning our staff, it is for guests like you who send us some kind words after their holiday, that they find every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work. Also thank you for bring to our attention the things we can improve, you can however rest assured that we will take immediate an appropriate action for every detail you have described.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an and hope we can welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards from sunny Mexico,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Hotel G.B.P. Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW HAMBURG
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My apologies, this has turned out to be a VERY long review. Feel free to scroll to the end for the “Bottom Line” or read on to learn from some of our experiences.

Introduction

My wife (57yr) and I (62yr) love to travel and we LOVE Mexico. We are not snobby, nose in the air kind of people. We enjoy a good meal but occasionally grab a bite a McDonalds, both have their merits. When we do driving trips we will stay at more upscale hotels at our destination but the Holiday Inn Express for one night stops.

We travel to Mexico two or three times a year. In October we usually travel alone as it is our anniversary and over the Winter months we travel with family and friends.We travel to relax, not to seek out problems or fault in a resort that is just too much work.

So why go to the same resort 14 times? Well, like your favorite Steak House that you keep returning to, you know what to expect, it offers value for your dollar and you always leave satisfied and wanting to return.

I am not going to dwell on “this is a large resort”, it is. Or “say Hi to Carlos from the couple in New Hamburg”, there are over 4,000 people through this resort complex weekly don’t expect Carlos to remember you.

Booking and Pre-arrival

Reading reviews in Trip Advisor we determined that one of the Hotel Managers is a gentleman by the name of Juan Oliveira. We have known Juan for a couple of years dating back to his time at Gran Bahia Coba. I contacted Juan and received timely replies. He was a big help. We had several requests concerning dining and room location. We are well aware that not all requests can be met as we are just one of hundreds of couples, but he came through with a GREAT room location and all of our dining requests!

Tour Operator

We use Transat Vacations. They are the only tour operator that offers a First Class cabin which they call Club Class. The cost is reasonable and the service excellent. The seats are wider with enough legroom to stretch out without touching the seat in front of.

You have the option of selecting your meals in advance. Drinks are included as it a “comfort package” which includes a blanket, inflatable neck pillow, ear phones etc.

Both flights actually left and arrived early.The cabin attendants were very attentive. No issues with them at all.

Arrival

Many people have written about the situation at Cancun Airport so I won’t except to say, fill out your entire Tourist card and Customs forms. Once you have cleared Immigration, retrieved your bags and cleared Customs, do NOT stop walking until you are outside of the Terminal.

Once you are outside there will be a Tour Operator representative there to direct you to your transportation. They will also provide you with information about your resort and when they will be available at the resort to assist you.

For a number of reasons we do not use the bus transportation provided. Frequently you are delayed while people get their first Corona and have a smoke. Not an issue for me as I both drink and smoke it just delays your departure. Depending on how many people are at each resort you can have several stops along the 90 minute ride to Gran Bahia. Again, another beer and another smoke.

We use Private Transportation. Our supplier of choice is Lomas Travel. They are professional, well attired, and always on time. We most often opt for a stretch Lincoln limo, not because we are special but the price is right and I am on vacation. We have also used their Lincoln Navigators when there is just the two of use.

Last October we met some people at the Toronto Airport that were also going to Gran Bahia. When we talked to them the next day at the resort we found out that we had arrived at Gran Bahia BEFORE their bus even left Cancun Airport for what turned out to be over a two hour trip. Our ride from and to the airport was without incident or issue.

Arrival/Checkin

One word, smooth. Because we had our own transportation we were the only people at the check in. During the checkin process we were given a “welcome” cocktail, very refreshing and large. Within five minutes we were on the cart and off to our room. Our Bell Man gave a little tour of the grounds (more to follow on the grounds) before escorting us to our room.

The Room

We booked a Junior Suite Penthouse with rooftop terrace, it turned out to be an excellent choice! The room was very spacious, well appointed, clean and very comfortable. We were greeted with a chilled bottle of champagne and a floral arrangement.

We had requested and received a mattress topper as we are used to a pillow top mattress at home, another good decision. We found the bathroom to be well appointed with a large shower. The usual amenities were all first class, shower gels, shampoos etc.

The rooftop terrace was magnificent! Morning coffee watching the sunrise or evening drinks relaxing on a lounge chair was a real treat. We did use the hot tub a couple times in the afternoon more as a cool down than a hot tub.

Despite what I have read on other reviews I found there to be adequate storage for clothes and luggage.

There is a dining area and every night we received pastries as a snack. The mini fridge in the wet bar area was restocked daily.

The Grounds and Pools

Spectacular! This entire resort was built in a jungle area. Great care was taken to preserve as much of the natural environment as possible. Gran Bahia is very Eco aware and it shows. As you walk the winding pathways amongst the villas you are surround by both natural landscape and planted areas. At times you cannot even see the villas but they are mere feet away. It is very relaxing and quiet.

There are several pools. They are smaller in size as some reviews have indicated. I would describe them as more intimate. We have stayed at all areas of the Gran Bahia complex and prefer the “quiet” pools to the “activities” pools. Having said that, there were daily events put on by the Animation Team at the largest pool close to the Cenote 24hr Snack Bar. The Team puts a lot of effort into their day with the sole purpose of making YOUR stay more enjoyable.

I could write paragraphs about the grounds and there beauty, suffice to say we loved them.

The Beach

Yes, you have to take a tram to the beach. Unless you stay at Akumal Club Golden or Tulum Club Diamond (we have stayed at both) are luck enough to get a beach front villa, you will either have a nice walk or a tram ride to the beach so for us this was not an issue. In fact we rather enjoyed the ride. The trams ran frequently and we never waited more than a few minutes. On one ride to the Beach the driver quickly stopped the tram, we thought something was wrong and there was. A small turtle have made its way onto the road so the drive gently returned it to its habitat.

The beach area is private for the exclusive use of people staying at Sian Ka’an. The lounge chair are more comfortable and plentiful. We never had a problem getting a spot close to the water.

There is a bar at the beach area with waiter service. Some people have mentioned the service was sporadic. Let me think, sitting on the beach in Mexico with somebody serving me my favorite beverage while I read a book or listened to the waves, and I have to wait a couple minutes for service, oh darn!

Other reviews have commented on the large “wave breakers” and how they are unsightly. Well if they were not there then the beach would wash away down to its limestone base. People sure seem to enjoy sitting on them and having the waves wash around them. It also keeps the water close to the beach, calm and warm.

The Restaurants

This will be the shortest part of my review.

We have eaten at ever A La Carte in the Gran Bahia Complex. Prior to this trip, our favorites were Mikado (Coba) and Arliquine (Akumal). Now, hands down our favorites are the two A La Cartes at Sian Kan’an, Alux and Maiko!

Why? The service, the ambiance, the food ALL top notch.

The Buffet is also excellent, again the best in the Gran Bahia Complex. Where else do you get lobster on Saturday night. If you are a desert lover, loosen your belt you are going to need the extra space!

What is Next at Gran Bahia?

Sian Ka’an will be Adults Only as of 01 November 2012. I think this is an excellent decision. We were fortunate enough to meet with Juan Oliveira, of the Management Team. He shared with us that in the Coba Resort there is a water park under construction that is slated to open later this year. What this does is setup Sian Ka’an as the Adult resort and Coba as the Family Resort. The Gran Bahia Team, in my humble opinion, is right on track with these moves and with the four Resorts setup to accommodate different needs/desires they will have many more repeat guests. There is also a Convention Center planned for the Sian Ka’an Resort area.

The Bottom Line (Finally!)

Again, just my opinions!

I tried to find “true” fault or issues at Sian Ka’an (honestly I did not spend much time trying to be picky and whiney I was too busy enjoying and having fun). Sorry not one issue!

Sian Ka’an is a beautiful, well thought out and laid out resort. It is best suited for couples that want to be able to relax, and enjoy their vacation time. You still have access to all the amenities of the other Gran Bahia Resorts and the local attractions.

IF, being directly on the beach is your main priority this resort is not for you. I would suggest Akumal Club Golden. Akumal also has the best pools.

IF, you are on a family vacation, then once the water park is open, Coba is your best bet. Coba has always been our favorite until now. We have stayed there eight. We even have a favorite room 32737 which the Management Team at Coba arranges for us on each visit.

IF, you want first class accommodations, superior food choices, peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, attentive and accommodating staff, in an adults only environment then Sian Ka’an is THE choice! You will NOT be disappointed!

If you have any question about Sian Ka’an or any of the Gran Bahia Resorts please e-mail me I will be happy to assist.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alrosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPPSIANKAAN, Public Relations at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest

First of all thank you for your loyalty in Gran Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort and for choosing us once again for your 13th visit!
We really appreciate you taking the time to send some valuable comments about your stay with us. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are very important to maintain the quality at Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an.

We would like to thank you for your positive comments and detailed review on our services, facilities and hospitality. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful time during your recent stay at our hotel. Your comments about our services and facilities are very rewarding. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared with our team and will definitely encourage us to continually provide all our guests with the best experience they truly deserve.

Your review will definitely inspire us to consistently deliver our standards ensuring that we meet and exceed our guests’ expectations. We are honored that you have chosen our hotel as your
holiday destination and will be looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards from the Mexican Caribbean,

Gracy Manzo Mendoza
Public Relations
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka’an
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akumal
2.4 mi away
Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya
0.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Akumal Don Pablo Collection
0.4 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Coba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Tulum
5.1 mi away
Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa
20.9 mi away
Occidental at  Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destinatio...
#68 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection
Address: Carretera Chetumal | Cancun Km 250, Akumal 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Akumal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Akumal
#2 Family Hotel in Akumal
#4 Spa Hotel in Akumal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Akumal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 4 outdoor pools (1 with Jacuzzi) Sun terrace with loungers and sun umbrellas BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Transfer to the beach and other facilities on the complex (at set times) Water activity centre, Beach Club with exclusive bar (at the Grand Principe Tulum) Motorised water sports (additional charge) WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) 1 international buffet restaurant 2 speciality restaurants 4 Bars 1 snack-bar Riviera Maya Golf Club: 18 long holes and 9 executive holes with lakes, natural wells and Mayan forest. Hacienda Dona Isabel: karaoke bars, shows, live music and disco. Rooms 420 rooms including 4 types: Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite, Deluxe Garden Junior Suite, Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suite. Deluxe Garden Junior Suites and Deluxe Penthouse Junior Suites are larger than the Junior Suites and the Deluxe Junior Suites. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Air conditioning Ceiling fan Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Sitting area with sofa-bed and armchairs Balcony or terrace Bathroom with shower, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Bathroom amenities Bathrobe and slippers Don Pablo Collection amenities Alarm clock with iPod docking station Flat screen TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe Iron and ironing board 24 hour room service Butler service in rooms Private Jacuzzi Wifi Pillow menu Aroma menu Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings and anniversaries, as well as corporate incentive trips and conventions Casino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com and Booking.com so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'an Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Hotel Akumal
Gran Bahia Principe Sian Ka`An Golf Resort And Spa
Luxury Bahia Principe Sian Ka'An Don Pablo Collection Riviera Maya/Akumal, Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing